SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Sub/Naval + Other Games > Sub/Naval & General Games Discussion > Jutland
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2011, 08:21 AM   #1
F4Phantom
Bilge Rat
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bonn, Germany
Posts: 1
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Default Jutland and Onboard Graphics

Hello Community!

I was looking into buying Jutland for some time now, but I have a (probably simple beginner's) question before I buy:

My laptop does not have a dedicated graphics card, only an onboard graphics-solution. Since Jutland is 3D, my question is wheter or not it would make sense to run the game on a laptop with the following specifications:

The laptop is a Fujitsu Lifebook A530 with an Intel i5 CPU, 4 GB RAM and an Intel onboard graphic chip (Intel Graphics Media Accelerator (GMA) HD Graphics).

Thanks alot!
F4Phantom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 10:14 AM   #2
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 18,593
Downloads: 417
Uploads: 205


Default

Welcome aboard!
__________________
The first truly good subsim was Aces of the Deep. Then there was Silent Hunter III. Now Subsim presents: Wolfpack.
Good hunting and don't forget to close the hatch!

Onkel Neal is online   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 10:17 AM   #3
Vendor
SUBSIM Newsman
 
Vendor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: On the road
Posts: 22,639
Downloads: 538
Uploads: 0


Welcome to SubSim F4Phantom!

__________________
Nothing in life is to be feard,it is only to be understood.

Marie Curie





Vendor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2011, 10:22 AM   #4
CCIP
Navy Seal
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Waterloo, Canada
Posts: 8,945
Downloads: 29
Uploads: 2


Default

Welcome!

My suspected answer is 'no'. I tried running it on an older Intel laptop (much older than yours) with an on-board card and it wouldn't. I currently run the game on a 4GB, i7 laptop with a proper 1GB video card, and the performance is very acceptable - but the frame rate never gets very high as it is (largely due to the video card still being very limited in power - laptops will be laptops in that). Even assuming it works, I really doubt an on-board card will run the game at a playable frame rate. So I'd advise against it.
__________________

There are only forty people in the world and five of them are hamburgers.
-Don Van Vliet
(aka Captain Beefheart)
CCIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 03:15 AM   #5
Zakalwe
Torpedoman
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Eckernförde, S-H, Germany
Posts: 113
Downloads: 3
Uploads: 0
Default

The good thing about Jutland is, you can download the game and get a demo licence.

So just get the game and test it. IIRC there even is one bigger scenario, which runs for a limited time.
Zakalwe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2011, 12:00 AM   #6
Captain_Rockwell_Torry
Loader
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 83
Downloads: 60
Uploads: 0
Default

If it helps, I'm running it on my new Acer Aspire, and it works great. I have an AMD Athlon II X2 P340 2.2 GHZ, 4 Gig DDR3 Ram and ATI Radeon HD 4250 graphics. I can run it at 1366x768 wide screen maxed out with about 11 to 15 fps depending on if any land is showing. I have however heard Intel graphics is not recommended for a lot of the new games. I also run Pacific Storm Allies on this system with all the bells and whistles and again it runs better than I could ever get it to run on my old desktop with an nvidia card. Hope this helps. By the way Jutland is an outstanding product and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

Captain Rockwell Torry
Captain_Rockwell_Torry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
intel , jutland , onboard graphics

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim