SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Subsims & Naval Games > Classic Subsims
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2019, 12:05 AM   #1
harryhh
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 6
Downloads: 1
Uploads: 0
Default H3 ANW dipping sonar question.

Hello Folks,


I've dusted off my H3 ANW v3.7.0.


When you manually launch a helo with dipping sonar and set waypoints, there was a way to cause the helo to pause at each waypoint and use it's dipping sonar before continuing on to the next. Unfortunately, I can't remember how to do this.


I also used to play Harpoon 2 Admarils Edition and I don't recall in which game you could do this but, I assume both. I had been playing Harpoon for some time when I came across this tip/trick, but haven't been able to find it again anywhere on the net.


Anyone know how to do this?


Thanks,
Harry
harryhh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 12:27 AM   #2
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 14,888
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

harryhh!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2019, 08:30 PM   #3
Herman
Ace of the Deep
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,132
Downloads: 231
Uploads: 1034


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by harryhh View Post
When you manually launch a helo with dipping sonar and set waypoints, there was a way to cause the helo to pause at each waypoint and use it's dipping sonar before continuing on to the next. Unfortunately, I can't remember how to do this.

I also used to play Harpoon 2 Admarils Edition and I don't recall in which game you could do this but, I assume both. I had been playing Harpoon for some time when I came across this tip/trick, but haven't been able to find it again anywhere on the net.

Anyone know how to do this?
There are probably a few different ways you can get your helo to dip the sonar. You have launched the helo and it should appear on the map at Low altitude (101m) in Hover mode (0 knots).

Order the helo to drop down to VLow altitude (10m). (Be certain your helo actually HAS active sonar capability! ) The active sonar should activate automatically. If it does not, hit F9 and turn on the sonar.

Now, plot a path and waypoints for your helo.

Click on one of the waypoints to make it active.

Hit F2 to bring up the "Set Speed/Alt" menu and order the helo to hover at VLow altitude for the waypoint. When the helo reaches the waypoint, it will now hover and the sonar should go active. (You must manually order it to change speed in order for it to fly away from the waypoint.)

Under the Settings pull-down menu, select the "Edit Way Pt Orders" command if you wish to delete the Set Speed command for the waypoint.



Hope this explanation is sufficiently clear. If you need further details, post your request to https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCnK...E7GlVrlW0D82gg and a complete video can be made to answer your question(s).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Edit WayPoint Orders.jpg (15.5 KB, 8 views)
__________________
Guidelines for ScenShare scenarios:

1) Enjoy creating it
2) Enjoy playing it
3) Enjoy sharing it
4) Enjoy helping others create them

The PlayersDB - The Harpoon Community's #1 Choice.

Harpoon3 Frequently Asked Questions
Herman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dipping sonar , waypoints

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim