SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Wolfpack: the new multiplayer co-op U-boat simulation > Wolfpack
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2019, 12:29 AM   #1
wndrwtr
Nub
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Downloads: 5
Uploads: 0
Icon9 Unable to Launch Game

Ahoy Mates,
Purchased game thru Steam. Installed game. Clicked on exe file. Game will not launch. Just see a brief display via Task Manager Applications tab that game is launching, then NOTHING happens. Even disappears from Task Manager Applications tab.
My computer specs:
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit (6.1, Build 7601)

Memory: 64GB (no that is not a typo)

Processor: Intel Core i7 3960x (6 core with 6 virtual) running at an
overclocked speed set at 4200.0 MHz (liquid cooled)

Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 (Supplied by ASUS) with
8192 MB GDDR5 (Driver WHQL 419.35)

DirectX: 11

Hard Drive: 1TB Samsung SSD 850 EVO (with currently 231GB free)

Avast antivirus: 8.0 (even disabled it and still would not run)

MalwareBytes: Home Premium version 2.1.1.1043 (diabled this as well)

AdFender: Version 1.80 (disabled this as well)

Any one have an idea why this system will not run Wolfpack?? Driving me nuts!!
wndrwtr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 05:14 AM   #2
blackswan40
Wolfpack-BdU Staff
 
blackswan40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IN THE STEEL SHARKS VIRTUAL OCEAN
Posts: 528
Downloads: 436
Uploads: 20


Default

Hi wndrwtr Sorry to hear your having problems Launching Wolfpack if the game won't launch by clicking on Wolfpack icon on your desktop try Launching Wolfpack Through Steam.
Login on steam go to your Library click on Wolfpack see if you can Launch Wolfpack like that.
blackswan40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 09:47 AM   #3
Elphaba
Neptune's daughter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 309
Downloads: 149
Uploads: 0
Default

Use steam to revalidate files.

Worst case, use steam to delete local and redownload (won't take long).
Elphaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2019, 09:51 AM   #4
Onkel Neal
Born to Run Silent
 
Onkel Neal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1997
Location: Cougar Trap, Texas
Posts: 18,008
Downloads: 397
Uploads: 200


Default

And when the screen is black and the game is loading, don't click on anything, just give the game 20-40 seconds to load.
__________________
Would you like to join my Wolfpack crew? Friend me on STEAM, my username is SUBSIM.
Good hunting and don't forget to close the hatch!

Onkel Neal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 02:05 AM   #5
zeeschuimer
Swabbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Holland
Posts: 9
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Icon9

Hi there, I seem to have a same kind of problem. I fear it is Steam related, but that doesnt help me much.
At starting the game I got the apparently known problem with other Steam carried games: application loead error 3:0000065432.
I did everying I could imagine but with different outcomes except running the game.
Reinstalled Steam about 3 times, including closing it down completely end restarting. The same with the game, uninstalling and installing but still problems. Now I have a report I shoud send to Usurpator AB. But....whatever I am looking for, no adress or so to send it to.
My specs?
system: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
processor: Intel Pentium G620 @ 2.60GHz,
memory: 16,0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 533MHz,
graphics: 2048MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (XFX Pine Group),
Storage: 465GB Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB SSD.
Please help as we have a clan wanting to play this game and they desperately need crew.

Last edited by zeeschuimer; 05-15-2019 at 02:15 AM. Reason: Attachment
zeeschuimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 02:08 AM   #6
Elphaba
Neptune's daughter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 309
Downloads: 149
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeeschuimer View Post
Hi there, I seem to have a same kind of problem. I fear it is Steam related, but that doesnt help me much.
At starting the game I got the apparently known problem with other Steam carried games: application loead error 3:0000065432.
I did everying I could imagine but with different outcomes except running the game.
Reinstalled Steam about 3 times, including closing it down completely end restarting. The same with the game, uninstalling and installing but still problems. Now I have a report I shoud send to Usurpator AB. But....whatever I am looking for, no adress or so to send it to.
My specs?
system: Windows 10 Home 64-bit
processor: Intel Pentium G620 @ 2.60GHz,
memory: 16,0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 533MHz,
graphics: 2048MB ATI AMD Radeon R9 200 Series (XFX Pine Group),
Storage: 465GB Samsung SSD 860 EVO 500GB SSD.
I suggest you get a refund on the game from steam remove it from the library if you can, delete and uninstall steam, empty your trash, reboot your PC, reinstall steam and re-purchase Wolfpack.

Because if steem is the problem the only way you’re going to clear this without having to rely on their awful technical support staff, is to get it removed from your steam account and re-purchase.

As a quick test however if you have access to another PC, log into your steam account on that PC install Wolfpack and test if it works. Or you can even create a new user account on your PC and login to the same steam account and see if that works that will see if the problem is in your user files or if the problem is really with the steam activation of Wolfpack
Elphaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 03:22 AM   #7
zeeschuimer
Swabbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Holland
Posts: 9
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elphaba View Post
I suggest you get a refund on the game from steam remove it from the library if you can, delete and uninstall steam, empty your trash, reboot your PC, reinstall steam and re-purchase Wolfpack.

Because if steem is the problem the only way you’re going to clear this without having to rely on their awful technical support staff, is to get it removed from your steam account and re-purchase.

As a quick test however if you have access to another PC, log into your steam account on that PC install Wolfpack and test if it works. Or you can even create a new user account on your PC and login to the same steam account and see if that works that will see if the problem is in your user files or if the problem is really with the steam activation of Wolfpack

Allright, pretty rigourous...Now I did something else. I completely deleted Steam, Wolfpack and anything related to Steam, both from HDD and registry (regedit). Still no result. I dont think rebuying will sove alny prblem, as I can download it and reinstall it. Isnt there another place where to get this game else than in Steam? Crashreport added.
zeeschuimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 04:35 AM   #8
Elphaba
Neptune's daughter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 309
Downloads: 149
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeeschuimer View Post
Allright, pretty rigourous...Now I did something else. I completely deleted Steam, Wolfpack and anything related to Steam, both from HDD and registry (regedit). Still no result. I dont think rebuying will sove alny prblem, as I can download it and reinstall it. Isnt there another place where to get this game else than in Steam? Crashreport added.
It’s only on steam. I’d suggest a different user account or computer to isolate file corruption. You shouldn’t have to mess with the registry.
Elphaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2019, 07:10 PM   #9
Pisces
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AN9771
Posts: 4,530
Downloads: 241
Uploads: 0


Default

@Zeeschuimer

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeeschuimer View Post
Hi there, I seem to have a same kind of problem. I fear it is Steam related, but that doesnt help me much.
At starting the game I got the apparently known problem with other Steam carried games: application loead error 3:0000065432.
According to these links it might also be related to Antivirus/malware scanning software, in particular DeepGuard by F-secure. Make sure you disable it (at least to test if it is the cause), or tell it to ignore the game (exclusion).

https://appuals.com/fix-application-...r-30000065432/

https://steamcommunity.com/app/24292...4255097701170/

Asking Google about the error message would have provided these.
Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 03:10 AM   #10
Elphaba
Neptune's daughter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 309
Downloads: 149
Uploads: 0
Default

Well that's what I get for making the assumption that the OP had done the basics... /smh.

Well done for nailing it down Pisces.
Elphaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 06:29 AM   #11
Pisces
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AN9771
Posts: 4,530
Downloads: 241
Uploads: 0


Default

Hasn't been nailed yet. Still needs confirmation that it was the cause. But it is a likely one.
Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 10:51 AM   #12
zeeschuimer
Swabbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Holland
Posts: 9
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default No result...

The problem got different...but still no running game. Deepguard is switched of , reinstalled both Wolfpack (first) and Steam after. Reinstalled Steam in C:\Program Files (x86), reinstalled Wolfpack. Now I have the message in pop up like attached.
Attached Images
File Type: png Wolfpack Crash.PNG (12.6 KB, 5 views)
zeeschuimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 11:04 AM   #13
Pisces
Silent Hunter
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: AN9771
Posts: 4,530
Downloads: 241
Uploads: 0


Default

You might want to contact the developers Einar or Oscar directly through the Wolfpack Discord. Or ask Onkel Neal how to get in contact with them and send that debug log file to them for anaylsis.

That said, Steam should be able to allow you to create an alternate folder to install games into. I suggest you create your own on the C-drive. And not let it end up being installed somewhere in 'Program Files'(-something). Maybe that will keep your AV isolated from it. Also, did you make an exclusion for the game?

Also, the Program Files (x86) is intended for 32-bit applications in a 64-bit OS. Wolfpack certainly needs more memory than a 32 bit application can handle. So maybe that is part of the problem. Why did you choose to install it in there?
Pisces is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 11:19 AM   #14
zeeschuimer
Swabbie
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Holland
Posts: 9
Downloads: 0
Uploads: 0
Default No result....

Due to the link I got send (see below), I placed Steam into that folder.
https://appuals.com/fix-application-...r-30000065432/


All other games just run from Steam, so it must be something related to the game in combination with Steam.
zeeschuimer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 11:53 AM   #15
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,425
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default Welcome aboard!

zeeschuimer!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim