SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Modern-Era Subsims > Mods Workshop for Cold Waters
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2019, 04:06 AM   #1
MrMojok69
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0
Default Question about sensors.txt file

1) Do the frequencies have any effect on gameplay? Like where you see in the file one sonar model operates at VL,L,M,H frequencies while another is only L,M

2) If it says SonarBaffle=150, does that mean a 150 degree angle behind the boat?

3) What does the SonarNoisePerKnot value do?

4) Is SonarOutput basically the "strength" of the active sonar ping? How far you can "see" if you go active?
MrMojok69 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 05:31 AM   #2
Julhelm
Cold Waters Dev
 
Julhelm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: The Icy North
Posts: 658
Downloads: 178
Uploads: 0
Default

1) Don't remember

2) Yes

3) It determines how much ambient flow noise saturates the sensor as you speed up.

4) It is the sonars output in dB.
Julhelm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 02:27 PM   #3
MrMojok69
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0
Default

Thank you.

Also, from the individual sub files, can you explain the difference between RudderTurnRate and TurnRate?
MrMojok69 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 02:59 PM   #4
MrMojok69
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0
Default

Nevermind, I think it is the amount of time it takes to actually move the rudder.
MrMojok69 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2019, 04:12 PM   #5
MrMojok69
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0
Default

If anyone is interested, here is a spreadsheet I made from a bunch of the data. You can save a copy to your PC and sort fields, compare, etc.


Subs, Sensors, and Weapons data
MrMojok69 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 05:32 PM   #6
VDNKh
Swabbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 5
Downloads: 6
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrMojok69 View Post
If anyone is interested, here is a spreadsheet I made from a bunch of the data. You can save a copy to your PC and sort fields, compare, etc.


Subs, Sensors, and Weapons data
How did you compute all this?
VDNKh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2019, 10:58 PM   #7
Aktungbby
Gefallen Engel U-666
 
Aktungbby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: where I'm at presently
Posts: 15,264
Downloads: 18
Uploads: 0


Default welcome aboard!

VDNKh!
__________________
"Only two things are infinite: The Universe and human stupidity; And I'm not too sure about the Universe..." Philip K. Dick
Aktungbby is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2019, 12:03 AM   #8
MrMojok69
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VDNKh View Post
How did you compute all this?
I should mention first, that these values are from the Playable Subs mod.

I simply opened each vessels' .txt file, as well as the sensors.txt and weapons.txt, read the values and entered them into the spreadsheet.

If you got the game on Steam, all those vessel files are in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Cold Waters\ColdWaters_Data\StreamingAssets\override\ve ssels

The weapons and sensors text files are one level up, in the \override folder.

A different question, I know it's silly but I like the black look of the alfa better than the grey-and-red paintjob on the alfa2. So I edited the wp_ssn_alfa2.txt file to change this line:

MaterialTextures=vessels/textures/rus_ssn_alfa2.png

to read:

MaterialTextures=vessels/textures/rus_ssn_alfa.png

In the ship viewer in the main menu the Alfa2 is indeed black now, but it still looks grey and red when I start a campaign. Anyone have any ideas on that? I am pretty sure that these png files are where the textures come from. You can view them and compare see alfa.png is black and the red and grey comes from alfa2.png.

Here is the alfa file:



And here is alfa2:

MrMojok69 is online   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 12:41 AM   #9
MrMojok69
Seaman
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 37
Downloads: 38
Uploads: 0
Default

This was my mistake, I had so many modded "override" folders I had made the change in the wrong one.
MrMojok69 is online   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2019 Subsim