SUBSIM Radio Room Forums


SUBSIM: The Web's #1 BBS for all submarine and naval simulations since 1997

Go Back   SUBSIM Radio Room Forums > Silent Hunter 3 - 4 - 5 > SHIII Mods Workshop
Forget password? Reset here

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2006, 03:12 PM   #1
WolfyBrandon
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: 150 Meters Under Your Keel
Posts: 272
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Command Room Officer Zoom Bug...?

Hello All,

I've been having a problem with viewing my main officer in the command room when i click on him to zoom in. It's sorta hard to explain but its almost like by clicking on him it moves the camria's position closer to him so when you use your mouse to look around the command room its off center and as you turn your camria gets very close to all the officers also it looks almost like the camria is zoomed in a little bit.

Ive been trying to find out what is causing this problem cause its been driving me nuts since the only way I could avoid it before was using the Shift+F2 view and when your in that view you dont get the tilting effects when depth charges go off near you. Someone else on the forums here contacted me a while ago and said he had the same problem as me so for the past few weeks Ive been going through my JSGME mod list and disabling mod by mod to try and track down the problem or find out if it was just a stock bug. Today I actually found what is causing the problem during gameplay. Here is some screenshots to help with the explanation...

This problem only seems to happen when the officer moves up next to the crew. When he moves into this position If you look at the officer with him on the right hand side of your screen like this...


When you click on him the camria will zoom in on him as he turns around and the screen should look like this which is correct without the problem when you zoom out from him...


Now to create the problem position your camria with him on the left side of your screen...


Now click on him and when the camria zooms in for some reason it does something to make your camria off center, you can see in the pic that the camria is off...



If you click on him a few times like this it can get to the point when when you click on your officer you can't even see him anymore. When I found out how to create the problem I also found out how to solve it, when the camria gets bad just put him back on the right side of the screen and keep zooming in and out of him and eventually your camria will be back the way it was.

With this info, is there any modders out there who might have any ideas why this is happining or if there is a way to fix it? Also, let me know if someone else here can recreate the problem the way I did.

Thanks,
Wolfy
__________________

[JSGME Mods Used In My Game] "Dave, you will always be remembered! R.I.P."
WolfyBrandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 03:39 PM   #2
joejccva
Mate
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 56
Downloads: 10
Uploads: 0
Default

I am experiencing this exact same issue as well.
joejccva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 06:41 PM   #3
sober
Ace of the deep .
 
sober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,182
Downloads: 900
Uploads: 73


Default

Right click on him
sober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 08:07 PM   #4
WolfyBrandon
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: 150 Meters Under Your Keel
Posts: 272
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober
Right click on him
Yeah I know thats how you zoom away but even when you right click on him the camria position has been changed.

Wolfy
__________________

[JSGME Mods Used In My Game] "Dave, you will always be remembered! R.I.P."
WolfyBrandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 08:29 PM   #5
sober
Ace of the deep .
 
sober's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9,182
Downloads: 900
Uploads: 73


Default

Yeah but you right click on him to enable you to get a close up of the dials and to adjust them and looking around by moving the mouse . I think what you are explaining happens if i use the free roam first then clicking on the officer .
sober is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2006, 09:01 PM   #6
WolfyBrandon
中国水兵
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: 150 Meters Under Your Keel
Posts: 272
Downloads: 46
Uploads: 0
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sober
Yeah but you right click on him to enable you to get a close up of the dials and to adjust them and looking around by moving the mouse . I think what you are explaining happens if i use the free roam first then clicking on the officer .
Ah, well i mean if you left click on him so that he turns around and looks at you and the icons appear for reports etc, not right click cause if you right click then yes the camria changes to the officers view of the dials like you said.

Wolfy
__________________

[JSGME Mods Used In My Game] "Dave, you will always be remembered! R.I.P."
WolfyBrandon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2020 Subsim