![]() |
[REQ] changing submarine setup
Hello subsimers:
I'd like to make mission using a non standard submarine setup, like changing the torpedoes load may be with some of them already expended, installing a radar, selecting the crew, and even adding some damage to the submarine as if it had been in battle recently, and so on. I read here that this cannot be done with the mission editor. My question is. Is it possible to mod a stock submarine and change it as described above? Well of course it is, but would it be a reachable task for someone without any previous modding experience? (that's me) :doh: If the answer is yes, can you provide learning directions? I promise that the skills gained will be used for greater good of this community :ping: TIA |
I managed to partly find and partly figure out how to change the torpedo setup, thanks to peabody who answer someone else in another thread.
It's all in the file (for example for the porpoise): ...\Data\Submarine\NSS_Porpoise\NSS_Porpoise.upc There's a section for the stern torpedo tubes and another one for the bow torpedo tubes, like: ;------------------------------------------------------------ ; BOW TORPEDO ;------------------------------------------------------------ ... [UserPlayerUnit 1.Compartment 5.WeaponSlot 3] ID= TorpMountB3 NameDisplayable= Torpedo Tube 3 Type=NULL AcceptedTypes= TorpedoTube UserCustomizable=No IDLinkBunker=BowTorpedoRoom IDLinkWeaponIntervalDefault1= NULL, NULL, TorpedoTube21inUS, Mk14Torpedo ExternalNodeName3D= NULL ExternalObjectName3D= NSS_P1_Door02_FRD_anim01 ExternalDamageZoneTypeID3D= 132 ... Here the bow torpedo tube 3 will always be loaded by default with an Mk14. If I want to change this and have, by default, the Mk14 from the time of the BIG BANG until 1942-12-31 and an Mk23 from 1943-01-01 up to the Apocalypse, I change the line starting with IDLinkWeaponIntervalDefault1 with the following: ... IDLinkWeaponIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1942-12-31, TorpedoTube21inUS, Mk14Torpedo IDLinkWeaponIntervalDefault2= 1943-01-01, NULL, TorpedoTube21inUS, Mk23Torpedo ... But if I want to have no torpedo at all in the tube I will use: ... IDLinkWeaponIntervalDefault2= 1943-01-01, NULL, TorpedoTube21inUS, NULL ... On the other hand you can change the reserve of torpedoes too, again there's a section for the stern and another for the bow torpedoes reserve; say I want all 8 torpedoes in the Porpoise reserve to be loaded by default with Mk14 until 1942-12-31, and from the next day (1943-01-01) I want 3 Mk23 and 5 Mk14, then I change the section like this: ... [UserPlayerUnit 1.Compartment 5.Bunker 1] ; Forward Torpedo Room ID=BowTorpedoRoom Capacity=8 IDLinkAmmunitionIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1942-12-31, Mk14Torpedo, 8 IDLinkAmmunitionIntervalDefault2= 1943-01-01, NULL, Mk23Torpedo, 3, Mk14Torpedo, 5 ... If I find out about the crew, the damage and the equipment I'll post it here. |
Crew Configuration
The person who knows nearly everything about the ingame submarine crews is LukeFF of the RFB team. Whatever you want to try he probably knows how. Try posting a question in the RFB forums.
|
Adding pre-rendered damage isn't possible. To "install" a radar set or other piece of equipment, navigate (near the bottom of the page) to the UpgradePackSlot section of the file. For instance:
Quote:
Crew rosters are farther up the page. For instance: Quote:
All of the crew slots are controlled by the UPC files in /Data/Submarine, except for the bridge watch and AA guns. Those positions are controlled in similiar files in /Data/UPCData/UPCUnitsData. Hopefully this gets you headed in the right direction. :) |
Quote:
Peabody |
What's all these people doing in my quiet, lovely and until now deserted thread :stare:
Get out of here! :stare::stare: Now seriously, thanks for taking the time to share your knoledge with me; I'll stick to my word and use it to help the comunity. :up: Get out of here :shifty: |
Hi.... glad I found this thread. I've returned to playing SH4 (after playing SH3+GWX a great deal) and have been impressed by the levels of user playable ship / sub mods for SH4. I am looking to learn specifically about how to script new playable units. I'm not a complete numpty; I have oodles of Freelancer modding experience. I am not much of a 3D / textures person ... more of a scripting / weapons balancing / gameplay type modder.
Quesitons I have (apologies for hijack) relate to the answer above from Luke about adding radars. I've been trying to add radar capability to a number of mods I've downloaded, including the Los Angeles 688i mod, the November & Foxtrot mod, and also the Yamoto. I have tried, and failed, to get radar added to either the 688i, the Yamoto or the November. Within the November / Foxtrot mod the Foxtrot comes with workign radar and the November without. When I copy all the code from the Foxtrot files the the November - still no radar. I've also tried the same approach copying radar from the Bismark mod to the yamoto and still no radar. Can anyone help explain the relationships between; 1) The radar definitions in the upgradepackslot in shipname.upc 2) The [UserPlayerUnit 1.FunctionalSubsystem 12] section in shipname.upc 3) The [UserPlayerUnit 1.Compartment 4.EquipmentSlot 3] 4) The shipname.sns file 5) The nodenames in shipname.sns - what do these corelate to - I assume nodnames in the 3d model .. if so how to check and what types of kit can be fitted to which nodes (any restrictions). 6) The [UnitPart 1.Compartment 1.EquipmentSlot 1] section in unitpartsshipname.upc 7) The definitions in upgradepacks.upc and equipment.upc Sorry for the complex / long quesitons ... I'm trying to learn how to do this so that I can do some modding and maybe help contribute to some of the major mods by doing scripting for them. I found it easy to get into the Freelancer stuff by virtue of the large quantity of tutuorials. Any / all help gratefully received :p |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.