SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   Classic Subsims (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=173)
-   -   Destroyer Command and Windows10 (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=248012)

kiwikid1940 01-07-2021 01:36 PM

Destroyer Command and Windows10
 
Can someone help me with installing DC onto my Windows10 64bit computer.

I have the disk but when I run Autorun it justs does nothing.

On opening DC in File Explorer I have clicked on Setup.exe which seems to run for about five seconds and then stops.

I have tried all the compatibility settings but nothing seems to work.

Any help would be appreciated

Mike

Vox165 01-13-2021 07:54 AM

I assume you used full administrative rights for the compatibility settings you tried and disabled virus/firewall and other programs during install. maybe bad disk? Could be a system device? -You didn't mention your system. Integrated-onboard graphic cards on laptops may not work.

I hope you get it running. I installed DC from my original disk and it runs fine under win7/64bit desktop. Search of this forum indicates other players have reported installing under win 10.

kiwikid1940 01-13-2021 01:06 PM

Thanks for your reply.
I am running Windows10 64bit with 8Gb ram and Gforce 2Gb graphic card. I have full admin rights and I use Windows Defender for firewall.
Turning firewall off makes no difference but I am sure it is something to do with my computer but other than the firewall I am at a loss as to what is the problem.
Anyway I will continue browsing the internet to see if there are any solutions.
From what I have read most of the problems in installing is to OS after Windows7
Mike

Kapitan 01-17-2021 08:26 PM

Unfortunately i do believe DC does not work with windows 10 the game has since been long abandoned

However there is a new game coming out on steam very shortly similar type of game.

Vox165 01-18-2021 11:16 AM

Destroyer Command DOES run under Windows 10/64 bit I just confirmed.

I just installed DC from my original disk onto a Windows 10/64 bit desktop build.
Specs: i5-6600 3.3 GHz , ASUS MOB VIIII LGA 1151, 8GB DDR4-2666, graphics GTX 1060, 1TB samsung SSD for storage and another SSD w Win 10 Home 64-bit.

No problem. Installed normally to storage SSD. Set the compatibilities, ran as administrator, turned off virus software etc. Both patches installed. FYI: This PC also has DirectX9 and Large address aware installed- I'm not sure if these may make a difference.
DC's graphics still run at 1024 . I Tested all training missions, sonar, radar, game sounds, game interface etc- no problems found.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2021 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.