SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SHIII Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=195)
-   -   Mod from Onealex (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=248010)

kyle9154 04-22-22 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2805107)
my first ctd in onealex mod..


sept 4th, just outside of dazig chasing that radio contact small convoy towards east.. theres apparently a small fleet of german dd doing some naval sweep around the 3 ports, accidentally hit 1024 time compression and the game freezed and ctd...



poor me.. i bagged a 10k large freighter just before that... save file was back at wilhelmshaven...:k_confused:

Good practices to ensure a stable save:
1. Never save while submerged.
2. Never save around any ship/airplane within 20-50 km.
3. Never save within 50 km of a sunken ship.
4. Never save while gramophone music is playing.
5. Never save during torpedo loading or repairs.
6. Never use Alt + TAB during a patrol.
7. Only save/exit game in NAV map or command room view.

What I do is save every 24hrs of in-game time and also have two separate save files for the same career in case latest save was corrupt some how. Example - save with U-203 and continue to save on that file when your in your patrol but when you do a save and exit then name it U-203 ALT. Just load the U-203 ALT (or whatever you name it) when you start back up as its the latest save. Scripted events can cause things like that in SH3 so its good to be prepared.

Mad Mardigan 04-22-22 05:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyle9154 (Post 2805123)
Good practices to ensure a stable save:
1. Never save while submerged.
2. Never save around any ship/airplane within 20-50 km.
3. Never save within 50 km of a sunken ship.
4. Never save while gramophone music is playing.
5. Never save during torpedo loading or repairs.
6. Never use Alt + TAB during a patrol.
7. Only save/exit game in NAV map or command room view.

What I do is save every 24hrs of in-game time and also have two separate save files for the same career in case latest save was corrupt some how. Example - save with U-203 and continue to save on that file when your in your patrol but when you do a save and exit then name it U-203 ALT. Just load the U-203 ALT (or whatever you name it) when you start back up as its the latest save. Scripted events can cause things like that in SH3 so its good to be prepared.

+1

To add to that, never... EVER... overwrite an old save.


In addition, wait 3 minutes minimum (5, I feel, is better) making sure to do a check around to ensure no ships/aircraft are about, save then wait again same amount of time... after coming out of high time compression.




:Kaleun_Salute:


M. M.

kyle9154 04-23-22 04:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan (Post 2805143)
+1

To add to that, never... EVER... overwrite an old save.


In addition, wait 3 minutes minimum (5, I feel, is better) making sure to do a check around to ensure no ships/aircraft are about, save then wait again same amount of time... after coming out of high time compression.




:Kaleun_Salute:


M. M.

I actually decided to go and disprove this theory, in the last month I have only waited like 30 seconds to save after large TC sessions. I also have overwritten old saves and I have yet to notice issues doing that in Onealex mod. As long as you follow those main 7 steps you'll be good to go, waiting 5 whole minutes everytime you want to do a quick save is like wtf seeing that I save every 24hrs of in game time in my patrols. I just simply am not going to wait there at my screen for 5 whole minutes or go do something else while I wait, so as long as you give it 30-60 seconds after high time compression then its good enough. I think someone brought that up in the subsim community ages ago about waiting like 5 mins and everyone just went with it without testing that theory. It could also maybe depend on your pc stats because someone with good gaming pc will have to wait less time to handle all the processes of SH3.

Mad Mardigan 04-23-22 10:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyle9154 (Post 2805204)
I actually decided to go and disprove this theory, in the last month I have only waited like 30 seconds to save after large TC sessions. I also have overwritten old saves and I have yet to notice issues doing that in Onealex mod. As long as you follow those main 7 steps you'll be good to go, waiting 5 whole minutes everytime you want to do a quick save is like wtf seeing that I save every 24hrs of in game time in my patrols. I just simply am not going to wait there at my screen for 5 whole minutes or go do something else while I wait, so as long as you give it 30-60 seconds after high time compression then its good enough. I think someone brought that up in the subsim community ages ago about waiting like 5 mins and everyone just went with it without testing that theory. It could also maybe depend on your pc stats because someone with good gaming pc will have to wait less time to handle all the processes of SH3.

The wait, I believe.. is to give the game/sim... time needed to settle down, after having been ran in high time compression state. So, I feel the waiting 3 to 5 minutes, makes perfect sense... to do before doing your save.

Now, that said... IF... you weren't just coming out of high TC use.. & had done so for some time... then not waiting that long, should be doable, as well.

The main gist of it is... it all comes down to that... high tc.

I do use high tc, & go with the methodology outlined... & have NOT, to date... had any issues with corrupted game saves, following that method.




:Kaleun_Salute:


M. M.

boonie 04-26-22 12:36 AM

greetings,


more weird funny ****s:
on my 4th patrol, AM34, a small convoy consisting of the bermuda queen (22k ton) and a troop transport (12-16k ton cant remember), escorted by a j&k dd headed straight for the small island towards the south center side of am34..


the dd beached, and the 2 big ship dont know what to do and soon followed suit. and gave me 3 very fat free kills.


:Kaleun_Cheers:

boonie 04-26-22 02:31 AM

i got a question..



is there a way to keep the lines and dots i made in the map throughout the campaign? i'd like to keep a records of where ships found and their course for later exploits.

John Pancoast 04-27-22 02:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2805618)
i got a question..



is there a way to keep the lines and dots i made in the map throughout the campaign? i'd like to keep a records of where ships found and their course for later exploits.


Other than a screenshot when desired I don't think so.

Anvart 04-30-22 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2805613)
greetings,

... escorted by a j&k dd headed straight for the small island towards the south center side of am34..
the dd beached, and the 2 big ship dont know what to do and soon followed suit. and gave me 3 very fat free kills.

:Kaleun_Cheers:

Helo.
Strange case...
We can assume that this is a bug:
1) The island is not implemented in the game as an island..?
2) The route of the ships is laid on the island ..?
... or something else.
Question... are you using the original terrain and game map? or do you have modifications of these things?

boonie 04-30-22 09:22 PM

erm i dont know how to edit campaign file so cant answer 1&2 sorry.


did not change or add anything for this onealex except the torp failure rate.


i do have a steam version of sh3 installed + added gwx on that. there might be a chance that cirtain pointers might exist in registry that cause onealex edition to use files from the steam version i am not sure.


edit: the onealex version i am using now is 1.52


moar edit: come to think of it there seems to be alot of weird things going on in my onealex installation. i just assumed it is some 'added kinks' purposely to spice things up further, but now i am wondering if my installation is bugged or not..

-in my onealex installation the dd in the game has sonar right off the bat at sept'39. on my 2nd mission i got called to danzig port to help with the dd sweep of the 3 ports there, there is a type A&B dd there defending and it has sonar (it sound is a very dull, different from the sharp sounding type of ping). narrowly escaped its first plaster of depth charge, i thought i was done for, was in shallow water at just outside the northern port. but that dd slammed itself onto one of those protruding long dike of the port and dont know how to reverse out of it so i killed it with my tail tube...


-when manually using the hydrophone i cant manually designate sound contact despite it already being very very loud. and the sonar man just simply wont designate it no matter how long i waited. (they dont usually do this, happens only occasionally)


-the brits have hunter killer group of 3x tribal equiped with very high quality sonar at Jan'40. i dont remember them being this dangerous at this early stage. they instantly detected my at like 4km away while i was only doing 5kt submerged and sunk me.

boonie 05-01-22 09:34 PM

Mines!! post your close shave with these balls of steel.

AN73, Jan'40
https://i.imgur.com/LBJaIRo.png

Jeff-Groves 05-01-22 11:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anvart (Post 2806451)
Helo.
Strange case...
We can assume that this is a bug:
1) The island is not implemented in the game as an island..?
2) The route of the ships is laid on the island ..?
... or something else.
Question... are you using the original terrain and game map? or do you have modifications of these things?

astvitaliy1982's modifications are included in the BFD now.
So it's a High probability more Units running aground will be seen unless the Campaign files were massively adjust to avoid groundings.

boonie 05-03-22 01:37 PM

this is weird. on my current patrol (AN81), i was loitering very close to AN73 to poach the cargo ship entering/exiting the english channel. made a few kills. at about 5am one morning detected 2 seperate cargo ship, they were all C3 transport ship, both heading to the channel at fast. I am behind them and there is no time to circle around them to setup a firing position so i decided to quickly deck gun them down before they reach the vicinity of the channel guards.


I sunk them both with deck gun but there was no 'She's going down' announcement both time, map does not show the ship sunk icon as well and most importantly, there were no log entry at the kill count page (k). but their wrecks are still there at the bottom of the shallow sea, masts still protruding.. its just weird.

i did not save&exit game and load before this, the game session was in one seating straight from wilhelmshaven to AN81 without any exit + loading.

:06:

propbeanie 05-03-22 02:02 PM

If you are seeing the ships' masts still boonie, the possibility exists that the ships are not completely destroyed
https://64.media.tumblr.com/491d3c08...0eyo4_400.gifv
While it is showing sunk, it does not reach "crush" depth and "kill" it for recording purposes...
https://64.media.tumblr.com/1528ef94...3ve5h_500.gifv

Mad Mardigan 05-03-22 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2806890)
this is weird. on my current patrol (AN81), i was loitering very close to AN73 to poach the cargo ship entering/exiting the english channel. made a few kills. at about 5am one morning detected 2 seperate cargo ship, they were all C3 transport ship, both heading to the channel at fast. I am behind them and there is no time to circle around them to setup a firing position so i decided to quickly deck gun them down before they reach the vicinity of the channel guards.


I sunk them both with deck gun but there was no 'She's going down' announcement both time, map does not show the ship sunk icon as well and most importantly, there were no log entry at the kill count page (k). but their wrecks are still there at the bottom of the shallow sea, masts still protruding.. its just weird.

i did not save&exit game and load before this, the game session was in one seating straight from wilhelmshaven to AN81 without any exit + loading.

:06:

Hmmm...

Think I seem to recall, is part of the coding, that some ships, will not be considered sunk til they hit a certain... marker to be recognized as being 'destroyed' to then be registered as being sunk, in your log book... & thereby, be registered as to being tagged on the map, as 'sunk'.

Something to do with... iirc, being below a certain... depth... if I have that rightly.

This is prevalent in SH3, 4... &... I, believe, is also in 5... as well.

Just, as funky... as running across a target, sinking it... getting a bit aways from the deed... & then either, run into the exact same ship... that you just sunk... sort of like a dead zombie copy... that, if you sink it.. will then, NOT register on your log book despite the fact of a sunk ship icon showing on the nav map. Which, can also happen if you get a ways away from a target, save... exit & come back to the game later on & therein, run into that same rom com dead zombie ship... with the same results.. sunk ship icon if you sink 'em, but... no tonnage or having sunk it, registering in your log book.


This, of course... is to do with 4, no idea if that can also occur in 3, much less in 5...:hmmm: :hmmm: :hmmm:

Just know that I have NOT run into it, but... that does not mean, that it CAN'T occur... no idea, either way. *shrug*

Strange, but... sadly... true.

been there, done that... :yep: :shucks:




:Kaleun_Salute:


M. M.

boonie 05-03-22 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan (Post 2806900)
Hmmm...

Think I seem to recall, is part of the coding, that some ships, will not be considered sunk til they hit a certain... marker to be recognized as being 'destroyed' to then be registered as being sunk, in your log book... & thereby, be registered as to being tagged on the map, as 'sunk'.

M. M.


well one of the ship broke in half as i was shelling it non stop since there's no "She's going down" notification.. should be registered as 'dead enough' hahaha.


but yeah it does look like the monty pyton reference, in an aquatic ceremonial way. lol


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:17 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.