SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SHIII Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=195)
-   -   Mod from Onealex (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=248010)

Kal_Maximus_U669 03-25-22 08:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyle9154 (Post 2800149)
Yeah he's totally fine ...for now anyways as he lives in Lviv (the most western city in Ukraine thats close to the Polish border). He has a discord so why don't you join it and you can chat with him/community for the Onealex mod.
Feel free to join the Onealex mod community discord :Kaleun_Wink: https://discord.gg/bKCdQekE4W

Hi thank you for the support for Alex it's great I'm going to try your work this weekend :Kaleun_Cheers:

Halogen 04-10-22 10:08 PM

Strangely it still seems that the 2 sound files: "amb_SubmarineYard" and "KaleunSpeech" Just dont seem to do anything in-game
They don't play at all when at the start of a patrol :06:

Mad Mardigan 04-10-22 10:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Halogen (Post 2803068)
Strangely it still seems that the 2 sound files: "amb_SubmarineYard" and "KaleunSpeech" Just dont seem to do anything in-game
They don't play at all when at the start of a patrol :06:

That's because... those 2, won't be heard... unless... & until.. you ship out from a 'bunker'.


I know this only, due to using the 'free cam', to rove about, after setting up a plotted exit path out of base once... & went into somewhat, into a bunker & heard that Kaleun speech from Das Boot... & the noises of workers in there... moving about, hammering... & etc. noises.


:Kaleun_Salute:

M. M.

Halogen 04-12-22 12:48 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan (Post 2803069)
That's because... those 2, won't be heard... unless... & until.. you ship out from a 'bunker'.


I know this only, due to using the 'free cam', to rove about, after setting up a plotted exit path out of base once... & went into somewhat, into a bunker & heard that Kaleun speech from Das Boot... & the noises of workers in there... moving about, hammering... & etc. noises.


:Kaleun_Salute:

M. M.

Well yes I know that part, but even if leaving from a U-boot pen they don't seem to play
Which is strange because they have once before
They just don't anymore

Mad Mardigan 04-12-22 01:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Halogen (Post 2803247)
Well yes I know that part, but even if leaving from a U-boot pen they don't seem to play
Which is strange because they have once before
They just don't anymore

Hmmm.... very.. very... strrraaaangeeeee... :doh: :o :timeout: :hmmm:


:Kaleun_Salute:

M. M.

Halogen 04-13-22 04:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan (Post 2803251)
Hmmm.... very.. very... strrraaaangeeeee... :doh: :o :timeout: :hmmm:


:Kaleun_Salute:

M. M.

I agree friend. No clue as to what could have caused it :haha: :06: :k_confused:

boonie 04-17-22 10:22 AM

hi everyone,


i am trying out sh3 onealex now and have a question:


-when i asked my weapon officer to identify a ship, how do i make the recognition manual go to the correct page? there's currently too many ship in the manual to flip though... never thought i'd complain about sh3 having too many ship variant but yeah it is a pain to go through the rec-manual page by page.

Kal_Maximus_U669 04-17-22 10:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2804213)
hi everyone,


i am trying out sh3 onealex now and have a question:


-when i asked my weapon officer to identify a ship, how do i make the recognition manual go to the correct page? there's currently too many ship in the manual to flip though... never thought i'd complain about sh3 having too many ship variant but yeah it is a pain to go through the rec-manual page by page.

Yes indeed this is not a game for the lazy...:har::har:

glaude 04-17-22 10:54 AM

If I remember correctly, just click on the "ship" area of the notepad.

kyle9154 04-17-22 06:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2804213)
hi everyone,


i am trying out sh3 onealex now and have a question:


-when i asked my weapon officer to identify a ship, how do i make the recognition manual go to the correct page? there's currently too many ship in the manual to flip though... never thought i'd complain about sh3 having too many ship variant but yeah it is a pain to go through the rec-manual page by page.

Lol here's me running Merchant Fleet Mod 3.3 Lite Onealex version on top of all the ships in the compilation lol.....more....more...MORE...GIVE ME MOREEEE!!!:har:

John Pancoast 04-17-22 07:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2804213)
hi everyone,


i am trying out sh3 onealex now and have a question:


-when i asked my weapon officer to identify a ship, how do i make the recognition manual go to the correct page? there's currently too many ship in the manual to flip though... never thought i'd complain about sh3 having too many ship variant but yeah it is a pain to go through the rec-manual page by page.

Click on the name of the ship, whereever it is on your screen; i.e., scope lens, etc.

boonie 04-18-22 04:20 AM

yeah i got it, thanks for the pointer.


there is this bug with the torpedo tutorial though, i killed all 5 merchants and the secondary objective to sink all merchant is still incomplete.


i opened the mission with editor, the secondary objective of 'killing all merchants' require 15000 ton sunk, but i killed all 5 and the total tonnage only amount to 13100 ton, so i changed the objective to only require 12500 ton of 'any' ship. but still it cant be completed on my last attempt after killing all. weird.


erm... wait... i edited the mission file under the english folder, does this onealex version uses the german folder?
my option for the game was set to :
text = english
voice = german
did i edited the mission file under the wrong folder? or other mistake?

Mad Mardigan 04-18-22 04:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2804381)
yeah i got it, thanks for the pointer.


there is this bug with the torpedo tutorial though, i killed all 5 merchants and the secondary objective to sink all merchant is still incomplete.


i opened the mission with editor, the secondary objective of 'killing all merchants' require 15000 ton sunk, but i killed all 5 and the total tonnage only amount to 13100 ton, so i changed the objective to only require 12500 ton of 'any' ship. but still it cant be completed on my last attempt after killing all. weird.


erm... wait... i edited the mission file under the english folder, does this onealex version uses the german folder?
my option for the game was set to :
text = english
voice = german
did i edited the mission file under the wrong folder? or other mistake?

Welllll....

considering how SH3, is german uboats... :shucks:

I'd say likely... though, it probably would not hurt... to edit the file in the 'de' side of it... to that same value as you did in the 'eng.' side of it... I'd imagine... :hmmm: :hmmm: :hmmm:

Before doing so... wait a bit & see if any 1 else, can either confirm... or refute My guess...




:Kaleun_Salute:


M. M.

boonie 04-18-22 07:01 AM

found out what was wrong... my mission editor was pointed at the steam installation instead of the onealex installation..zzz


changing objective and trigger to 12500 ton and set to 'merchant' works.


edit:


the same error applies to convoy attack tutorial too, total tonnage of all merchants in convoy is only 13100~ish but secondary objective demands 15000. needs the same change pretty much. even if both the escort sunk it only adds up to 14500~ish.

boonie 04-22-22 11:45 AM

my first ctd in onealex mod..


sept 4th, just outside of dazig chasing that radio contact small convoy towards east.. theres apparently a small fleet of german dd doing some naval sweep around the 3 ports, accidentally hit 1024 time compression and the game freezed and ctd...



poor me.. i bagged a 10k large freighter just before that... save file was back at wilhelmshaven...:k_confused:

kyle9154 04-22-22 03:27 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2805107)
my first ctd in onealex mod..


sept 4th, just outside of dazig chasing that radio contact small convoy towards east.. theres apparently a small fleet of german dd doing some naval sweep around the 3 ports, accidentally hit 1024 time compression and the game freezed and ctd...



poor me.. i bagged a 10k large freighter just before that... save file was back at wilhelmshaven...:k_confused:

Good practices to ensure a stable save:
1. Never save while submerged.
2. Never save around any ship/airplane within 20-50 km.
3. Never save within 50 km of a sunken ship.
4. Never save while gramophone music is playing.
5. Never save during torpedo loading or repairs.
6. Never use Alt + TAB during a patrol.
7. Only save/exit game in NAV map or command room view.

What I do is save every 24hrs of in-game time and also have two separate save files for the same career in case latest save was corrupt some how. Example - save with U-203 and continue to save on that file when your in your patrol but when you do a save and exit then name it U-203 ALT. Just load the U-203 ALT (or whatever you name it) when you start back up as its the latest save. Scripted events can cause things like that in SH3 so its good to be prepared.

Mad Mardigan 04-22-22 05:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyle9154 (Post 2805123)
Good practices to ensure a stable save:
1. Never save while submerged.
2. Never save around any ship/airplane within 20-50 km.
3. Never save within 50 km of a sunken ship.
4. Never save while gramophone music is playing.
5. Never save during torpedo loading or repairs.
6. Never use Alt + TAB during a patrol.
7. Only save/exit game in NAV map or command room view.

What I do is save every 24hrs of in-game time and also have two separate save files for the same career in case latest save was corrupt some how. Example - save with U-203 and continue to save on that file when your in your patrol but when you do a save and exit then name it U-203 ALT. Just load the U-203 ALT (or whatever you name it) when you start back up as its the latest save. Scripted events can cause things like that in SH3 so its good to be prepared.

+1

To add to that, never... EVER... overwrite an old save.


In addition, wait 3 minutes minimum (5, I feel, is better) making sure to do a check around to ensure no ships/aircraft are about, save then wait again same amount of time... after coming out of high time compression.




:Kaleun_Salute:


M. M.

kyle9154 04-23-22 04:58 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan (Post 2805143)
+1

To add to that, never... EVER... overwrite an old save.


In addition, wait 3 minutes minimum (5, I feel, is better) making sure to do a check around to ensure no ships/aircraft are about, save then wait again same amount of time... after coming out of high time compression.




:Kaleun_Salute:


M. M.

I actually decided to go and disprove this theory, in the last month I have only waited like 30 seconds to save after large TC sessions. I also have overwritten old saves and I have yet to notice issues doing that in Onealex mod. As long as you follow those main 7 steps you'll be good to go, waiting 5 whole minutes everytime you want to do a quick save is like wtf seeing that I save every 24hrs of in game time in my patrols. I just simply am not going to wait there at my screen for 5 whole minutes or go do something else while I wait, so as long as you give it 30-60 seconds after high time compression then its good enough. I think someone brought that up in the subsim community ages ago about waiting like 5 mins and everyone just went with it without testing that theory. It could also maybe depend on your pc stats because someone with good gaming pc will have to wait less time to handle all the processes of SH3.

Mad Mardigan 04-23-22 10:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by kyle9154 (Post 2805204)
I actually decided to go and disprove this theory, in the last month I have only waited like 30 seconds to save after large TC sessions. I also have overwritten old saves and I have yet to notice issues doing that in Onealex mod. As long as you follow those main 7 steps you'll be good to go, waiting 5 whole minutes everytime you want to do a quick save is like wtf seeing that I save every 24hrs of in game time in my patrols. I just simply am not going to wait there at my screen for 5 whole minutes or go do something else while I wait, so as long as you give it 30-60 seconds after high time compression then its good enough. I think someone brought that up in the subsim community ages ago about waiting like 5 mins and everyone just went with it without testing that theory. It could also maybe depend on your pc stats because someone with good gaming pc will have to wait less time to handle all the processes of SH3.

The wait, I believe.. is to give the game/sim... time needed to settle down, after having been ran in high time compression state. So, I feel the waiting 3 to 5 minutes, makes perfect sense... to do before doing your save.

Now, that said... IF... you weren't just coming out of high TC use.. & had done so for some time... then not waiting that long, should be doable, as well.

The main gist of it is... it all comes down to that... high tc.

I do use high tc, & go with the methodology outlined... & have NOT, to date... had any issues with corrupted game saves, following that method.




:Kaleun_Salute:


M. M.

boonie 04-26-22 12:36 AM

greetings,


more weird funny ****s:
on my 4th patrol, AM34, a small convoy consisting of the bermuda queen (22k ton) and a troop transport (12-16k ton cant remember), escorted by a j&k dd headed straight for the small island towards the south center side of am34..


the dd beached, and the 2 big ship dont know what to do and soon followed suit. and gave me 3 very fat free kills.


:Kaleun_Cheers:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.