SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SHIII Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=195)
-   -   Mod from Onealex (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=248010)

SnipersHunter 09-05-21 03:44 AM

Dönitz wrote in May 1940, "I doubt whether men have ever had to rely on such a useless weapon."

Onealex 09-05-21 04:15 AM

If I did failure rate 50-60% I would have 100500 messages about that )

SnipersHunter 09-05-21 04:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by derstosstrupp (Post 2766565)
Hands-down the best, most well-thought-out and researched SH3 modpack out there!

One small request for OneAlex: could you please change the attack disc so that the correct pointer moves when changing the bearing of the optics? Currently it’s the attack/torpedo course arm that moves, when it actually should be the short arm labeled “Vorhalt” that points to relative bearing when used properly.

Thanks and keep up the good work!


Hey Alex, would this be easy to change, I have noticed that auswell?

Onealex 09-05-21 04:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SnipersHunter (Post 2766699)
Hey Alex, would this be easy to change, I have noticed that auswell?

Hi. Not for me I'm not so competent with this

Sangamon Taylor 09-05-21 07:16 AM

OK, so I've been having a terrible time getting this mod to run without CTD and it's been extremely frustrating.

After my last post complaining about this a kind subsimmer messaged me with these instructions and they seem to have worked to stabilize the mod. If step 2 is so important why isn't it mentioned in the README (It wasn't so well known, at least not to me)? Step 2 seems to be the answer to all of the problems. Now I am very happy with this mod. Good work Alex, perhaps you could update your README to include Step 2 so other players can avoid problems.

INSTALLATION OF ONEALEX

1. Download ONEALEX 1.XX and UnZip to .. Your choice of location (not in Program Files). C:/ is my preferred spot.

2. Open the SH3 folder and change the SH3.exe, Cmdr.exe and JSGME.exe to WIN7 compatibly / and run as ADMIN.

3. Start game via the SH3.exe, to set a SAVE FOLDER.

4. Set game OPTIONS to GERMAN.

5. Exit game.

6. Add Mods via JSGME to SHIII.

7. Set OPTIONS in SH3 Cmdr. to your liking.

8. Setup Career & Play.

please try it again. with the steps above. STEP 2 IS VERY IMPORTANT and not mentioned in the README because it's a well known step. You should do that for any and all super mods anyway.

Onealex 09-05-21 07:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sangamon Taylor (Post 2766711)
OK, so I've been having a terrible time getting this mod to run without CTD.

A kind subsimmer messaged me with these instructions and they seem to have worked to stabilize the mod. If step 2 is so important why isn't it mentioned in the README (It wasn't so well known, at least not to me)? Step 2 seems to be the answer to all of the problems. Now I am very happy with this mod. Good work Alex, perhaps you could update your README to include Step 2 so other players can avoid problems.

INSTALLATION OF ONEALEX

1. Download ONEALEX 1.XX and UnZip to .. Your choice of location (not in Program Files). C:/ is my preferred spot.

2. Open the SH3 folder and change the SH3.exe, Cmdr.exe and JSGME.exe to WIN7 compatibly / and run as ADMIN.

3. Start game via the SH3.exe, to set a SAVE FOLDER.

4. Set game OPTIONS to GERMAN.

5. Exit game.

6. Add Mods via JSGME to SHIII.

7. Set OPTIONS in SH3 Cmdr. to your liking.

8. Setup Career & Play.

please try it again. with the steps above. STEP 2 IS VERY IMPORTANT and not mentioned in the README because it's a well known step. You should do that for any and all super mods anyway.

I will update the readme file in the next version

perrydw 09-05-21 07:30 AM

2 Attachment(s)
I've also noticed that the attack disk doesn't work fully. If you look at the attached images from the handbook provided in the documentation

Front: https://imgur.com/Y5THIau
Back: https://imgur.com/dNvJkuP

On the front, you can rotate disk C, but the pointers D and E don't move. And on the back, you can rotate disk Z, but not disk Y.

This makes it difficult or impossible to perform some of the calculations detailed in the handbook, unless I'm missing something. Not sure how easy it would be to solve, but it is an issue that limits the use of the disk.

Onealex 09-05-21 07:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by perrydw (Post 2766716)
I've also noticed that the attack disk doesn't work fully. If you look at the attached images from the handbook provided in the documentation

Front: https://imgur.com/Y5THIau
Back: https://imgur.com/dNvJkuP

On the front, you can rotate disk C, but the pointers D and E don't move. And on the back, you can rotate disk Z, but not disk Y.

This makes it difficult or impossible to perform some of the calculations detailed in the handbook, unless I'm missing something. Not sure how easy it would be to solve, but it is an issue that limits the use of the disk.

I can't check this right now but as I remember you should turn of TDC

perrydw 09-05-21 08:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Onealex (Post 2766720)
I can't check this right now but as I remember you should turn of TDC

Aha, that allowed me to move pointer E, but not pointer D or disk Y on the back.

SnipersHunter 09-05-21 08:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Onealex (Post 2766700)
Hi. Not for me I'm not so competent with this

Hey Alex,

I have fixed it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wf57VQmZrZc

If you want I can send you the files, then you can include it in a future version.

We can discuss it over PM or Discord, whatever you prefer...

GrenSo 09-05-21 10:28 AM

Hi Alex,

I think the translation of the radio masseges will take a very long time. I start to day and I am only at the beginning of Sep. '39 and there are not really long sentences until now. And it is not possible to replace everything, like dates, with just a few clicks.

And you know, if you only look for a while at text on the monitor, your eyes need a good and long break.

kaizerhund10 09-05-21 10:59 AM

had to start a new patrol after sinking some really good ships, reason is, the hydrophone dial was not moving along with other dials in the command room, all pointing north. i do not know what caused this and no mods are being used btw..tried going on forum but nothing there on this issue. any thoughts?

Rm978 09-05-21 11:23 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by perrydw (Post 2766716)
I've also noticed that the attack disk doesn't work fully. If you look at the attached images from the handbook provided in the documentation

Front: https://imgur.com/Y5THIau
Back: https://imgur.com/dNvJkuP

On the front, you can rotate disk C, but the pointers D and E don't move. And on the back, you can rotate disk Z, but not disk Y.

This makes it difficult or impossible to perform some of the calculations detailed in the handbook, unless I'm missing something. Not sure how easy it would be to solve, but it is an issue that limits the use of the disk.


It works but you have to switch off the TDC periscope follow because ingame attack disc is connected to data input (e.i. periscope bearing, AOB, etc.)
If you switch it off, like you do to insert data into TDC, all discs and pointers work

Onealex 09-05-21 11:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by GrenSo (Post 2766760)
Hi Alex,

I think the translation of the radio masseges will take a very long time. I start to day and I am only at the beginning of Sep. '39 and there are not really long sentences until now. And it is not possible to replace everything, like dates, with just a few clicks.

And you know, if you only look for a while at text on the monitor, your eyes need a good and long break.

Ok. No problem

Onealex 09-05-21 11:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SnipersHunter (Post 2766731)
Hey Alex,

I have fixed it:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wf57VQmZrZc

If you want I can send you the files, then you can include it in a future version.

We can discuss it over PM or Discord, whatever you prefer...

Please send me files via PM. I will check later

SnipersHunter 09-05-21 12:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Onealex (Post 2766782)
Please send me files via PM. I will check later

Sent via PM. :Kaleun_Wink:

SnipersHunter 09-06-21 06:48 AM

Hey Alex,

I adapted the KzS Notepad from Tycho for OneAlex Mod.



There are some drawbacks to it tho:

Only make entries to the notepad while the game is paused. Otherwise most of the ingame hotkeys will apply while typing.

I had to remove the function of backspace to unpause the game while the game is paused in order to make corrections to entries in the notepad possible. To unpause the game Numpad + can still be used.
The function "Shift+N" seems to be hardcoded by Stiebler to set the minimum TC, so if you want to write a capital N dont forget to hit "Shift+N" again before unpausing the
game or only use lowercase letters while making notes.


If you want to include it in your mod i can send you the files.

More info on the mod from Tycho: https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...45&postcount=2

Onealex 09-06-21 07:31 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SnipersHunter (Post 2766889)
Hey Alex,

I adapted the KzS Notepad from Tycho for OneAlex Mod.



There are some drawbacks to it tho:

Only make entries to the notepad while the game is paused. Otherwise most of the ingame hotkeys will apply while typing.

I had to remove the function of backspace to unpause the game while the game is paused in order to make corrections to entries in the notepad possible. To unpause the game Numpad + can still be used.
The function "Shift+N" seems to be hardcoded by Stiebler to set the minimum TC, so if you want to write a capital N dont forget to hit "Shift+N" again before unpausing the
game or only use lowercase letters while making notes.


If you want to include it in your mod i can send you the files.

More info on the mod from Tycho: https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/sho...45&postcount=2

Hi. Thanks for your work but we can't save any info from that notepad. That is the main issue. We can make notes during a patrol on the paper and after patrol update logbook with those notes.

SnipersHunter 09-06-21 07:32 AM

Correct, its only for short temporary notes. I have sent you the files via PM If you want to check it out.

I think it’s a good Tool to calculate intercept courses etc.

Sangamon Taylor 09-07-21 06:26 AM

I get multiple radio messages denying my request for a grid change, but I've never requested a grid change. It's pretty annoying because they just keep coming, dozens of them. I even tried disabling the grid change option in the Steibler options but they still keep coming.

What's a mother to do abut this bug?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.