SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SHIII Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=195)
-   -   Mod from Onealex (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=248010)

Onealex 03-02-21 09:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kumando (Post 2733533)
Why some contacts appear as red when zoomed in oh the map?

Maybe due to tga files. Some modders who made new ship models did tga files different from GWX 3.0 tga files

John Pancoast 03-02-21 09:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by CapZap1970 (Post 2733381)
Thank you very much, Onealex!!! :yeah:
Fantastic work! This is getting better and better with every update!
One question if you don't mind... If I would like to have the stealth meter back, would it be enough to replace the Menu.ini file from a previous version that still has it or is it more complicated than that? not a matter of life and death, so if it is too hard to bring it back, it doesn't matter at all. Thanks a lot again and keep up the excellent work!!! :salute:


CapZap

It is very easy to put it back into any menu.ini file. I.e., look at the menu.ini items needed in a file with it present and then just add them to the ini file you want to use including any ini file renumbering needed. Something else may have physically taken its place in a modded ini file, in which case simply move it via the "Pos" lines to where desired on the screen.
I don't play with it, but understand why some would. I.e., irl you'd get much better info. from your phone man vs. the one in the game.

John Pancoast 03-02-21 09:33 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Belmondo (Post 2733348)
I have a question about depth bombs, how many pieces did a destroyer have. During a dispute with three destroyers, they dropped 130 bombs is it plausible.

SH3 escort ai needs all the help it can get. If that means more depth charges than in reality, so be it. :)

CapZap1970 03-02-21 10:20 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John Pancoast (Post 2733538)
It is very easy to put it back into any menu.ini file. I.e., look at the menu.ini items needed in a file with it present and then just add them to the ini file you want to use including any ini file renumbering needed. Something else may have physically taken its place in a modded ini file, in which case simply move it via the "Pos" lines to where desired on the screen.
I don't play with it, but understand why some would. I.e., irl you'd get much better info. from your phone man vs. the one in the game.

Thanks for the info JP!!! :salute:

Kumando 03-02-21 11:29 AM

Why is asdic shallow waters fix and fido torpedo off on stiebler by default?

Onealex 03-02-21 11:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kumando (Post 2733575)
Why is asdic shallow waters fix and fido torpedo off on stiebler by default?

1 It makes escort ships deaf in all cases
2 I don't like that mod

John Pancoast 03-02-21 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Onealex (Post 2733579)
1 It makes escort ships deaf in all cases
2 I don't like that mod

Fwiw, in shallow water, asdic was/should be not very effective.
But if it does find you, good luck you'll need it. :) I've never noticed any difference in deeper water from it being enabled.

Kumando 03-02-21 06:36 PM

I'm in 39 and all my torpedoes are running way bellow the depth I set, with magnetic and impact pistols is this normal?

Onealex 03-03-21 01:02 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kumando (Post 2733686)
I'm in 39 and all my torpedoes are running way bellow the depth I set, with magnetic and impact pistols is this normal?

Set correct torpedo depth which depends on wave heigh (please read Stiebler/Hsie patch documentation) Also turn off magnetic detonators.

Mad Mardigan 03-03-21 10:35 PM

Re: shallow torps...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Kumando (Post 2733686)
I'm in 39 and all my torpedoes are running way bellow the depth I set, with magnetic and impact pistols is this normal?

As I recall of it, early on, uboats did have issues with all sorts of torp issues, from running deeper than what they were set, to duds, mag det either not going off as it should to going off sometimes not long after leaving the tube. All in all, all sorts of loverly issues... so if you have it check marked for duds then yes, that would be normal.

M. M.

:Kaleun_Salute:

Onealex 03-03-21 11:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan (Post 2733868)
As I recall of it, early on, uboats did have issues with all sorts of torp issues, from running deeper than what they were set, to duds, mag det either not going off as it should to going off sometimes not long after leaving the tube. All in all, all sorts of loverly issues... so if you have it check marked for duds then yes, that would be normal.

M. M.

:Kaleun_Salute:

Yes you are right. Also I want to remind about this...
http://c.radikal.ru/c20/2103/6e/da9be48ea3ae.png

Mad Mardigan 03-04-21 12:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Onealex (Post 2733874)
Yes you are right. Also I want to remind about this...
https://a.radikal.ru/a25/2103/01/ec5d14f5e30f.png

With that, as I recall you could still set them for what would be the correct depth, based on what the weather & waves were at the given time... & still end up having any of the issues I outlined, at minimum, occur...

That is, until the time if that is modeled in there right & works as it is intended to, to follow that as it occurred back then... :yep:

It is possible to still have duds occur, later on in the war timeline.. not as highly as early on, but they still do happen.. as there were instances of sabotage that occurred.

Slave labor, did fight back in the only way available to them, at the time.

M. M.

:Kaleun_Salute:

John Pancoast 03-04-21 07:22 AM

I've found the default failure settings of H.sie's patch don't produce near enough failures. Not even close.
I've doubled their rate in the Hsie.ini file and along with using only magnetic pistols ala NYGM it's much better though could perhaps could use even another 50% added to the numbers. Helps reduce the silly tonnage levels possible in the game too.
M.M. look in the Hsie.ini file for details.

Onealex 03-04-21 07:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John Pancoast (Post 2733926)
I've found the default failure settings of H.sie's patch don't produce near enough failures. Not even close.
I've doubled their rate in the Hsie.ini file and along with using only magnetic pistols ala NYGM it's much better though could perhaps could use even another 50% added to the numbers. Helps reduce the silly tonnage levels possible in the game too.
M.M. look in the Hsie.ini file for details.

In my modpack the default failure settings of H.sie's patch were corrected and tested by me. Also there are an early torpedo detonations. So there is no reason to change my settings which are correct

John Pancoast 03-04-21 07:46 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Onealex (Post 2733935)
In my modpack the default failure settings of H.series patch were corrected and tested by me. Also there are an early torpedo detonations. So there is no reason to change my settings which are correct

:up: Any idea of the failure % ?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.