SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   Wolfpack (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=277)
-   -   Magic Numbers? (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=240579)

Elphaba 04-06-19 04:26 AM

Magic Numbers?

As a real life pilot, I'm used to 'magic numbers' everywhere. i.e. Set this power to get this attitude etc.

So are there magic numbers for Wolfpack that anyone wants to share?

i.e. what ballast amounts and dive plane settings for x depth at y speed?

I'm sure the fun is working them out for yourself, but doing this solo is proving laborious and not exactly accurate!

derstosstrupp 04-06-19 07:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Elphaba (Post 2601577)
As a real life pilot, I'm used to 'magic numbers' everywhere. i.e. Set this power to get this attitude etc.

So are there magic numbers for Wolfpack that anyone wants to share?

i.e. what ballast amounts and dive plane settings for x depth at y speed?

I'm sure the fun is working them out for yourself, but doing this solo is proving laborious and not exactly accurate!

Check out my thread on proposed SOPs: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=240545

Granted it is written for a full crew complement but it has recommendations as to speed settings etc.

Pisces 04-06-19 10:00 AM

0.05 cubic meters (halve of a tick) water in the negative tank to stay balanced at or around periscope depth with neutral dive planes or 0 speed.

I don't know about other depths yet.

Elphaba 04-07-19 11:58 AM

Thank you Pisces

Pisces 04-07-19 01:34 PM

Well, since it is hard to get the right amount of water in the negative tank you still need to watch the depth dial every now and then. But it will certainly slow down the rising of the boat.

Elphaba 04-08-19 10:33 AM