SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   Silent Hunter III (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=182)
-   -   Repaired but going down (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=254247)

foo_jam2002 12-21-22 06:14 PM

Repaired but going down

I am playing the game again after 1 1/2 years. I have some experience with the game. So, my sub was hit by aeroplanes. I repaired everything and i surfaced by blowing the ballast. It was the only way. Now that i dove into periscope depth, my sub just keeps going down. No way to go up or to maintain depth. Could someone give me some help here? I don't want to abandon the game again. I use the grey wolves version.

Hooston 12-22-22 06:44 PM

Dive planes?

Sounds like both sets of dive planes are destroyed. Have a close look at the equipment status text for the forward and rear compartments on the crew page, might have to scroll the list a bit with the little triangles in the corner.

I've never had both front and rear planes destroyed, I vaguely remember losing one set just slows dive times.
Maybe try reverse to drive the boat to the surface? A bit of a long shot I'm afraid. Otherwise time to blow ballast and try to get home on the surface. Or surrender...

I sometimes get very sluggish engines or periscopes stuck, which may be the HSie mod or may be a bug! Sometimes saving the game and reloading clears these. Another thing to try.

bstanko6 12-23-22 07:42 PM

It’s rare to be attacked by a plane and not have a leak in the pressure hull. I never recommend attacking or waiting to be attacked by a plane. It’s just not worth it.

foo_jam2002 12-24-22 10:56 AM

I never said that i attacked the planes or that i waited for them to attack me. I was just caught off guard. If i return to Kiel without having patrolled at the designated area, will i be able to get a new mission?

CapZap1970 12-24-22 11:43 AM