SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SHIII Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=195)
-   -   Mod from Onealex (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=248010)

boonie 04-26-22 02:31 AM

i got a question..



is there a way to keep the lines and dots i made in the map throughout the campaign? i'd like to keep a records of where ships found and their course for later exploits.

John Pancoast 04-27-22 02:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2805618)
i got a question..



is there a way to keep the lines and dots i made in the map throughout the campaign? i'd like to keep a records of where ships found and their course for later exploits.


Other than a screenshot when desired I don't think so.

Anvart 04-30-22 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2805613)
greetings,

... escorted by a j&k dd headed straight for the small island towards the south center side of am34..
the dd beached, and the 2 big ship dont know what to do and soon followed suit. and gave me 3 very fat free kills.

:Kaleun_Cheers:

Helo.
Strange case...
We can assume that this is a bug:
1) The island is not implemented in the game as an island..?
2) The route of the ships is laid on the island ..?
... or something else.
Question... are you using the original terrain and game map? or do you have modifications of these things?

boonie 04-30-22 09:22 PM

erm i dont know how to edit campaign file so cant answer 1&2 sorry.


did not change or add anything for this onealex except the torp failure rate.


i do have a steam version of sh3 installed + added gwx on that. there might be a chance that cirtain pointers might exist in registry that cause onealex edition to use files from the steam version i am not sure.


edit: the onealex version i am using now is 1.52


moar edit: come to think of it there seems to be alot of weird things going on in my onealex installation. i just assumed it is some 'added kinks' purposely to spice things up further, but now i am wondering if my installation is bugged or not..

-in my onealex installation the dd in the game has sonar right off the bat at sept'39. on my 2nd mission i got called to danzig port to help with the dd sweep of the 3 ports there, there is a type A&B dd there defending and it has sonar (it sound is a very dull, different from the sharp sounding type of ping). narrowly escaped its first plaster of depth charge, i thought i was done for, was in shallow water at just outside the northern port. but that dd slammed itself onto one of those protruding long dike of the port and dont know how to reverse out of it so i killed it with my tail tube...


-when manually using the hydrophone i cant manually designate sound contact despite it already being very very loud. and the sonar man just simply wont designate it no matter how long i waited. (they dont usually do this, happens only occasionally)


-the brits have hunter killer group of 3x tribal equiped with very high quality sonar at Jan'40. i dont remember them being this dangerous at this early stage. they instantly detected my at like 4km away while i was only doing 5kt submerged and sunk me.

boonie 05-01-22 09:34 PM

Mines!! post your close shave with these balls of steel.

AN73, Jan'40
https://i.imgur.com/LBJaIRo.png

Jeff-Groves 05-01-22 11:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Anvart (Post 2806451)
Helo.
Strange case...
We can assume that this is a bug:
1) The island is not implemented in the game as an island..?
2) The route of the ships is laid on the island ..?
... or something else.
Question... are you using the original terrain and game map? or do you have modifications of these things?

astvitaliy1982's modifications are included in the BFD now.
So it's a High probability more Units running aground will be seen unless the Campaign files were massively adjust to avoid groundings.

boonie 05-03-22 01:37 PM

this is weird. on my current patrol (AN81), i was loitering very close to AN73 to poach the cargo ship entering/exiting the english channel. made a few kills. at about 5am one morning detected 2 seperate cargo ship, they were all C3 transport ship, both heading to the channel at fast. I am behind them and there is no time to circle around them to setup a firing position so i decided to quickly deck gun them down before they reach the vicinity of the channel guards.


I sunk them both with deck gun but there was no 'She's going down' announcement both time, map does not show the ship sunk icon as well and most importantly, there were no log entry at the kill count page (k). but their wrecks are still there at the bottom of the shallow sea, masts still protruding.. its just weird.

i did not save&exit game and load before this, the game session was in one seating straight from wilhelmshaven to AN81 without any exit + loading.

:06:

propbeanie 05-03-22 02:02 PM

If you are seeing the ships' masts still boonie, the possibility exists that the ships are not completely destroyed
https://64.media.tumblr.com/491d3c08...0eyo4_400.gifv
While it is showing sunk, it does not reach "crush" depth and "kill" it for recording purposes...
https://64.media.tumblr.com/1528ef94...3ve5h_500.gifv

Mad Mardigan 05-03-22 02:07 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by boonie (Post 2806890)
this is weird. on my current patrol (AN81), i was loitering very close to AN73 to poach the cargo ship entering/exiting the english channel. made a few kills. at about 5am one morning detected 2 seperate cargo ship, they were all C3 transport ship, both heading to the channel at fast. I am behind them and there is no time to circle around them to setup a firing position so i decided to quickly deck gun them down before they reach the vicinity of the channel guards.


I sunk them both with deck gun but there was no 'She's going down' announcement both time, map does not show the ship sunk icon as well and most importantly, there were no log entry at the kill count page (k). but their wrecks are still there at the bottom of the shallow sea, masts still protruding.. its just weird.

i did not save&exit game and load before this, the game session was in one seating straight from wilhelmshaven to AN81 without any exit + loading.

:06:

Hmmm...

Think I seem to recall, is part of the coding, that some ships, will not be considered sunk til they hit a certain... marker to be recognized as being 'destroyed' to then be registered as being sunk, in your log book... & thereby, be registered as to being tagged on the map, as 'sunk'.

Something to do with... iirc, being below a certain... depth... if I have that rightly.

This is prevalent in SH3, 4... &... I, believe, is also in 5... as well.

Just, as funky... as running across a target, sinking it... getting a bit aways from the deed... & then either, run into the exact same ship... that you just sunk... sort of like a dead zombie copy... that, if you sink it.. will then, NOT register on your log book despite the fact of a sunk ship icon showing on the nav map. Which, can also happen if you get a ways away from a target, save... exit & come back to the game later on & therein, run into that same rom com dead zombie ship... with the same results.. sunk ship icon if you sink 'em, but... no tonnage or having sunk it, registering in your log book.


This, of course... is to do with 4, no idea if that can also occur in 3, much less in 5...:hmmm: :hmmm: :hmmm:

Just know that I have NOT run into it, but... that does not mean, that it CAN'T occur... no idea, either way. *shrug*

Strange, but... sadly... true.

been there, done that... :yep: :shucks:




:Kaleun_Salute:


M. M.

boonie 05-03-22 07:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan (Post 2806900)
Hmmm...

Think I seem to recall, is part of the coding, that some ships, will not be considered sunk til they hit a certain... marker to be recognized as being 'destroyed' to then be registered as being sunk, in your log book... & thereby, be registered as to being tagged on the map, as 'sunk'.

M. M.


well one of the ship broke in half as i was shelling it non stop since there's no "She's going down" notification.. should be registered as 'dead enough' hahaha.


but yeah it does look like the monty pyton reference, in an aquatic ceremonial way. lol

boonie 05-06-22 09:11 AM

continuing on the 2 weird c3 kills:


- i think it actually might be the 2 c3 i killed earlier on, i kept patrolling around the vicinity, like kind of never exceeding 60km away from the sinking spots so the wreck never really despawns so maybe the pc went wonky after i did some time compression and it got back up and started on its merry way again therefore when i sink it again it was not counted and no 'she's going down' confirmation. :hmmm:



- how far away do i have to go before a wreck actually despawn?

jorca2 05-16-22 06:14 PM

I've tried the mod and it's spectacular. There are no bugs and it works great.
I have only observed that tools such as the ruler, the protractor, the compass... do not face north and it is uncomfortable for me to do target tracking calculations.
Also the disk of two spheres that is in the upper part of the navigation map when I go to use it I have seen that one of its spheres does not rotate, which is not useful to me at all. I have already reported all this on the discord channel, I am telling it here to see if anyone uses a mod that solves this problem. Thanks for this cool mod!!

boonie 05-17-22 12:04 AM

question:


-on my last patrol (patrol 9, april'40), met a french freighter, it has lights shinning on its flag (neutral?) but on my nav map french cities are red. can i attack it? i remember reading one radio message stating all french merchant ships are to be left alone except french military boat. so it that a legit target or not?

Cattro 05-18-22 04:52 AM

Ships not spawning?
 
Weird one, I'm on Onealex 1.52, but no ships seem to be spawning in. I haven't seen a single other boat or plane in any port, friendly, or in the ocean. Feels empty. I've followed the installation to the letter and done as I normally would - anyone else had this issue crop up? 1.46 was working fine for me. :ping:

blackswan40 05-18-22 06:10 AM

Hi Cattro A warm welcome to Subsim Salute Sir sounds like a corupted install have you run the SCR Sripted Leyer and RND Random leyer through the mission editor to see ships and convoys spawning

check this have you ticked no map contacts updates on difficulty settings just a thought

post a screenie of your mod list in Jsgme and order they are actived then the Mod Gurus have something to go on you could try disabling other mods just have the OneAlex mod active if all is fine add other mods individualy to find the culprit thats causing the issue.

Cattro 05-18-22 07:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blackswan40 (Post 2809162)
Hi Cattro A warm welcome to Subsim Salute Sir sounds like a corupted install have you run the SCR Sripted Leyer and RND Random leyer through the mission editor to see ships and convoys spawning

check this have you ticked no map contacts updates on difficulty settings just a thought

post a screenie of your mod list in Jsgme and order they are actived then the Mod Gurus have something to go on you could try disabling other mods just have the OneAlex mod active if all is fine add other mods individualy to find the culprit thats causing the issue.

Hello Blackswan, Thanks for a quick reply I'll give it all a go. Cheers

jorca2 05-18-22 01:52 PM

in august 1939 we are not only supposed to be at war only against poland? I say this because I receive messages from headquarters ordering me to attack and sink ships. I understand that the first missions are patrols in the ordered quadrants.

kyle9154 06-24-22 03:53 PM

Feel free to join Onealex and the rest of the community that plays his mod on his discord :Kaleun_Thumbs_Up:

:Kaleun_Wink:https://discord.gg/bKCdQekE4W

Sangamon Taylor 07-15-22 12:21 PM

Weather limitations on use of the snorkel
 
Are there any modeled in this mod?

Sangamon Taylor 08-04-22 04:31 PM

April 11, 1945, 07:20 - Game crashes every time.
 
The game has been stable for the entire war. I've managed to survive into 1945. I'm trying to get back to Trondheim from Grid AK before the war ends. When the game gets to this date and time (April 11, 1945, 07:20) it crashes, every time, no matter what I do. Is this a known bug?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2023 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.