SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   Tanksim.com (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=203)
-   -   T34 vs Tiger- Kursk 1943 coming soon! (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=158301)

frinik 04-05-10 12:34 PM

Welcome
 
Blue Max you can send ZeeWolf directlya private message on this forum (if you`re a member) to get a quote and terms of membership and purchasing the Kursk mod.Alternately check his website www.tanksimzw.com

WElcome on board!

ZeeWolf 04-05-10 12:42 PM

Good Day Kameraden!
Your testing and suggestions will be more than considered. There are 90
152mm ML20s and < half that on the German side I can reduce the ML20s
and reposition some of the SS artillery batteries to Tomarovka as well as
the Anti-Tank Sturm Zug. I had to also refurbish the 120mm morters to
make them easier to hit because the Tigers would stop and fire(over their heads) at them until all the Tigers where hit.
And then making the 20 attacking T34s stationary waiting in ambush.
These are a few of the things I can do to back off from maximum capacity
(Firing) objects and moving tanks and make it playable beyond the a point of enjoyment.
Although we are getting a good picture of what is necessary to play the new
Kursk missions and the parameters in which I can adhere to so the beta testing can be minimized for future missions. And that would be a good
thing.

Well done Kameraden!:salute:

ZW

Tigers attacking Village C.

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k..._Village_C.jpg

LcSummers 04-05-10 12:45 PM

[QUOTE=frinik;1348187]Hauptstuermfuehrer Summers I understand your dedication to National Socialist Aryan aesthetic ideals unspoiled by Bolschewick-Asiatic degenarate concepts as extolled and guided by our Fuehrer´s sure hand but sometimes it is necessary to restrain your natural Nordic passion for nature and turn off some it beauty to be able to extirpate the Bolschewick Marxists from those areas of our Lebensraum which they undeservedly occupy.In other words you can lower your games settings like tree or forest animation, amount of grass and water etc by one third and still retain a fairly pleasing graphic qualilty to your game.Anyway try and see the resulsts in terms of fps and if you can bear the slightly lower quality of the images than it will be worth it.Also disable your antivirus before playin g the game it helps increasing the fps.


Hello frinic,

thats what i did, everything was set to minimum except

model and texture detail. Antivir was also deactivated.

Is it possible that i should alter graphic settings of my GC (global settings) inmy Nvidia settings.

But playing Rise of Flight at maximum in everything no stutter.

Thank you other options?

LC

LcSummers 04-05-10 12:54 PM

[QUOTE=ZeeWolf;1348340]Good Day Kameraden!
Your testing and suggestions will be more than considered. There are 90
152mm ML20s and < half that on the German side I can reduce the ML20s
and reposition some of the SS artillery batteries to Tomarovka as well as
the Anti-Tank Sturm Zug. I had to also refurbish the 120mm morters to
make them easier to hit because the Tigers would stop and fire(over their heads) at them until all the Tigers where hit.
And then making the 20 attacking T34s stationary waiting in ambush.
These are a few of the things I can do to back off from maximum capacity
(Firing) objects and moving tanks and make it playable beyond the a point of enjoyment.
Although we are getting a good picture of what is necessary to play the new
Kursk missions and the parameters in which I can adhere to so the beta testing can be minimized for future missions. And that would be a good
thing.

Hello ZW

ZW arriving at the end of the forrest where the whole russian army waited for us (your picture) i had something strange.

There were a lot of t-34 in a couple at the frontline or it was more like an anthill. I hope you understand what i mean. They (tanks) were crawling on each other it was very hard to hit them and to make a difference which was hit and which was intakt.

LC

eddie 04-05-10 01:09 PM

Lc, what settings we use is going to be determined by our individual PC's. Before I got my new one, my older machine would not even run TvT. I had upgraded it as best I could on my budget, but you can only go so far. It took me a long time to save up for a new one, but it was worth it. Only working a part time job made it all the harder.

But, for my setting, AA and anisotropic are at x8, I run the sim at 1024X768, refresh at 75. All details are at a high setting, stutters are now at a minimum. I'm using Win 7, so I can use more ram then XP will allow, at 4 GB. Could not have come close to these settings on my old machine.

ZW, I have seen my mistake when running this mission. But, really wanted to see how far I could get into it, it froze on me the first time I ran it.

I was heading for the toughest part of the Russian defensive lines, should stay east of that, keeping the tree line between me and them. Should go farther north too, the village is in that direction. But, there is the other Russian hornets nest waiting for us there too, so going to be rough no matter which way we go.

Had noticed during the intial assault, that I was moving at a pretty good speed across open ground, when all of a sudden the tank would come to a halt, like I had hit a landmine, but there was no explosion. After a moment, I could proceed again. Happened twice, but not sure of exact location, simply because there are not a lot of landmarks on the Russian steppes,lol Don't know if it was the lay of the land, or if a problem with a map seam maybe?

ZeeWolf 04-05-10 02:23 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by eddie (Post 1348364)

Had noticed during the intial assault, that I was moving at a pretty good speed across open ground, when all of a sudden the tank would come to a halt, like I had hit a landmine, but there was no explosion. After a moment, I could proceed again. Happened twice, but not sure of exact location, simply because there are not a lot of landmarks on the Russian steppes,lol Don't know if it was the lay of the land, or if a problem with a map seam maybe?

Yes eddie I have encountered the exact same anomaly. I think speed and
low FPS causes this. The physics on low fps will not keep up and seams to
drop and loses timing in relation to the surface of the land. But once the frame rate increases seams to eliminate this confusing behavior.
This anomaly will appear when the fps is low and just starting out from
complete stop. Again same cause low Frame rate.

And don't worry you guys I will make sure that TvT will run on your computers and not just focus on the monster PCs - yet :DL

I think a minimum requirement is stating to reveal itself and I think the
best thing is to focus on a CPU power of 3.0Ghz. That way the FSP
will have two directions: up from there and down from there.
And that CPU minimum is needed information for those who are setting
on the fence in apprehension.

Vor! :salute:

ZW

eddie 04-05-10 03:14 PM

I don't believe it had anything to do with the game freezing ZW, the reason I think that is because I had the driver position on auto. When the tank stopped, he would downshift into first gear to get going again, then proceed to go faster as I gave the order to. I'm not sure if that's what you mean?

Onkel Neal 04-05-10 03:35 PM

ZeeWolf, you rock, mate. This forum has not had this much activity in a long time, thanks :rock:

ZeeWolf 04-05-10 06:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Neal Stevens (Post 1348493)
ZeeWolf, you rock, mate. This forum has not had this much activity in a long time, thanks :rock:

Thank you man! :up:

ZeeWolf

ZeeWolf 04-05-10 06:31 PM

[QUOTE=LcSummers;1348352]
Quote:

Originally Posted by ZeeWolf (Post 1348340)
Good Day Kameraden!
Your testing and suggestions will be more than considered. There are 90
152mm ML20s and < half that on the German side I can reduce the ML20s
and reposition some of the SS artillery batteries to Tomarovka as well as
the Anti-Tank Sturm Zug. I had to also refurbish the 120mm morters to
make them easier to hit because the Tigers would stop and fire(over their heads) at them until all the Tigers where hit.
And then making the 20 attacking T34s stationary waiting in ambush.
These are a few of the things I can do to back off from maximum capacity
(Firing) objects and moving tanks and make it playable beyond the a point of enjoyment.
Although we are getting a good picture of what is necessary to play the new
Kursk missions and the parameters in which I can adhere to so the beta testing can be minimized for future missions. And that would be a good
thing.

Hello ZW

ZW arriving at the end of the forrest where the whole russian army waited for us (your picture) i had something strange.

There were a lot of t-34 in a couple at the frontline or it was more like an anthill. I hope you understand what i mean. They (tanks) were crawling on each other it was very hard to hit them and to make a difference which was hit and which was intakt.

LC

Hi LC,
The T34 ant hill was a assault of not finishing their task they where supposed to arrive at that navpoint then go on guard duty in a 800
meter radius. But I think the ant hill effect was because of the low
frame rate, and this caused the physics model to make some short
cuts so-to-speak. The slightest collision would result in tanks flinging
away and immediately trying to return to that navpoint again -crazy.
Although I addressed that, I am changing their behavior to a stationary
one that will wait in ambush. This my help the fps some. I also reduced
the ML20s by about 30% and moved the Hummels , Wespes and AntiTank
Sturm Zug to Tamarovka.

Almost done! :yep:

ZW

frinik 04-05-10 10:58 PM

Nvidia
 
Lc normally it's fairly easy to change the settings of an Nvidia graphic card. All you have to do is right click anywhere on your pc screen and you'll see a window that allows you to modify your gc for performance versus quality and change the resoultion and make individual chnage to advanced settign such as buffering, aliasing, anisitropic settings etc.

At least this is how it is on one of my pcs.

Cheers

ZeeWolf 04-06-10 12:25 AM

Ok (beta testing) Kameraden
I e-mailed out the link for update #3, this has some revisions that I hope
will speed things up a bit. Also the T34 tasks are finished.
I moved the Sturm Zug to the west about two kilometers from you. This
Sturm Zug has the 2 Nashorns,3 Stug-Gs,3 SturmHabitzs and 5 Pz III/L60s
Removed about half of the Heavy Guns with their personnel.
I wanted to mention that it still runs to slow on my (2.6Duo Cpu) computer.
My new HD4770 video card bump up the frame rate to 3-5 fps and I lost
the capability to edit the missions in the editor so that is why this update
took so long. I had to reposition every thing by editing line by line.
Although I have some good news: I bought a new 3.0Ghz CPU back in
December 09 and I finally ordered a new MB, should be here April 7.
The model is a Asus P5Q PRO Turbo and it should work with my 775 pin
CPU. Anyway progress is being made and soon things will get back to normal.
I want alert all members to prepare to download a big file of 367mgs when
the beta testing is done. This new file will replace all the previous ZW
releases and will make the job of further mission addons just under 6mgs
per mission and I think you will like that. Oh, btw it takes 3 hours to
upload that 367mg file to my site. So it has to be right.

Best regards Kameraden and thanks for your patients :salute:

ZW

The Sturm Haubitz

http://i327.photobucket.com/albums/k.../ZW_Habitz.jpg

frinik 04-06-10 01:09 AM

Kursk Light?
 
Thanks for the good news Master Zee but for those of us who cannot currently upgrade neither cpu nor gcu what kind of fps or gameplay can we expect????

Will the download come with your autoinstaller?

Will it be " Kursk Lite" ( for FPS conscious dieting players...)?
How many missions?

Cheers

LcSummers 04-06-10 03:37 AM

New release
 
With the new release i will start from low to high. lets see whats happen.

Frinic i know how to change settings but every new game "rise of flight, Black shark" are doing very well with my settings. So i thought maybe this will have no effect with TvT. So i was wrong but sure i have to make some experience.

So as this is a beta release i have to beginn very slow and consider which changes i make.




Thanks


LC

frinik 04-06-10 04:27 AM

Settings
 
Me too Lc all my games; Steel Fury(3 installs), T72, Panzer Elite( 2 installs), IL2, Need for Speed Carbon/ Undercover/Most Wanted and other games for my children work absolutely fine on my own laptop and on my wife's as well.However TvsT( 2 installs) is the one that seems to put the most strain on the system.Mind you it's working very fluidly on my main laptop even with fps at around 10 to 14 and I wonder how well will it cope with Kursk. But I may have a pleasant surprise.

Cheers

LcSummers 04-06-10 09:56 AM

New release
 
Hello to all,

my first impressions on ZW s new release. With all (i know) again set to maximum, res. 1280*1024 game now is running faster. Lowest fps was 3.1 highest 5.2

I made it until the ant hill (no more anthill but i call it so) and beginn to fireing from distance. FPS 3.1 here but much better than earlier. So with lowering settings fps will go up and sure i will try this too.

ZW PLEASE ONE FAVOUR: CAN YOU MAKE AIMING RETICLE DARKER cause i cant see the meters. (distance to fire.) PLEASE may be that i am blind. THANX. :cool:

My Kameraden are traveling with 14 KM/H Wunderbar. Its only my opinion but we have to make less vehicles, infantry and bunkers to arrive at a solid platform. THIS IS ONLY MY OPINION. I WOULD PREFER IT.
BUT NOW I CAN AIM AND SHOOT THOSE BOLSHEWIKS. COOL i saw some KVs exploding. I like to fire and aiming from distances, here the Tiger shows its advavtage.

Had some trouble with map, dont know why, made a default setting again but it wont let me to scroll right.

After taking the first line there wer only 3 Tigers left, enemy tanks nada. Made an mistake. There was a mortar team, wanted to make a little ride but after falling in that pitch my tank stood still and i had to quit game.

ZW just another question. Why is my gunny destroying those houses? Everywhere infantry inside?

Sorry Eddie i forget to thank you for your help with settings. It took me 8 years to save money and to build up my system. I made everything alone, no need for a new pc only MB; GC, RAM; CPU. The rest was from my old PC. (Tower, sound card, etc)


Frinik for sure i dont want to forget to thank you too, i still need your help too in any aspects.

ZW thank you for your kindness and really fast help. We are moving forward NO BACKWARD.

Thank you guys


LC :rock:

Surprise? frinik do you want to kill my pc? Shoot me from distance with your Jagdtiger?

frinik 04-06-10 10:10 AM

Lower resolution
 
Lc I play my games at 1024 X 768 resolution and the details and pics are quite good. I never play at higher resolutions because they really take a toll on fps.Instead of lowering the settings keep them high but lower your resolution at the value I indicated and see if you are satisfied re fps and quality of images.Always happy to help you in any way Zug Kamerad!

Personally I would like to keep as many vehicles and objects as possible in the game but I will rally to the will of the majority.

Cheers

ZeeWolf 04-06-10 01:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LcSummers (Post 1349370)
Hello to all,

my first impressions on ZW s new release. With all (i know) again set to maximum, res. 1280*1024 game now is running faster. Lowest fps was 3.1 highest 5.2

I made it until the ant hill (no more anthill but i call it so) and beginn to fireing from distance. FPS 3.1 here but much better than earlier. So with lowering settings fps will go up and sure i will try this too.

ZW PLEASE ONE FAVOUR: CAN YOU MAKE AIMING RETICLE DARKER cause i cant see the meters. (distance to fire.) PLEASE may be that i am blind. THANX. :cool:

My Kameraden are traveling with 14 KM/H Wunderbar. Its only my opinion but we have to make less vehicles, infantry and bunkers to arrive at a solid platform. THIS IS ONLY MY OPINION. I WOULD PREFER IT.
BUT NOW I CAN AIM AND SHOOT THOSE BOLSHEWIKS. COOL i saw some KVs exploding. I like to fire and aiming from distances, here the Tiger shows its advavtage.

Had some trouble with map, dont know why, made a default setting again but it wont let me to scroll right.

After taking the first line there wer only 3 Tigers left, enemy tanks nada. Made an mistake. There was a mortar team, wanted to make a little ride but after falling in that pitch my tank stood still and i had to quit game.

ZW just another question. Why is my gunny destroying those houses? Everywhere infantry inside?

Sorry Eddie i forget to thank you for your help with settings. It took me 8 years to save money and to build up my system. I made everything alone, no need for a new pc only MB; GC, RAM; CPU. The rest was from my old PC. (Tower, sound card, etc)


Frinik for sure i dont want to forget to thank you too, i still need your help too in any aspects.

ZW thank you for your kindness and really fast help. We are moving forward NO BACKWARD.

Thank you guys


LC :rock:

Surprise? frinik do you want to kill my pc? Shoot me from distance with your Jagdtiger?

Great job LC, I will have your new AIMING RETICLE today. I agree with
your opinion too. The demand on the cpu at this time is to great and I my
have to resort to a radical removal of movable objects.
As for the Tigers shooting the building I wanted to see if they would destroy anything that has the "ENEMY" affiliation and thanks for reporting
they will.:yep:

So, let us work at this until the frame rate is acceptable, before I release
Kursk from Beta.:up:

I would like to hear from the rest of you guys if you could add you opinions
that would be a result of testing.:ping:

And I too thank frinik for his help and dedication to this project:salute:

Vor Kameraden! :salute:

ZW

LcSummers 04-06-10 01:05 PM

Jawohl
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by frinik (Post 1349382)
Lc I play my games at 1024 X 768 resolution and the details and pics are quite good. I never play at higher resolutions because they really take a toll on fps.Instead of lowering the settings keep them high but lower your resolution at the value I indicated and see if you are satisfied re fps and quality of images.Always happy to help you in any way Zug Kamerad!

Personally I would like to keep as many vehicles and objects as possible in the game but I will rally to the will of the majority.

Cheers


Hi frinik,
Jawohl Herr Untersturmführer Frinik:salute:


You are right, that many vehicles etc should be kept, but ZW pointed out we have to make a solid structre for everyone who plays.


LC

LcSummers 04-06-10 01:14 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ZeeWolf (Post 1349589)
Great job LC, I will have your new AIMING RETICLE today. I agree with
your opinion too. The demand on the cpu at this time is to great and I my
have to resort to a radical removal of movable objects.
As for the Tigers shooting the building I wanted to see if they would destroy anything that has the "ENEMY" affiliation and thanks for reporting
they will.:yep:

So, let us work at this until the frame rate is acceptable, before I release
Kursk from Beta.:up:

I would like to hear from the rest of you guys if you could add you opinions
that would be a result of testing.:ping:

And I too thank frinik for his help and dedication to this project:salute:

Vor Kameraden! :salute:

ZW


Hi ZW

what can i expect more. Nothing. You are answering and debugging everything so fast that it is a dream working with you. Going on with this speed there will be no Beta version in a short time. Then it will be official. GREAT

Thank you very much, waiting for downloading "my reticle" and then putting back resolution as frinick suggested.

We have to take that village and i will Mr ZW and it makes more and more fun to play Kursk


LC :salute:

PS: Frinic just one word, i think i do remember that my GC runs best at 1280*1024 but i will check this out


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2024 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.