SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SHIII Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=195)
-   -   [REL] Unit damage from smoke and/or fires (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=180921)

KptnLt Eric Karle 03-16-2011 05:34 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fish In The Water (Post 1620415)
Great job! It really does add a whole new dimension of realism. Who'd have thought we'd still see new frontiers emerging after all these years? Speaks well of the community and those who devote so many hours to make it better.

Major props for all the hard work and effort! :up:

I agree completely, I just returned to SH3 and these forums after a gap of several years and am amazed and heartened at the level and quality of modding this community is still producing. It really is much appreciated you guys.

clouclou 03-16-2011 07:34 AM

Dear,
I have a problem with v.1, 3. I tested in Naval Academy / Canon. I set fire to a first vessel, then the second shot. Gradually the fps went down, 60 to 2!
I redid the test with v.1, 2, and then everything was normal, the fps did not move.

TheDarkWraith 03-16-2011 09:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by clouclou (Post 1620476)
Dear,
I have a problem with v.1, 3. I tested in Naval Academy / Canon. I set fire to a first vessel, then the second shot. Gradually the fps went down, 60 to 2!
I redid the test with v.1, 2, and then everything was normal, the fps did not move.

Interesting. Can't say I've experienced this. I tested the mod with the Naval Academy's Canon and Flak missions. Never had any problems. I would have to suspect that a mod that you have enabled is causing the problem.
Let's try something: disable all mods except for this fire damage one and repeat the Naval Academy Canon mission. See if you experience the same problem or not.

Rubini 03-16-2011 10:15 AM

Thanks to open the file TWD (it's S3D file friend now)!:up:

And looking at the file I found a small bug: the particle ID generate by the large_fire_damage is the same of the main node, resulting in a looping what is probably causing the problem related in the post above. The others nodes/Ids are ok.

I didn't tested it in game yet (i'm at my office now), but will do later.

TheDarkWraith 03-16-2011 10:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rubini (Post 1620567)
Thanks to open the file TWD (it's S3D file friend now)!:up:

And looking at the file I found a small bug: the particle ID generate by the large_fire_damage is the same of the main node, resulting in a looping what is probably causing the problem related in the post above. The others nodes/Ids are ok.

I didn't tested it in game yet (i'm at my office now), but will do later.

That would definitely cause a loop if so. I'll check the file out and fix if necessary :up:

TheDarkWraith 03-16-2011 10:32 AM

v1.4 released. See post #1 for details.
This fixes the looping bug in the large fire damage that will cause FPS to drop to very low numbers. Thanks to Rubini for pointing this out :up:

clouclou 03-16-2011 11:14 AM

The v1, 4 is much better, no problems fps.
Thank you

TheDarkWraith 03-16-2011 11:21 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by clouclou (Post 1620618)
The v1, 4 is much better, no problems fps.
Thank you

The bright side of the looping bug in v1.3 is that you know the mod is working correctly :yep: So for those who think that fire doesn't cause damage to ships they should be convinced now.

Thank Rubini for pointing out my error in v1.3 :DL

Bakkels 03-16-2011 11:22 AM

Luckily I checked out this thread again; earlier today I installed v1.3, but also the St.Nazaire&Schluess mod. Everything worked fine until I met a convoy, all of a sudden frame rate drops to (litterary) 1 fps.
Now I was thinking it had something to do with the st.nazaire&schlues mdo, but I just remembered, one of the convoys escorts was on fire. So I guess the FPS drop I experienced could have been caused by the destroyer that was on fire and the 'loop' in v1.3?

TheDarkWraith 03-16-2011 11:24 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bakkels (Post 1620625)
Luckily I checked out this thread again; earlier today I installed v1.3, but also the St.Nazaire&Schluess mod. Everything worked fine until I met a convoy, all of a sudden frame rate drops to (litterary) 1 fps.
Now I was thinking it had something to do with the st.nazaire&schlues mdo, but I just remembered, one of the convoys escorts was on fire. So I guess the FPS drop I experienced could have been caused by the destroyer that was on fire and the 'loop' in v1.3?

Most definitely your fps drop was due to the loop bug in v1.3. You will not have that problem anymore with v1.4 :up:

NoGoodLandLubber 03-16-2011 12:00 PM

I'm not sure if anyone else has had this happen; but the other day I lit up a four ship convoy. I took out an A&B class destroyer, a medium cargo ship, a large merchant ablaze and fire just broke out on a passenger / cargo vessel.

I was waiting on the large merchant to sink and was getting ready to finish off the passenger vessel when I got a CTD.

I went back into JSGME and removed the damage from fires mod and it worked OK after that. I haven't downloaded v1.4 yet. All I'm running are GWX, Torpedo damage final v2.0, life boats and debris, and damage caused by fires v1.2.

:salute:

Rubini 03-16-2011 12:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoGoodLandLubber (Post 1620653)
I'm not sure if anyone else has had this happen; but the other day I lit up a four ship convoy. I took out an A&B class destroyer, a medium cargo ship, a large merchant ablaze and fire just broke out on a passenger / cargo vessel.

I was waiting on the large merchant to sink and was getting ready to finish off the passenger vessel when I got a CTD.

I went back into JSGME and removed the damage from fires mod and it worked OK after that. I haven't downloaded v1.4 yet. All I'm running are GWX, Torpedo damage final v2.0, life boats and debris, and damage caused by fires v1.2.

:salute:

Some ships in Sh3 have problems (CTD frequentelly) when breaking in two parts, what happens when a catastrophic destructions occurs.

The damaged by fire mod allows total destruction a bit more frequently by the constant hit by fire.

But note: this isn't a mod problem neither a original sh3 ships problem. This is present only in third part ships. I already made a comment here about this problem asking the modders ship builders to test this feature(break in two parts) on their ships...

TheDarkWraith 03-16-2011 12:43 PM

the mod is not the cause of the CTDs. I merely hook the fire events for the ships and airplanes and then do a little magic to make them take damage from fire over time. I think the CTD you experienced is from what Rubini posted above :yep:

NoGoodLandLubber 03-16-2011 01:03 PM

I wasn't sure if it was or not. Figured it wouldn't hurt to ask.

Great job on the mod, BTW. I'd always assumed that since a ship was on fire that it would still be sustaining damage, since in theory damage was being done by the fire/flooding.

Carry on! :salute:

Rubini 03-16-2011 01:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by NoGoodLandLubber (Post 1620682)
I wasn't sure if it was or not. Figured it wouldn't hurt to ask.

Great job on the mod, BTW. I'd always assumed that since a ship was on fire that it would still be sustaining damage, since in theory damage was being done by the fire/flooding.

Carry on! :salute:

Sorry to hijack your thread again TDW.:DL

@NoGoodLandLubber
Is always good to ask!
This ctds related to third part ships are in truth a BIG problem as it can ruin your campaign/patrol/savegames and all we have them on ours Sh3 installations. Recentelly (well,the last time that I played Sh3 seriously) I became so hungry with this problem, that I take out almost all of third part ships apart and then finished my campaign without CTDs. It's a pity because new ships are a great addition to the game. And the problem is normally easy to solve by the ship modder builder. Just need attention to details and a good builder routine.

Another possibility is to edit the zones.cfg and erase all posilibilities of catastrophic destructions but you will lose this eye candy feature and others potential problems with third part ships will stay anyway.:damn:

LGN1 03-16-2011 03:32 PM

Great work, TDW. Thanks a lot for the new version!

@Rubini:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rubini (Post 1619085)

And the most good news: also that old wanted mod - depth charges making noise allowing you to escape (bold like effect) - seems to work ok too using the same TDW's mod approach. It need more tests and this is my problem now - free time. I will post more info as the mod goes ahead.

Kudos to TWD!:up:

Are you still working on this? I guess you do it via spawning small bolds when depth-charges explode :06: If yes, do you know whether Bolds affect hydrophones or only ASDIC?

Cheers, LGN1

Rubini 03-16-2011 04:11 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by LGN1 (Post 1620748)
Great work, TDW. Thanks a lot for the new version!

@Rubini:


Are you still working on this? I guess you do it via spawning small bolds when depth-charges explode :06: If yes, do you know whether Bolds affect hydrophones or only ASDIC?

Cheers, LGN1

Hi LGN1,

(excuse me for hijack the thread again TDW...well, at least the below exposed have something in common with your mod idea:DL)


The addition of bolds just replacing the virtual DC as they are on the TDW mod didn't work in the end. At first I thougth that it worked (is difficult to test, the fake bold "noise" effect is a bit subjective issue).

I added a bold object/effect to a real DC under water explosion effect (the same idea on the TDW fire damage mod - he added a virtual DC to a know effect - the fire) but it gives CTD. Later I understood why/the sutil difference: Sh3 manage differentely objects that are made for player use (torpedos and bolds are good example) in contrast with others objects like bombs, DC, etc.

In others words, a full working virtual torpedo or a full working virtual bold are both yet impossible to we handle without SDK.

So, no dice with DC making noise/disturbance until now!:damn:

(Hopes that you understand me, my english is worst than ever):DL

TheDarkWraith 03-16-2011 04:51 PM

What are you trying to do with the DC? Have it make noise? I don't understand :06: Nothing is impossible, you just have to be more creative about how to implement it.

It appears you all are wanting the DCs to make noise as they are falling. This should be really easy to do. The DC needs to have a sound source attached to it with the hydro effect (I believe in SH3 it was hyd). You could probably even attach a sonar target to it so the sonarman could detect it in water. Ok, now I'll have to try this and see if it works since it's easy enough to make in a few minutes.

EDIT:

ok successfully added sound to the DCs. Now, what sound do you want the DCs to have? I need a sound file (wav) for it. Currently I'm using the torpedo sound but I need a real sound for the DCs. Works in game (you can hear the sound from the DCs in external cam and also from the hydrophone station) :yeah:

Think we should add sound to the decoys also fired by the sub. Need a sound file (wav) for it also. I'm going to go ahead and add the necessary controllers to the bolds so they can have sound also.

Rubini 03-16-2011 08:06 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith (Post 1620803)
What are you trying to do with the DC? Have it make noise? I don't understand :06: Nothing is impossible, you just have to be more creative about how to implement it.

It appears you all are wanting the DCs to make noise as they are falling. This should be really easy to do. The DC needs to have a sound source attached to it with the hydro effect (I believe in SH3 it was hyd). You could probably even attach a sonar target to it so the sonarman could detect it in water. Ok, now I'll have to try this and see if it works since it's easy enough to make in a few minutes.

EDIT:

ok successfully added sound to the DCs. Now, what sound do you want the DCs to have? I need a sound file (wav) for it. Currently I'm using the torpedo sound but I need a real sound for the DCs. Works in game (you can hear the sound from the DCs in external cam and also from the hydrophone station) :yeah:

Think we should add sound to the decoys also fired by the sub. Need a sound file (wav) for it also. I'm going to go ahead and add the necessary controllers to the bolds so they can have sound also.

Hi TDW,

Thanks to think about this but isnīt about sound that we are talking. Just a minute, I will look at a link to post here then you will understand better the matter.

Rubini 03-16-2011 08:15 PM

Ok, here:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...ighlight=depth

Itīs about to make the DDs a bit blind after a DC explode. A disturbance for the ASDIC and hidrophones, as in real life, to add to the game uncertanty and real tatics.

Itīs an old mod idea, an old wish by the players, that never was achieved by any mod or modder. A lot of approachs already was tried, neither had success. The better idea was to add a "Bold disturbance effect" to the DC explosion, this way blinding a bit the DDs.

When I saw your mod implementation idea (damage by fire) I pick up again some hope but as i said above seems that the problem is that bold (and also torpedos), wich are fired by the player, are handle in a different way by the game engine and donīt full work when we try to use them on mods.

Any idea?:hmmm:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright Đ 1995- 2020 Subsim