SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SHIII Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=195)
-   -   [REL] Conus' SH3GWX Widescreen Mod (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=170191)

conus00 05-26-2010 12:35 PM

[REL] Conus' SH3GWX Widescreen Mod
 
SH3GWXWS 3.2

First of all let me point out a few facts:
The mod itself which allows the game to run in wide screen is NOT my idea. The ddl and config files were created by Rubini and Seeadler. I just built on their idea and buit complete wide screen interface with a few improvements of my own and some files from other modders. Thank you for developing it and allowing me build on it! :salute:

Secondly, I started this project for my personal use and didn't really intend to release it but with amounting time I've spent developing it I thought that I might share the result with the community. Because I started this project on my already modded SH3 I couldn't help it but to use graphic elements from other modders.
I would like to thank these following people because I used some of the graphic files or their portions in my mod:
Hitman
JCWolf
Karamazovnew

HanSolo78
Gentlemen,
(a) if you feel like I wronged you by using some of your elements and you would like them removed from the mod please let me know
(b) if used your gaphics but didn't credit you and you don't mind leaving it in the mod, please let me know as well

Lastly this mod includes (with his permission) Anvarts' GWX_SH4StyleFlag_fullModel with the flag textures replaced by mine to match the rest of the mod.

Ok, this being said, what is actually SH3GWX?

It is an mod which allows you to run SH3GWX in 1360x768 without stretching and distorting any images. Unfortunately there is no way how to make this mod to cover multi-resolutions (for people who run SH3GWX in other resolutions you may still use it but you MAY experience some weird graphic glitches). Also this mod is NOT compatible with any other mod with changes in Cameras.dat and menu_1024_768.ini.
The recent release is ver 3.2 but please note that there are no versions 1.0 - 3.1. The numbering was for my sole purpose of development and I will keep the first release under 3.2 because it will help me in making any changes in the future.

What can you expect in this mod?

-All loading screens and all background screens were resized (but not just stretched) to fit 1360x768
-Ranks and medals were replaced with better resolution ones
-All officers faces are modified stock icons, all petty officers and sailor icons were created from scratch
-The font used in messages screen was adjusted so small caps "j" is no longer being cut off
-All pull-out icons and order icons were completely re-created
-Pull-down flags list was re-created
-Recognition manual flags were replaced
-Small changes in the TDC files, bearing strip
-Binocular, Attack & Observation Periscopes and UZO view was replaced with historically accurate ones
-included my retextured Minnensucher
...multiple other small changes I lost track of.

Here is the D/L link: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?gmwvyzuxkuk

If you have any comments/suggestions/constructive criticism, all are welcome.
Hope you enjoy it.
Cheers, :salute:

-Libor

Few screenies
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/k.../SH3_WS/01.jpg
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/k.../SH3_WS/02.jpg
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/k.../SH3_WS/03.jpg
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/k.../SH3_WS/05.jpg
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/k.../SH3_WS/04.jpg
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/k.../SH3_WS/06.jpg
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/k.../SH3_WS/08.jpg
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/k.../SH3_WS/09.jpg
http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/k.../SH3_WS/10.jpg

conus00 05-26-2010 12:36 PM

Here is first tiny update for people who do not want medals or ranks on crew and want to use my Rank_Deco_ND.tga.
This one removes just medals - No Medals On Crew For SH3GWXWS: D/L http://www.mediafire.com/?ywmh2nm2yiw
This one removes both medals and ranks - No Medals No Ranks On Crew For SH3GWXWS: D/L http://www.mediafire.com/?gewjo3gjmtc

Gentlemen as of today my computer is boxed up and loaded on United VanLines semi along with my other stuff to be moved to Florida. I am stuck back in Ohio, tying some loose ends and don't expect to leave here for week or so.

I still have (albeit very limited) access to the internet but any file changes will have to wait until it is delivered to Tampa. I will still try to answer as many questions as you might have as possible.

reaper7 05-26-2010 01:03 PM

Conus00, what can I say. Brilliant stuff, I'm tempted to turn of my internet (DRM can go ta hell - SH5) and just go play this instead.
Will see some hours put into playing this with GWX. Now all thats needed is Hitman to bring out his optics mod for this :yeah:

And don't forget to take a well deserved rest.

Edit: Sorry noticed that his optics are already included.
Does it aslo contain the RAOBF?

conus00 05-26-2010 01:53 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by reaper7 (Post 1403800)
Conus00, what can I say. Brilliant stuff, I'm tempted to turn of my internet (DRM can go ta hell - SH5) and just go play this instead.
Will see some hours put into playing this with GWX. Now all thats needed is Hitman to bring out his optics mod for this :yeah:

And don't forget to take a well deserved rest.

Edit: Sorry noticed that his optics are already included.
Does it aslo contain the RAOBF?

Unfortunately the mod does not contain Hitman's Optics only some graphic elements of it. Same goes for RAOBF.
I am not THAT skilled modifying menu_1024_768.ini. :oops:

Magic1111 05-26-2010 02:17 PM

Hi conos00 !

Wonderful MOD, many thanks !!! :up:

But Ive one question and a big wish: Is it possible to become the Rank_Deco_ND.tga, which comes with your MOD, without medals ?

Best regards,
Magic

Anvart 05-26-2010 02:52 PM

:up::up::up:

reaper7 05-26-2010 03:01 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by conus00 (Post 1403832)
Unfortunately the mod does not contain Hitman's Optics only some graphic elements of it. Same goes for RAOBF.
I am not THAT skilled modifying menu_1024_768.ini. :oops:

Ok, maybe I'll attempt it down the road after my other project. :up:

nemo7 05-26-2010 03:07 PM

Ahoy mate. I'd love to use this great mod but I'm getting the error message "can not initialize 3D engine". Loading via JSGME on a fresh GWX3.0, monitor res 1366x768. Any ideas?

Seeadler 05-26-2010 03:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by nemo7 (Post 1403893)
Ahoy mate. I'd love to use this great mod but I'm getting the error message "can not initialize 3D engine".

if you use a NVIDIA card, see here
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/show...7&postcount=10

KING111 05-26-2010 04:12 PM

thanks m8 great work its working ok on my 28 inch
with a nvidia card at 1600x1200
i would like to get it up to 1920x1200
but if i try and run the game at that
it crashes saying the game 3D engine well not run?
the crash is nothing to do with your mod
it all ways does it even if i have no mods on

nemo7 05-26-2010 05:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Seeadler (Post 1403941)

I'm on my laptop matey; Mobile Intel 4500MHD.

nemo7 05-26-2010 06:18 PM

Found it. Just correct the res values in the d3d9.ini file from 1360x768 to 1366x768.
Great job matey!:yeah:

Herr-Berbunch 05-26-2010 06:49 PM

Sterling work
 
Tip top Conus, all I need now is my new 22" widescreen monitor and it's a big thumbs up.:yeah:

iblitz 05-26-2010 08:22 PM

Great job! Just finished editing to get it working with FM's Interior and the Super Turm mod.....

Turd Ferguson 05-27-2010 07:20 AM

Fantastic job. Thanks very much!

G.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:29 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2020 Subsim