SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   Helosim.com and Flight Sims (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=216)
-   -   DCS Flight Nights (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=182296)

Arclight 08-05-11 11:10 AM

A-10C up for an hour, maybe 2. Need to figure some things out with regard to delivering Mk-82AIR as a slick and CDU offset waypoints.

Arclight 08-05-11 01:29 PM

*tries aerial refueling*

http://www.thebuzzmedia.com/wp-conte...-epic-fail.jpg

*fires Sidewinder*

http://media.ebaumsworld.com/picture/Purler/FAIL.png

*second missile fails as well*

http://images.wikia.com/4chan/images...RUSTRATION.gif

*BRAAAAAAAAAP*

http://i268.photobucket.com/albums/j...805_195944.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=30dXrUm3o6g

Arclight 08-08-11 05:51 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Herr-Berbunch (Post 1721242)
Thanks for that, always learning! :up:

Same here; turns out that in .9 you can't clear a hung JDAM anymore. Ditch it or bring it home, but you won't be releasing it that flight.

And yes, that's more realistic. No way to do it in the real thing.

hawk2495 08-08-11 11:33 AM

I'm surprised I haven't seen a whole lot of whining about that in the ED forums yet. So many people want such realistic sim, but when the devs bring it to the point of being almost real, i.e. random system failures, bird strikes, all they do is complain. I actually like all of that stuff. It makes me work harder as a "pilot" which is what I enjoy. I tried it in game mode once... For about two minutes..... Back to sim mode it was...lol

hawk2495 08-08-11 11:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Arclight (Post 1721121)
I'll say. :shifty:

Can't hit a bloody thing with those. Think I'll just set them up as slicks from now on.

I'm the same way. I just abandoned AIRs and went slicks.. Wow what a difference.. I can actually what my CCIP pipper is aimed at...lol

By the way Arc, I think you can kiss your retirement and every paycheck good bye because of that KC-135. In fact the next four generations will probably be paying on it...lol

Arclight 08-08-11 11:46 AM

Think all I did was look at it once in BS. Saw the HUD, with the radar and all, canceled right out. Don't think I even unpaused it. :haha:


That wasn't the first Stratotanker that suffered that fate... I just can't do it. All smooth on the aproach, inching closer. But once I'm almost in contact I just lose my reference or something, can't keep it there. Think matching his speed is tripping me up the most.

hawk2495 08-08-11 05:23 PM

Yeah that is the hardest part. You really get to see how much of a difference 1-2 knots make. I think my record for contact was about 6 seconds. Got about 200 lbs of fuel out of it though :DL

Oberon 08-08-11 05:25 PM

http://img546.imageshack.us/img546/5...nshot005wk.jpg
Raptor redecorates the airfield

http://img143.imageshack.us/img143/5...nshot007fi.jpg
*kicks TV screen*

http://img856.imageshack.us/img856/4...enshot008y.jpg
Successful landing!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/735...nshot009hl.jpg
This is what happens when you try to check the map whilst flying...

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/950...nshot010ny.jpg
Great Success!

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/8...nshot011qj.jpg
Patriotic duty completed! At least the door still works...

http://img534.imageshack.us/img534/8...nshot012rr.jpg
Raptor lands at the Kuznetsov

Oberon 08-08-11 05:29 PM

http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/4...nshot014nr.jpg
Raptor attacks the Kuznetsov

http://img543.imageshack.us/img543/9...nshot015bm.jpg
Boom!

http://img855.imageshack.us/img855/4...nshot016iu.jpg
Hmmm...*kicks system*

http://img839.imageshack.us/img839/9...nshot017jh.jpg
Yeah!

http://img402.imageshack.us/img402/7...nshot018zf.jpg
Erm...D'oh!!

http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/435...nshot019lh.jpg
Dos vidaniya Kuznecow!

hawk2495 08-08-11 05:30 PM

I like how it said RED PLAYER "Oberon" landed at Sachi-Adler.. It looked more like RED PLAYER Oberon "landed" at Sachi-Adler.. Just sayin....lol

Oberon 08-08-11 05:32 PM

I'd have said Red Player Oberon "landed" IN Sachi-Adler myself... :haha:

Herr-Berbunch 08-08-11 11:52 PM

I feel your Sochi-pain but at least you appear to have worked out your wpns!

Oberon 08-09-11 07:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Herr-Berbunch (Post 1723890)
I feel your Sochi-pain but at least you appear to have worked out your wpns!

Ironically that was what I was having the most problems with last night, trying to get the damn things to fire, the standard dumb rockets...I guess the Russian version of the Hydra, I can fire just fine...but the guided missiles just didn't want to go. :damn: Will have to practice later at dialing these things up whilst hovering...I need an extra pair of arms... :yep:

Herr-Berbunch 08-09-11 08:29 AM

I can't hover, well I can - manually, but auto-hover just tips me up or spins me out even with little or no directional speed. And then in manual hover I try for an external view and *oops* R/Ctrl+R/Shift+Tab :D:nope:.

Last week all I could fire was a flare! Then laying in bed later it hit me, Master Arm switch you dumbf:damn:, I'd been so preoccupied with manual low flying that on my rare foray into the buttons I'd done all correctly apart from the one major one that stares you in the face!

I don't even know what wpns I'm choosing half the time (more than!), common sense dictates that ATGMblahblah is Anti-Tank Guided Missile, but the rest...? :nope:

Anyhoo, you seem to be nowhere near my crash rate - well done :yeah: (or it's just selective screenshots?)

FYI this is just an hour or so flying around the airfield -

http://img842.imageshack.us/img842/7...hot036edit.jpg

Arclight 08-09-11 08:43 AM

Thing to note is that most Russian aircraft have a system where you need authorization to fire. The Vikhrs for example won't fire unless the range is between 7.2 and 1.5 (iirc) km, and the targeting reticle (large circle to indicate where missile is looking) is overlaid over the Shkval reticle (small circle indicating where Shkval is looking).

The Vikhr has amazing accuracy, but absolutely no tolerance for less-than-ideal launch conditions (it's a beam-rider, proper alignment is critical). The launcher will take care of the pitch, but you need to turn the whole helo on target to line up the shot.

A 'C' will appear on the Shkval display, and I think in the HUD to indicate launch authority. You can override it and get a more American "fire whenever you damn well please" system. Switch is on the center panel, 2 or 3 rows below the master arm.

Also, take note of any countdowns in the HUD (left side). These relate to the laser and are best adhered to (ie. let it count down to 0), or you risk busting the laser after a while of misuse. It needs about 8-9secs of cool-down after ranging and another countdown happens when the laser is guiding (ie. Vikhr launched).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.