SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SHIII Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=195)
-   -   LIVING SILENT HUNTER 3 - EDITION 2020 Discussion and Support (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=247796)

Drakken 12-24-20 12:22 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John Pancoast (Post 2715881)
Set your d3d.ini to 1366x768 and try it. Your monitor/card may not support 1360.

It worked!! Thanks! :)

John Pancoast 12-24-20 12:29 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Drakken (Post 2715885)
It worked!! Thanks! :)

:up:

ryoga_77 12-24-20 03:41 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Thanks for all your work.

I am having trouble installing LSH3-2020. I have tried installing on a stock copy of SH3 I keep without success.

I then proceed to re-install SH3 (2005 Disc version) in a new location and patched it up, with no success.

I am attaching a screenshot of the installer message.

May I have your thoughts as to what I'm doing wrong?

Best wishes for a very merry Christmas.

Regards:Kaleun_Cheers:

Arnd Stuke 12-24-20 04:24 AM

The Final Attack
 
https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/pic...ictureid=11691

hermart 12-24-20 06:07 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by John Pancoast (Post 2715881)
Set your d3d.ini to 1366x768 and try it. Your monitor/card may not support 1360.

I'm having the same problem here but can't seem to find the d3d.ini file, where should I be looking?
Thanks!

John Pancoast 12-24-20 06:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by hermart (Post 2715910)
I'm having the same problem here but can't seem to find the d3d.ini file, where should I be looking?
Thanks!

In your game's main install directory.

John Pancoast 12-24-20 06:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ryoga_77 (Post 2715894)
Thanks for all your work.

I am having trouble installing LSH3-2020. I have tried installing on a stock copy of SH3 I keep without success.

I then proceed to re-install SH3 (2005 Disc version) in a new location and patched it up, with no success.

I am attaching a screenshot of the installer message.

May I have your thoughts as to what I'm doing wrong?

Best wishes for a very merry Christmas.

Regards:Kaleun_Cheers:

What is your install path ? if it is something like programfiles/ubisoft/silenthunter3 that is the problem. Make a folder outside of that path and install the game there.
I.e., C:\SH3
Also, are you saying you can't get the game even patched with the 1.4b patch ?

ryoga_77 12-24-20 06:39 AM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by John Pancoast (Post 2715913)
What is your install path ? if it is something like programfiles/ubisoft/silenthunter3 that is the problem. Make a folder outside of that path and install the game there.
I.e., C:\SH3

My os is Win 10.
My install path is D:\LSH3-2020.

I have tried to run the SH3 installation but I get a msg stating that SH3 is not compatible with Win10.

John Pancoast 12-24-20 07:00 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ryoga_77 (Post 2715925)
My os is Win 10.
My install path is D:\LSH3-2020.

I have tried to run the SH3 installation but I get a msg stating that SH3 is not compatible with Win10.

Looks like the star force message. Do a search how to remove it and also how to run SH3 on Windows 10.

Mad Mardigan 12-24-20 07:09 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by ryoga_77 (Post 2715925)
My os is Win 10.
My install path is D:\LSH3-2020.

I have tried to run the SH3 installation but I get a msg stating that SH3 is not compatible with Win10.

Just out of curiousity... your plain, unmodded install of SH3... how do you have the folder for that install you did off the disk.?

It should be named SilentHunterIII or SilentHunter3 or SH3...

As John, said... make sure that folder is NOT in either \Program files

Or \Program files (x86)

When you run the installer for LSH3-2020, it will have you point it at your 'unmodded' plain jane install of SH3.... aptly named as I mentioned above.

(If I am NOT mistaken, it will then do the following...)

It will then copy those files from there, add in the needed files for LSH3, patch as needed, then drop it where you tell it to do so.

I told it at that point, to drop LSH3-2020, into C:\Games\SH3

&.. it did so.

Hope this info helps...

M. M.

:Kaleun_Salute:

Edit:

Just took a look at that snap shot you posted... that is a whole different ball game.

Do that search John mentioned of, about a work around for that protection... or google search 'theberbster subsim' (without the ' ' comma marks) they have a lot of info on SH3 & iirc, a tutorial about starforce removal, I think it was...

either that, or go to Ubi & grab a fresh downloadable copy of SH3... & follow what I mentioned above to do...

M. M.

Re-edit:

forget searching, here is there main page, just click the link for 'LSH3-2015', then scroll through the list of tutorials he has hot listed there & find the one/s, on starforce...

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/member.php?u=303079

blueduck 12-24-20 08:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mad Mardigan (Post 2715865)
Have to say, I too, after getting though installing... ran into this, as well...

1st time, clicking on the scope, in the turm, no issue... it was the 2nd time of doing so... I ran into what is shown in the snap shot provided by Kal Maximus...

M. M.

:Kaleun_Salute:

Hi mates,

will have a look at this during these days.

Regards
Blueduck

blueduck 12-24-20 08:54 AM

Original installation folder name
 
Hi mates,

please make sure your original SilentHunter3 installation folder is named Silent Hunter 3, SilentHunter3 or SilentHunterIII.
Otherwise the installer will not be able to verify your original installation.

The page before you get to the selection of the original installation folder gives this Information very clearly.
Please read the text in the installer carefully BEFORE you click the mouse button!

See first post of Urmel!

Regards
Blueduck

Urmel 12-24-20 09:59 AM

Hello submarine friends

I miss THEBERBSTER very much, because he could always clear up all problems.

For us as a German speaking team it is very difficult to understand, translate and then answer all posts accurately!

Please excuse our poor English>German>English translation.

Almost all the problems reported above are problems from people who have NOT read the LSH3-2020 manual!

It is definitely necessary to read the LSH3-2020-INSTALLATION manual and to follow all instructions during installation!

Anyone who does NOT do this is describing "errors" here which do not really exist.

Please read the LSH3-2020-INSTALLATION manual and the instructions during the LSH-2020 installation.

If you do everything correctly, everything will work!

Greetings from Urmel and Blueduck :Kaleun_Salute:


Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)

John Pancoast 12-24-20 10:35 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Urmel (Post 2715959)
Hello submarine friends

I miss THEBERBSTER very much, because he could always clear up all problems.

For us as a German speaking team it is very difficult to understand, translate and then answer all posts accurately!

Please excuse our poor English>German>English translation.

Almost all the problems reported above are problems from people who have NOT read the LSH3-2020 manual!

It is definitely necessary to read the LSH3-2020-INSTALLATION manual and to follow all instructions during installation!

Anyone who does NOT do this is describing "errors" here which do not really exist.

Please read the LSH3-2020-INSTALLATION manual and the instructions during the LSH-2020 installation.

If you do everything correctly, everything will work!

Greetings from Urmel and Blueduck :Kaleun_Salute:


Translated with www.DeepL.com/Translator (free version)


The team's English is very good. Congrats on the release and have a Merry Christmas !

blackswan40 12-24-20 11:09 AM

LSH-2020 my Install i made a folder on my desktop called BLK40 copied and pasted a stock version of SH3 then I copied and pasted the LSH2020 download run the LSH2020 Install it asked me where my SH3 installation was then i clicked on the SilentHunterIII Folder it then asked me where i wanted to install it
LSH2020-CAREER it then creates the folder on drive C:/of same name(Not in Programe Files x86)then i made a second one called LSH2020-MULTIPLAYERMISSIONS
and all works well.

To play the Single/Multiplayer Missions you have to copy n paste them from the mod archive folder into your Mods folder then activate them through JSGME.


If your having problems installing with steam or the SH3 Starforce version send me a pm with your real name and postal address and ill get you squared away being one of Onkel Neals Mod Guru's line chiefs its my job to get you sorted and on the high seas


at Subsim the pride runs deep we look after our own Salute :Kaleun_Salute:


https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/pic...ictureid=11701

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/pic...ictureid=11702


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:25 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1995- 2022 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.