![]() |
[TEC] Adding Playable Units
First of all you need to copy the following files (here the Narwhal will be used as a template) :
http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/6339/tutovr.jpg Quote:
keltos |
[QUOTE=peabody;1330657]If you need help, let us know, I'm sure there are several that would be available including myself.
Since you are familiar with some of this I will try a condensed version. Set up a folder to make a MOD with Data folder inside. And I will list the files you need. 1. Find a sub that is similar in number of tubes, guns etc so it will be that much easier to do. I'll use Porpoise, you can follow the directions using any other sub. Create the same folder structure as where the files come from. 2. Data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise....copy the entire folder. 3. Data/Roster/American/Submarine/SSPorpoise.cfg 4, Data/Menu/Data/SubmarineClasses/P_Class_01.dds 5. Data/UPCData/UPCUnitsData/Unitparts2Porpoise.upc 6. Data/Objects/Conning_P_01.dat, .sim, .val, .cam, .zon That should do it for copying files. Now editing: One major thing to remember is the classname must match in each file they are in. Start with Data/Roster/American/Submarine/SSPorpoise.cfg change the filename to SSCachalot.cfg [UnitClass] ClassName=SSCachalot Very Important UnitType=200 200=submarine, leave it AppearanceDate=19350815 change if necessary DisappearanceDate=19451115 DisplayName=US Cachalot Change [Texture 1] TextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalotclass_T01.tga LightmapTextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalot_O01.tga StartDate=19350815 EndDate=19430512 Frequency=1 Change the info in green and continue if there is a second texture, reset dates as needed. Below this is the names used for the subs in that class, you can have one or as many as you want. [Unit 1] Name=USS MYboat DOC=19350815 DOD=19451115 [Unit 2] Name=USS Pike DOC=19351202 DOD=19451115 ************************************************** ******* I have to leave for a while, will complete when I return ************************************************** *** Ok, let's go to the Data/Menu/Data/SubmarineClasses/P_Class_01.dds Change to Cachalot_Class_01.dds Later you can change the actual .dds image. ************************************************** ****** Next: Data/UPCData/UPCUnitsData/Unitparts2Porpoise.upc change to Unitparts8Cachalot.upc You not only have to change the name you also have to change the number to the next number in line. Since the stock game has 7 I am using 8. NOTE: if you have other subs in there and get to high, 1 and 10 will conflict with each other so one sub will not have a tower. Open the Unitparts8Cachalot.upc with notepad: [UnitPart 1] ID=CachalotClassConningEarlyWar Type= CachalotClassConningTower NameDisplayable= Start of war Conning Tower UnitPartInterval=NULL, NULL ExternalLinkName3D= data/objects/Conning_Cachalot_01 HullTextureNameOverride=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalotclass_T01.tga HullLightmapTextureNameOverride=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalotclass_O01.tga HullNormalmapTextureNameOverride= NULL MenuSilhouetteTextureNameOverride= Cachalot_Class_01.tga change the Porpoise and P to Cachalot. Below that will be Compartments, you can rename the compartments ID using Cachalot instead of Porpoise [UnitPart 1.Compartment 1] CompartmentType= 1 StatusActive= Yes ID= CachalotConnWatch This file may contain more than one tower, which the Porpoise does. If your tower will not change then delete the other towers which will be [UnitPart 2] etc. ************************************************** ************* Now Data/Objects/Conning_P_01.dat, .sim, .val, .cam, .zon change filenames as before, replace the P with Cachalot for each file. Now you need S3D. 1. Open the Conning_Cachalot_01.dat 2. Using the button at the top open the .sim, .val, .cam .zon on top of each other. 3. If we don't change the IDs of these entries they could conflict with others so we will remap them. 4. Go to the Menu/Tools/RemapIDs a window opens. 5. Click the "Random" button....only this one time DO NOT CLICK THE RANDOM BUTTON AGAIN. 6. Click OK 7. File SAVE 8. File Close 9. Now the .zon file will close and you are at another window. 10. Select Tools/RemapIDs DO NOT CLICK RANDOM. 11. Click OK 12 File Save 14 File close repeat for each of the windows then close S3D. Remember ONLY CLICK RANDOM ON THE FIRST WINDOW. ************************************************** **************** Now to Data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise Change the folder name. Then go inside and change the filenames. Now since you just did it for the tower, we will do the .dat, .sim, .zon, .val, .cam, .dsd. Notice there is one more here the .dsd. It contains the sounds so you do not need it in the tower also. Open .dat then use the buttons at the top right and open all of them. 1. Tools/RemapIds 2. Click Random 3 Click OK 4. File Save 5. File Close 6. Tools/RemapIDs 7. Do NOT click Random 8. Click OK 9. File Save 10. File close Rinse and Repeat....Remembering to only click random the first time. When you are done, close S3D. Open the NSS_Cachalot.cfg. [Unit] ClassName=SSCachalot 3DModelFileName=data/Submarine/NSS_Cachalot/NSS_Cachalot HumanPlayable=YES Interior=data/Interior/NSS_Porpoise/NSS_Porpoise UnitType=200 MaxSpeed=19 MaxSpeedSubmerged=8 Length=91.7448 Width=7.601 RenownAwarded=130 Do not change the Interior since there is no Cachalot interior. Change any necessary data. As you go down you will find data such as Surface depth and others. Remember that is in there since it will be in the Cachalot.sim file also, so they should match. Save Open the NSS_Cachalot.upc with notepad. [UserPlayerUnit 1] ID=Porpoise NameDisplayable=Porpoise UnitName= USS Porpoise Type=Porpoise UpgradeClass=1 UnitInterval= 1935-08-15, 1945-11-15 ExternalClassName=SSPorpoise Nationality=American CrewRanks=12 Evolution= Normal Damage= 0 TextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise/NSS_Pclass_T01.tga LightmapTextureName=data/Submarine/NSS_Porpoise/NSS_Pclass_O01.tga NormalmapTextureName= NULL MenuSilhouetteTextureName= P_Class_01.tga [UserPlayerUnit 1.UnitPartSlot 1] ID=PorpoiseConningSlot NameDisplayable=Conning Tower Slot Type=NULL AcceptedTypes=PClassConningTower IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault1= NULL, 1942-07-31, PClassConningEarlyWar IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault2= 1942-08-01, 1943-05-31, PClassConningHalfCut IDLinkUnitPartIntervalDefault3= 1943-06-01, NULL, PClassConningLateWar ExternalNodeName3D= Z01 Again change the names of Porpoise and P to Cachalot. Notice the UnitPartSlot 1 is the tower and there are three listed with dates. If your sub only has one then delete the other two or put semicolons ; in front of the line so the computer will ignore them. (marked in yellow above) Now you can continue down to the "Compartments" and change the IDs like you did in the tower. [UserPlayerUnit 1.Compartment 1] CompartmentType= 1 StatusActive= Yes ID= CachalotSternTorpedo Now if I didn't mess something up, you should have a working sub. Then you can go to the subs .dat file and put in your 3D model, and make other changes that may be necessary. Before doing any more changes though, enable the MOD and see if it works at least in a single mission. The info Keltos gave here below shows how to add it to the Campaign. Peabody |
tuto last part :
[QUOTE]Now go to UPCDataGe\UPCCampaignData and open Flotilla.upc with your notepad : copy paste one of the units' data : [Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1] ID= F1IXD2 NameDisplayable= Type IX-D2 U-boat AvailabilityInterval= NULL, NULL IDLinkUserPlayerUnitType= IXD2 UnitTypeCommonality= 10 ; to be used when a random choice is assigned IDFlotillaLinkTransferTo= NULL [Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 3]<-change the unit number according to the number of subs in game : here it's the third one ID= F1Newsub1 <-change NameDisplayable= Type Newsub 1 U-boat <-change AvailabilityInterval= NULL, NULL IDLinkUserPlayerUnitType= Newsub1 <-change UnitTypeCommonality= 10 ; to be used when a random choice is assigned IDFlotillaLinkTransferTo= NULL save go a bit down and you'll see this : [Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 1] ID= MB11OBj1 NameDisplayable= NULL AvailabilityInterval=1943-04-01, 1943-06-15 ObjectiveCode= China-Sea [Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 2] ID= MB11OBj2....... copy paste all missions (9 normally) change the Unit number to your Newsub1 number, which here is number 3 : [Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 3.Objective 1] ID= MB11OBj1 NameDisplayable= NULL AvailabilityInterval=1943-04-01, 1943-06-15 ObjectiveCode= China-Sea [Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 3.Objective 2] ID= MB11OBj2....... save and exit now open CareerStart.upc you'll see 4 flotilla files: [CareerStart 1.Flotilla 1] ID= C1Flotilla1 NameDisplayable= Penang IDLinkFlotilla= Penang ; link to ID in Flotilla upc file IDLinkUserPlayerUnits= F1IXD2, 1, F1XVIII, 1 FlotillaBriefingText= FlotillaCommonality= 1 Add your ship to each one, do this for all careerStart( 1943, 1944, 1945) : [CareerStart 1.Flotilla 1] ID= C1Flotilla1 NameDisplayable= Penang IDLinkFlotilla= Penang ; link to ID in Flotilla upc file IDLinkUserPlayerUnits= F1IXD2, 1, F1XVIII, 1, F1Newsub1, 1 <--add FlotillaBriefingText= FlotillaCommonality= 1 save and exit, implement using JSGME, you should be able to start a campaign with your NewSub1 from Penang now. |
updated posts with Peabody's help
|
Disclaimer: This is for my own personal use. I would not release as my own work or release without permission of original mod maker. If I'm stepping on someone's toes by doing this, please let me know.
VM made a mod named Mini Surface Campaign v0.85 ( Awesome! :yeah:) Its a career campaign using playable surface ships. In the mod is a Fletcher DD that I love. (yes...I said it). I have added 7 more torp tudes to it, it's not invincible, but it kicks butt! I wanted to make it a mod in itself but have a problem. It will show up in game but it only has the playable 5" gun mount and also some of the crew are missing. What I have done is take the Fletcher folder and put it in the new mod's submarine folder and then taken files and folders from the original mod to fill out the needed folders for the new mod. Looking at the model preview using S3D, all the nodes are there for the other gun mounts and AA mounts. Does anyone have ideas of what I missed? |
Quote:
Quote:
How else do you answer a member named Joker?? You probably missed some files, but with the information given it is hard to tell what. It may link to guns that you don't have, or you don't have the files to make the link. The other guns should be listed by cfg# in the Fletchers.eqp file. Check that. For example an A01 node should be listed in the .dat file nodes and an entry listed in the .eqp file for what gun is at that location. VM PMed me a while ago, so I have that file and I wll take a quick look. Just from a quick look try adding the Data/Library/ShipParts and Data/Library/USSubParts and Data/UPCData/UPCUnitsdata (entire folder) to your mod and see what happens. He has renamed a LOT of stuff in there, so it may not work with the stock game. It may only work with his mod since he overwrites a LOT of the stuff with his specific files. And the other ships in his mod probably use those new files, but the ones in stock will not. And just for information: in the future start a new thread with your questions since very few will see it if it is buried inside another thread. If all else fails, PM the original author. VM. But let me know how you make out. Peabody |
YUP, you missed some of the guns and some of the crew.:know: 'cause it says so right here:
Quote: it only has the playable 5" gun mount and also some of the crew are missing. :har: How else do you answer a member named Joker?? Good answer :haha: Thanks for the reply, it gives me a place to start looking. Understand about the new thread, saw this thread and since it seemed to be related I posted on spur of the moment. Any way, thanks again :salute: |
Quote:
do they show in the periscope /uzo-TDC /attack map view ? if so please post your modifications here : which file, what's added etc... thanks keltos |
"so how many total?" 8 total, all forward. (the real fletcher had 10 in 2 rotating mounts midships)
"do they show in the periscope /uzo-TDC /attack map view ?" Yes! "if so please post your modifications here : which file, what's added etc..." (I just got home from along day at work. I wanted to answer you asap. Here is the quick answer in a link below. I will be very happy to post detailed instructions in a few days or this weekend if needed.):salute: this thread could answer your questions http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=160950 Many thanks to VM for this great ship and to franta for his excellent reply to my questions! |
bump
|
bump
|
Bump
the moderators should replace the link in the "popular mods, tools etc.." of Mykhail's tutorial on how to add playable units with this one , since he remove the contents from his posts in his thread.... :nope: keltos |
whoa slow down....let me get this...is this step by step creating playble ship and career?
|
Well it get's the basics done ... but damage control and many other features will be problematic. Maybe do some reading & learning and then come join us on the TSWSM project so we can get it finished and then you'll have more playable ships than you can shake a stick at.
|
Edit.
Good Information b.t.w., will check my Files with that. Thx! |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.