SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [REL] Playable U-FlaK for SH5 (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=224498)

gap 02-27-16 07:39 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2385001)
EDIT
I think that the solution is somewhere in between crewidle.aix and upcge files...Don't invest too much time in this issue though, I think that really is not worth it ...

Do you mean the solution to wrong crew being displayed?

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2385001)
EDIT 2
Why I cant edit bones rotation even with your editor version? Usual right click on bone to edit just wont work in case of bones rotation??

Your question revealead a possible cause for the flipped gunner! Though apparently facing the right direction, fron gunner's bone had position data (flag: 1) but not rotation data. All other bones of the same type have both position and rotation data (flag: 3).

I have corrected the error now, and renamed the bone to its old name (WP_A02_GUN). Please download the latest version of my tweaks on the conning tower file, and use it as it is. Should the gunner be still flipped, try rotating the bone. This time GR2 Editor should let you to do so. :03:

vdr1981 02-27-16 07:41 PM

Quote:

Do you mean the solution to wrong crew being displayed?
Yeah, check my previous post...:yep:

Quote:

Your question revealead a possible cause for the flipped gunner! Though apparently facing the right direction, fron gunner's bone had position data (flag: 1) but not rotation data. All other bones of the same type have both position and rotation data (flag: 3).
I have corrected the error now, and renamed the bone to its old name (WP_A02_GUN). Please download the latest version of my tweaks on the conning tower file, and use it as it is. Should the gunner be still flipped, try rotating the bone. This time GR2 Editor should let you to do so. :03:
:up:

gap 02-27-16 07:47 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2385007)
Nope...I think I'll just leave bone rotation jobs for you Gap...:dead:

Come on lazy man you managed doing that http://www.gifs.net/Animation11/Webd...set_5_down.gif and you cannot rotate a small point?!! :D

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2385007)
Anyway, I've forced one deck gun crewman to sits correctly on Quad's seat, using few changes in mentioned aix files...Dont ask me how yet ...

Holy crap, I am sorry but I must ask: how did you manage doing that? :o :D

Make sure that while you fix U-flak's gunners you don't mess up other conning towers! :)

vdr1981 02-27-16 08:05 PM

Well ok, but this is just a testing...
The script for deck gun crew was like this...
Code:

strategy SQ_BED01_Manning_deck_gun(wp)
{
        precond
        {
                Wp:IsGunManned(SLOT_M01)
        }
        action
        {
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("object2_book01", 0);
                Wp:PlayAnimationAndWait( "SQ_BED01_leave_rush" );
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Hat01", 1);
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Torso05", 1);
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Torso07", 0);
                Wp:Teleport("WP_DECK_GUN");
                Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_M01, "88mm_L_R", ROLE_TRAV);
                Wp:ScriptCompleted();

..and I changed it to this...

Code:

strategy SQ_BED01_Manning_deck_gun(wp)
{
        precond
        {
                Wp:IsGunManned(SLOT_A01)
        }
        action
        {
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("object2_book01", 0);
                Wp:PlayAnimationAndWait( "SQ_BED01_leave_rush" );
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Hat01", 1);
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Torso05", 1);
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Torso07", 0);
                Wp:Teleport("WP_A01_GUN");
                Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "Vierling_UP_DW", ROLE_TRAV);
                Wp:ScriptCompleted();

The result is one dude sitting correctly on his ass...Now deckgun crew is probably screwed but if manage somehow to add new script...:hmm2:

gap 02-27-16 08:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2385016)
Well ok, but this is just a testing...
The script for deck gun crew was like this...

Which file? :03:

Any fresh news on my latest tweaks? Do you still need me to rotate that *******g bone? :O:

vdr1981 02-27-16 08:18 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2385019)
Which file? :03:

Any fresh news on my latest tweaks? Do you still need me to rotate that *******g bone? :O:

Ignore my previous post, it was this tweak...

was this...
Code:

strategy QRF_PETTY01_Manning_A01gun(wp)
{
        precond
        {
                Wp:IsGunManned(SLOT_A01)
        }
        action
        {
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Hat01", 1);
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Pants01", 1);
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Pants02", 0);

               
                Wp:PlayAnimationAndWait( "QRF_Petty01_leave_rush" );
                Wp:Teleport("WP_A01_GUN");
                if (Wp:GetGunType(SLOT_A01) == CANNON_20mm_C30) then
                        Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "20mm_C30_UP_DW", ROLE_GUNNER)
                endif;
                if (Wp:GetGunType(SLOT_A01) == CANNON_20mm_C30_2) then
                        Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "20mm_C30_2_UP_DW", ROLE_GUNNER)
                endif;
                if (Wp:GetGunType(SLOT_A01) == CANNON_20mm_C38_Twin) then
                        Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "20mm_C38_twin_UP_DW", ROLE_GUNNER)
                endif;
                if (Wp:GetGunType(SLOT_A01) == CANNON_20mm_C38_Twin_Shield) then
                        Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "20mm_C38_shield_twin_UP_DW", ROLE_GUNNER)
                endif;
                Wp:ScriptCompleted();

and I've added appropriately one more line taken from WP_FLAK_ GUN script...

Code:

strategy QRF_PETTY01_Manning_A01gun(wp)
{
        precond
        {
                Wp:IsGunManned(SLOT_A01)
        }
        action
        {
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Hat01", 1);
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Pants01", 1);
                Wp:SetBodyPartVisibility("A_Pants02", 0);

               
                Wp:PlayAnimationAndWait( "QRF_Petty01_leave_rush" );
                Wp:Teleport("WP_A01_GUN");
                if (Wp:GetGunType(SLOT_A01) == CANNON_Vierling) then
                        Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "Vierling_UP_DW", ROLE_ELEV)
                endif;

                if (Wp:GetGunType(SLOT_A01) == CANNON_20mm_C30) then
                        Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "20mm_C30_UP_DW", ROLE_GUNNER)
                endif;
                if (Wp:GetGunType(SLOT_A01) == CANNON_20mm_C30_2) then
                        Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "20mm_C30_2_UP_DW", ROLE_GUNNER)
                endif;
                if (Wp:GetGunType(SLOT_A01) == CANNON_20mm_C38_Twin) then
                        Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "20mm_C38_twin_UP_DW", ROLE_GUNNER)
                endif;
                if (Wp:GetGunType(SLOT_A01) == CANNON_20mm_C38_Twin_Shield) then
                        Wp:ManTheGun(SLOT_A01, "20mm_C38_shield_twin_UP_DW", ROLE_GUNNER)
                endif;
                Wp:ScriptCompleted();

Note that A01 light gunner in type VIIC for example is not broken also...:)

vdr1981 02-27-16 08:22 PM

Bad news regarding front A02 gunner...I've managed somehow to rotate WPA02GUN bone (not correctly though, about 60deg) but still, flipped gunner is on exactly the same place...:hmm2:

vdr1981 02-27-16 08:41 PM

Slightly better but still that front gunner is dumb or something...:D

http://s6.postimg.org/ytak3nu29/SH5_...8_02_37_53.jpg

gap 02-27-16 08:41 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2385021)
Bad news regarding front A02 gunner...I've managed somehow to rotate WPA02GUN bone (not correctly though, about 60deg) but still, flipped gunner is on exactly the same place...:hmm2:

So if you rename/remove WP_A02_GUN, the gunner disappears, but bone rotation has no effect on gunner's rotation? That's black magic :doh:

P.S: Have you tried using my file first without rotating the bone?

P.S.2: Try and move around that bone and see if its position has any effect on gunner's position.

P.S-3: I start thinking that that bone might be broken somehow. Try rotating one of the other bones; if their gunners rotate accordingly, scrap the front gunner bone, duplicate one of the other ones for replacing the former.

P.S-4: Is it possible that the two gunners in A1 and A2 must be facing the same direction, A1 taking the precedence? If nothing of the above works, try switching A1 and A2 bone names and see what happens... :hmmm:

vdr1981 02-27-16 08:52 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gap (Post 2385025)
So if you rename/remove WP_A02_GUN, the gunner disappears, but bone rotation has no effect on gunner's rotation? That's black magic :doh:

P.S: have you tried using my file first without rotating the bone?

Yes, it's the same, but again, maybe you should verify that...:hmmm:

Hmm, maybe fornt gunners will sit correctly if I use deck gun crew, after all, the deck gun is orientated to front side , unlike any other flak in game...:hmm2:

gap 02-27-16 09:02 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2385020)
Ignore my previous post, it was this tweak...

was this...

Crew_Idle_Actions_QR1.aix?

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2385020)
Code:

strategy QRF_PETTY01_Manning_A01gun(wp)
{
        precond
        {
                Wp:IsGunManned(SLOT_A01)


I see here guns are designed by their name and slot as set in GunStationControllerProperties. Is is possible that you change those A01 and A02 controller settings ocpying the values from the corresponding controller in S01? Would that break player's and/or AI ability to operate those guns?

gap 02-27-16 09:04 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by vdr1981 (Post 2385026)
Yes, it's the same, but again, maybe you should verify that...:hmmm:

Hmm, maybe fornt gunners will sit correctly if I use deck gun crew, after all, the deck gun is orientated to front side , unlike any other flak in game...:hmm2:

yep, that's a possibility, but deck gun manning crew looks nothing like heavy Flak gunners :hmm2:

gap 02-28-16 06:23 AM

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/German...Flak_Traps.22:

"Two 20 mm quadruple Flakvierling mounts and an experimental 37 mm automatic gun were installed on the U-flaks' decks. A battery of 86 mm line-carrying anti-aircraft rockets was tested (similar to a device used by the British in the defense of airfields), but this idea proved unworkable. At times, two additional single 20 mm guns were also mounted."

:o :O:

No way we can do this in SH5; I will be happy enough if we manage solving the remaining issues with the current gun layout.

By the way: I couldn't find any useful information on this "experimental 37 mm automatic gun" mentioned in the Wikipedia article. Judging from the few photos of an U-Flak available on the web, it had to look more like an SK C/30U than else, though the latter gun was only semi-automatic (additional information on it found on navweaps.com)

http://img4.hostingpics.net/pics/256359U_441__2.jpg
Side view of U-441's conning tower after her refitting as a "Flak trap". 37 mm gun on the left.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikiped...103_in_See.jpg
The 37 mm SK C/30U Flak gun as fitted on U-103.

My impression is confirmed by a drawing of U-441's conning tower I found on the web, though I ignore its original source:

http://www.wlb-stuttgart.de/seekrieg.../u441-riss.jpg

Going back to the game, I have noticed you have picked the SK C/30 as standard stern gun, and this is in conformity with the information I have gathered above. Should you feel that for gameplay reasons we need to make provisions for a gun upgrade, I could create a clone of the SK C/30 to be used as an upgrade, giving it an higher rate of fire compatible with the one of an automatic gun of the time. I am afraid that the other 37 mm Flak available in game, (i.e. the Flak M42, more info on it on navweaps), though being an automatic gun since it entered service, wouldn't be a realistic option, as it became available only in 1944.

As for bow and wintergarten guns, imo we should leave the two quad 20 mm Flaks as the only possible option, available from U-boat issue. Adding the weight of one or two 37 mm guns forward, would have made U-Flak's maneuverability even clumsier than it already was, not to mention the fact that we haven't managed making two 37mm guns player-operable on the same boat yet. :)

Cybermat47 02-28-16 06:32 AM

I agree about the types of flak, gap, that 37mm definitely looks like the earlier 'reload after every shot' type.

If possible, the player should be able to choose what type of flak guns they have while in the bunker, but I think the default loadout should be based on the photos we have available.

EDIT: By the way, vdr, just a minor thing, but I think that in-game, it should be spelt only with a capital 'U', i.e. 'U-flak', rather than 'U-FlaK', as 'fliegerabwehrkanone', from what I've seen, is all one word. Just a trivial thing, but I felt it should be adressed.

gap 02-28-16 06:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cybermat47 (Post 2385070)
I agree about the types of flak, gap, that 37mm definitely looks like the earlier 'reload after every shot' type.

Definitely. The only piece of information that is confusing me is that quote from Wikipedia about the "experimental 37 mm automatic gun". It might have been a modification of the SK C/30U but so far I couldn't find any information on it, and it wouldn't be the first time a Wiki article reports wrong information. I will check some books later today, just to be sure. :03:

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cybermat47 (Post 2385070)
If possible, the player should be able to choose what type of flak guns they have while in the bunker, but I think the default loadout should be based on the photos we have available.

I agree. The only problem is that the standard gun equipment as seen in photos and stated by various sources, was already the top possible at the time for an U-boat. Any upgrade in game would be either totally unrealistic or a "downgrade" actually. The only idea I can think of, is the replacement of the stern gun with a slightly improved one, mimicing this (so far) mythical "experimental" 37 mm Flak mentioned by Wikipedia. :yep:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.