SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH4 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=219)
-   -   [TEC] GWX SH4TerrainEX Information! (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=252432)

Jeff-Groves 04-27-22 12:53 PM

I get what was done.
All 3 sectors were not adjusted and tested properly.

Now I'm working on a way to have 010 check the 6 pixel boarder areas around any given RAW file/files.

So the script would read the 1st 6 lines of 601 bytes each.
Then read the next 6 bytes then skip to the last 6 bytes of the lines until we reach the last 6 lines which would read them start to end.
That would give us the border information for a RAW.

Run it on all sectors touching? You'd have a table that would not need slight color guessing.

I did check sectors in the area in question but I looked at the upper and lower sectors!
Not the left or right sectors.
Doh!


Another thing I'm working on is to change the UI of the program to allow a bigger image when using it.
Also trying to change it so that damned header information is removed when exporting from the ZHF files.

astvitaliy1982 04-27-22 01:42 PM

Astvitaliy 1982
 
If I understand the situation correctly, then the error "with a pixel" occurs when I start the game with ready-made squares
ZHF 1 and 3 (figuratively speaking). When the game has already loaded them onto the map. I think if I didn't load them into the game
if I had finished square 2, and then loaded three finished squares into the game at once, this error would not have occurred ...

Jeff-Groves 04-27-22 01:50 PM

Correct.

propbeanie 04-27-22 10:46 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves (Post 2805916)
I get what was done.
All 3 sectors were not adjusted and tested properly.

Now I'm working on a way to have 010 check the 6 pixel boarder areas around any given RAW file/files.

So the script would read the 1st 6 lines of 601 bytes each.
Then read the next 6 bytes then skip to the last 6 bytes of the lines until we reach the last 6 lines which would read them start to end.
That would give us the border information for a RAW.

Run it on all sectors touching? You'd have a table that would not need slight color guessing.

I did check sectors in the area in question but I looked at the upper and lower sectors!
Not the left or right sectors.
Doh!


Another thing I'm working on is to change the UI of the program to allow a bigger image when using it.
Also trying to change it so that damned header information is removed when exporting from the ZHF files.

I like the idea of "a table that would not need ... guessing"!!! The header info change would be a bonus! My 010 Editor stands at the ready. I am sure it would appreciate a competently written script, unlike the krapp someone I know all-too-well currently tries to feed it... :oops:

astvitaliy1982 04-28-22 02:49 AM

Astvitaliy 1982
 
Average depth indicators in the game:

https://i.postimg.cc/hGKSZkky/21600-10800-2.jpg

This is how the depths look in Photoshop:

https://i.postimg.cc/fTLSBr4f/K-SH4.jpg

Dogger Bank in SH3

https://i.postimg.cc/pTsXjPdb/1211.png

Dogger Bankr in SH4

https://i.postimg.cc/43JgQjqJ/1210.png

Dogger Bank in SH4 game:

https://i.postimg.cc/kgHHBzC1/1224.png

https://i.postimg.cc/FRVGgBtQ/1223.png

-------------------------------------------------- --------------------------------------

English Channel in SH3:

https://i.postimg.cc/pTc5HfzF/1213.png

English Channel in SH4:

https://i.postimg.cc/Y24zS00H/1212.png


The English Channel in SH4:

https://i.postimg.cc/sxFQxVHj/1219.png

-------------------------------------------------- ------------------------------------

North Sea in its upper part:

In SH3:

https://i.postimg.cc/3NHX6CTF/1217.png

In SH4:

https://i.postimg.cc/1XPFMmGW/1216.png

-------------------------------------------------- ----------------------------------------

Wilhelmshaffen in SH3:

https://i.postimg.cc/KjJ1Nnvz/1214.png

Wilhelmshaffen in SH4:

https://i.postimg.cc/HxTWhVN7/1215.png

Wilhelmshaffen in SH4:

https://i.postimg.cc/yxbVxn8F/1218.png

-------------------------------------------------- -----------------------------------------



Unfortunately, the filter in the Navigation map of the game does not show us much. Still, I impose
on the map texture in Photoshop, "Median" filter. I lose a bit of depth detail,
but this is a necessary measure to ensure that the isolines of the depths on the game map look smooth. If a not to do this, the result is a map in which there are many square depressions and pits one pixel in size.

astvitaliy1982 04-28-22 02:54 AM

Astvitaliy 1982
 
P. S. I will not replace the fjords of Norway. I'll leave what was.

Jeff-Groves 04-28-22 02:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by propbeanie (Post 2805990)
I like the idea of "a table that would not need ... guessing"!!! The header info change would be a bonus! My 010 Editor stands at the ready. I am sure it would appreciate a competently written script, unlike the krapp someone I know all-too-well currently tries to feed it... :oops:

Writing the Script to check RAW files now (in my head at the moment).
1. It will ask for 2 RAW files to compare.
2. It will ask the direction of 1st RAW file to check. N, S, E, or W.
3. It will then compare the border areas of both files.
If N is selected for RAW 1, The Southern border of RAW 2 will be scanned.
And so on for given directions.

propbeanie 04-28-22 02:56 PM

That sounds very sensible! Paint me in as a guinea pig! :salute:

Jeff-Groves 04-28-22 03:00 PM

I'll probably allow you to do an auto 'fix' if pixels don't match.
:hmmm:

propbeanie 04-28-22 03:07 PM

That would be very nice also! :salute:

astvitaliy1982 04-29-22 02:50 AM

Astvitaliy 1982
 
Можно ли создать скрипт который сможет открывать не один квадрат а девять, обьединенных в один квадрат?

Jeff-Groves 04-29-22 09:11 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by astvitaliy1982 (Post 2806183)
Можно ли создать скрипт который сможет открывать не один квадрат а девять, обьединенных в один квадрат?

I'd say it is possible. One would read each file line by line and create a new, combined file. Over laps would be dropped from known areas of course.

You'd end up with a RAW file 1791 X 1791

You might be able to write a Script for Photoshop that would do the same thing.
Never wrote any Photoshop scripts so just guessing about that.

astvitaliy1982 04-29-22 09:36 AM

Astvitaliy 1982
 
If you can do that, that would be really cool. I would say that it would be a completely new level of relief processing. It would speed up the process of importing squares into the game by nine times. With such a script, it would be possible to create not only the Baltic and the North Sea, but the entire Mediterranean, the coast of America, Newfoundland and anything ...)
Depths and elevations are easy to create. This is done in a couple of days. But transferring this data to the game takes a very long time...(((


I use "script" in Photoshop. I recorded a history of my actions and use it to import each file into the game. This speeds up my work by 15 seconds.)))

Jeff-Groves 04-29-22 09:45 AM

One would have to reverse the blending to create standard 601 x 601 RAW files then pack them into ZHF files.

propbeanie 04-29-22 01:55 PM

That is an interesting idea astvitaliy1982... it would allow easier editing across the "border" areas of adjacent 601x601 tiles...

Would it be easier to do the combining / re-interpolating the "borders" area of the nine tiles (almost sounds like we're talking about Scotland and England), or just do the 601x601 edits and have a program to remember and / or match the adjacent "borders" settings between them? :hmmm:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.