SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH4 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=219)
-   -   [REL] Trigger Maru 1.2 (Updated May 22nd) (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=114420)

jerryt 05-13-07 12:18 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Strangelove
I'm new to the Silent Hunter series, and I want so badly to like this game. This mod finally lets me actually be immersed in the sim, and enjoy it.

I just have a question about the "9km visibility" mod. Has anyone else had an experience where at longer ranges they're only able to see masts and funnels? Is this realistic?

Actually, from my navy days, you can see the masts from a lot farther out, but this is apparently a game engine issue.

ReallyDedPoet 05-13-07 06:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ducimus
Quote:

Originally Posted by reallydedpoet
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ducimus
This will be a project for the next version i think. Scripting more special ops type missions to reduce the chance of an exact repeat when replaying that flotilla.

This is a nice option in SH4 as compared to SH3, liked the fix in FTT, good to hear you will be fleshing it out a bit more in Trigger Maru.

RDP

Its the mission objectives that are the number 1 reason im sick of Sh3.

1.Go to grid,
2. stay for a x amout of time,
3. sink ships.
4. Goto 1

Over and over and over and over and over again. How i wish could have just performed a recon, or laid mines or just.. SOMETHING to make the game more varied.

Now, SH4, has the right idea, trouble is, it doesnt always change its objectives. Overall, i think the varied objectives, ensuring you get them, is one of the stronger points of this mod. In a way, its really directed at people burnt out on the same old standard routine that they did in Sh3. (namely myself :roll:)

But ya, im going to create a few more special ops scripts to flessh in areas that lack variety of that mission type.


Now how objectives work, or are called upon works somethign like this:

You'll have a collection of mission scripts that are in a general location:

1. Patrol.
You may have 4 or 5 instances of varing patrol scrpts in different locations within the same geographical region.


2. Sink.
Missions where it sayd to "deply" and think "sink" shipping. You'll have 4 or 5 instances of this, with variong locations in the same region.

3. Photo.
Some areas have more instances of this then others. Different locations, within the same region.

4. Supply.

5. Spy.

6. Commando


Now, in all cases, (objectives 1 through 6), again, they'll all be in different locations, in the same geographic region. This geographical region is then given a name.


In this example, ill use Honshu. This name, represents an ID handle that the game associates with whatever mission you assign this ID handle.

So, "Honshu" has the following attached to it:

5 Insert Spy missions
8 Patrol missions
5 Photo missions
8 Sink missions


All of these, are assigned to the ID handle, "Honshu". So in the flotilla.upc, when you give "Honshu" as a patrol objective, the game will randomly pick a mission, in the Honshu group of missions (assuming the missions availablity date matches the current calender date in game). Or at least, its SUPPOSED to. Not saying it doesnt, but it doesnt randomize itself as near as often as it should. Otherwise, we'd never hear of a "repeat patrol bug"

Note however, that, you will never drop supplies off in Honshu, nor insert a commando team.

By way of comparision, lets look at the Phillipines, it has:

3 Guard missions
3 Inserrt commando missions
1 insert spy mission
4 supply missions
7 patrol missions
7 Sink missions.


Totally different ballgame in the phillpines.

Now how i got rid of the repeat patrol bug, was force an entry and exit date from the patrol objectives. Only one mission is avialable every 2 month period, and then it goes away until i deliberatly call on it again later on.

For example, stock assigments look like this:
Code:

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 1]
ID= PH1Obj1
NameDisplayable= East China Sea
AvailabilityInterval=1942-01-01, NULL
ObjectiveCode= East China Sea

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 2]
ID= PH1Obj2
NameDisplayable= Marshalls patrols
AvailabilityInterval=NULL, 1944-04-01
ObjectiveCode= Marshall Islands

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 3]
ID= PH1Obj3
NameDisplayable= Empire Waters
AvailabilityInterval=NULL, NULL
ObjectiveCode= Honshu

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 4]
ID= PH1Obj4
NameDisplayable= Empire Waters
AvailabilityInterval=NULL, NULL
ObjectiveCode= Hokkaido

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 5]
ID= PH1Obj5
NameDisplayable= Caroline Islands
AvailabilityInterval=1942-01-01, NULL
ObjectiveCode= Caroline Islands

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 6]
ID= PH1Obj6
NameDisplayable= Mariana Islands
AvailabilityInterval=1942-04-01, 1944-04-01
ObjectiveCode= Mariana Islands

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 7]
ID= PH1Obj7
NameDisplayable= Palau Island
AvailabilityInterval=1943-01-01, 1944-04-01
ObjectiveCode= Palau Island

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 8]
ID= PH1Obj8
NameDisplayable= Luzon Strait
AvailabilityInterval=1944-01-01, NULL
ObjectiveCode= Luzon Strait

Note that not all objective are avialable all the time. The game is supposed to randomly pick a geographic area, and then randomly pic a mission type from that areas group of missions. Which, as it seems, the game fails to do, more often then not. its a great idea for replayablity, its just not working very well.

So heres what i did to FORCE the game to vary the missions:
Code:

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 1]
ID= PH1Obj1
NameDisplayable= Training Excercise
AvailabilityInterval=1941-12-05, 1941-12-06
ObjectiveCode= Prewar_01

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 2]
ID= PH1Obj2
NameDisplayable= Marshalls patrols
AvailabilityInterval=1941-12-07, 1941-12-31
ObjectiveCode= Marshall Islands

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 3]
ID= PH1Obj3
NameDisplayable= Empire Waters
AvailabilityInterval=1942-01-01, 1942-02-31
ObjectiveCode= HonshuPHOTO

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 4]
ID= PH1Obj4
NameDisplayable= East China Sea
AvailabilityInterval=1942-03-01, 1942-04-31
ObjectiveCode= East China Sea

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 5]
ID= PH1Obj5
NameDisplayable= Formosa
AvailabilityInterval=1942-05-01, 1942-06-31
ObjectiveCode= Formosa StraitCOM

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 6]
ID= PH1Obj6
NameDisplayable= Caroline Islands
AvailabilityInterval=1942-07-01, 1942-08-31
ObjectiveCode= Caroline Islands

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 7]
ID= PH1Obj7
NameDisplayable= Luzon Strait
AvailabilityInterval=1942-09-01, 1942-10-31
ObjectiveCode= Luzon StraitSUP

[Flotilla 1.UserPlayerUnitType 1.Objective 8]
ID= PH1Obj8
NameDisplayable= Palau Island
AvailabilityInterval=1942-11-01, 1942-12-31
ObjectiveCode= Palau IslandPHOTO

Note that im revolving the missions, forcing an end to the previous, and a start to the next.
Also note the objective code. This is what i call the ID Handle. What i did was break it down, to create a seperate grouping, this allowed me to directly call on that mission type. . So if you take Honshu again, where as before it was:

5 Insert Spy missions
8 Patrol missions
5 Photo missions
8 Sink missions

the ID Handle "Honshu" now only will give out the 8 patrol and 8 sink missions.

The photo missions that were assigned to Honshu, i changed the ID handle to "HonshuPHOTO". So by specifing "HonshuPHOTO" as a mission assigment, the game wil l randomly pick 1 of the 5 photo missions, and thats it.


Now, where this runs into problems, is again, the phillpines. "PhillipinesPHOTO" needs about 4 other missions that i need to script out because as it is, it will only give out the 1 photo mission.

Hopefully this all makes sense, and people better understand how missions work in Sh4.

Nice explanation Ducimus :roll: . I need to take the time and look into the " guts " of this game a little more. The above is a good example of this games potential as compared to SH3.

Again thanks for your work on this. Off to sink some now:up:

RDP

Ducimus 05-13-07 03:08 PM

Questions:



Since im almost totally convinced that subs arent getting their late war makeovers. (paint job, conning tower change) like they should, ive been contemplating for a long time now, to just make them all have the late war tower/paint job, from the get go, but making gun upgrades progressive instead. ( The progressive gun upgrades ive already done. )

The problem right now is, if you start in early war , from all ive been able to tell, it could be june in 1944, you'll still have that midwar tower and black paint job.. Kind of a bummer. So should i just make them at way to start? Ive grappled with that one for awhile.



Next question:
Stock creak sounds, or the ones provided?


Periscope:
mechanical clicking noise when rotating: Keep it out, or put it back in?


Side note, thanks to a discovery by Mav87th, the next version of Tmaru will have it so that the periscope shears wont obstruct your view when looking through the binoclulars. You'll be able to scan the horizon while using yoru binoclulars from 0 all the way to 360 and not have your view obstructed.

NefariousKoel 05-13-07 05:59 PM

Great news on the binos on next release due to Mav's fix.

As for the two questions:

Creaks:
Keep the current one you have.

Peri click:
I always liked the click. It gave me that extra added aural input on just how fast I was turning my scope such as when scanning open ocean. Sometimes I didn't realize just how fast I was turning and may have missed something in the far distance. It helps me keep a steady pace without constantly looking at the bearing indicator.:up:

ReallyDedPoet 05-13-07 06:22 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ducimus

Periscope:
mechanical clicking noise when rotating: Keep it out, or put it back in?

I like the clicking noise:yep: Can't imagine the thing being silent when moving. Just a thought.

RDP

Ducimus 05-13-07 06:37 PM

:hmm:
I know, ill make ""no periscope clicks" as an optional mod. Point being, this isnt Flavored to just "my" taste anymore. If it were, id be leaving the clicks OUT. They annoy me, but sometimes i do think they're cool too. Anyway, while im more open to suggestions, some of my personal gripes are going to keep making into the modpack, but the clicks are definaly something that not everyones going to agree with me on. :lol:


Im still in the air on the paint job/conning tower.
On one hand, even if i stagger up the firepower upgrades you can put on that tower over the course of the war, making the latewar tower/paintjob available from the getgo is still kinda gamey. On the otherhand, if you intend on starting the war, and finishing the war, your kinda stuck with that conningtower and paint job you start with. :damn:

ReallyDedPoet 05-13-07 08:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ducimus
Im still in the air on the paint job/conning tower.
On one hand, even if i stagger up the firepower upgrades you can put on that tower over the course of the war, making the latewar tower/paintjob available from the getgo is still kinda gamey. On the otherhand, if you intend on starting the war, and finishing the war, your kinda stuck with that conningtower and paint job you start with. :damn:

The staggered option sounds like a good one :roll: , yeah it might be gamey, but I think it will add to the experience in the end. Nice to have options.

By the way you mentioned the poem in the credits a couple of days ago, just saw this today, well done:yep:

RDP

MaxenThor 05-13-07 09:30 PM

I have a question concerning the Event Camera in TM 1.0. Has this been turned off? I don't use this very often but when I tried it in FFT 2.4 I couldn't get it to work. Thanks.

Ducimus 05-13-07 09:50 PM

Havent touched anything related to cameras at all.

MaxenThor 05-13-07 10:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ducimus
Havent touched anything related to cameras at all.

Thanks for your reponse Ducimus. Maybe I'm doing something wrong. BTW I really enjoyed FFT 2.4 and I am looking forward to TM 1.0.

Ducimus 05-14-07 12:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MaxenThor
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ducimus
Havent touched anything related to cameras at all.

Thanks for your reponse Ducimus. Maybe I'm doing something wrong. BTW I really enjoyed FFT 2.4 and I am looking forward to TM 1.0.

Ahh.. its available for d/l on the first page of this thread ya know ;)

Strangelove 05-14-07 12:38 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jhelix70
Quote:

Has anyone else had an experience where at longer ranges they're only able to see masts and funnels? Is this realistic?
Believe it or not, it is...because of the curvature of the earth.:know:

:damn:

Of course. I'm so used to Napoleonic warfare where contacts were reported by viewing the sails. Never thought of why.

I just got back from my first patrol... ever. I bagged 28k after dropping off some troops in the Philipines, and then engaging a convoy. The convoy attack was a lot of fun, and really showed off the better aspects of the mod. I waited with dead engines abeam of the convoy. My two target ships moved within 1000 yards, and I shot 4 fish at the 1st, and 2 at the second (large and medium composites). The first boat took all four hits and after about 5 minutes of secondary explosions she went down. The second boat had 1 miss, and a magnetic detonation under the keel, splitting her in two. What really caught my attention though was the escorts. As soon as the first Torpedo hit the escorts were flashing morse-code, and before the 2nd boat was hit, the closest escort had put starshells into the sky and was steaming towards me. The other two started to change course, and the convoy started to scatter (instead of just sitting braindead). I deployed decoys, full starboard rudder, dove and edged up to 1/3 speed. It took about 30 minutes to shake off the escorts, and I never got to set up another attack.

This mod makes the game what it should be. Bravo.

FooFighters 05-14-07 05:45 AM

Just a small idea.. But please change the Trigger Maru line in the main menu in capital letters.. Changed it myself, and it looks better.

I also deleted the nomograph.. but's that's my flavour to taste :rotfl: :rotfl:

MaxenThor 05-14-07 10:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ducimus
Quote:

Originally Posted by MaxenThor
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ducimus
Havent touched anything related to cameras at all.

Thanks for your reponse Ducimus. Maybe I'm doing something wrong. BTW I really enjoyed FFT 2.4 and I am looking forward to TM 1.0.

Ahh.. its available for d/l on the first page of this thread ya know ;)

Got it and on Patrol!:)

Florida Sailor 05-14-07 01:30 PM

I am back in Pearl, working on a career started after FTT 2.5 was installed. Is this a good time to uninstall FTT and replace it with TTM? My boat is a Gar.

I am looking foreward to TTM.

ALSO: This was my second patrol with this career and I had trouble keeping the radar on until I got past early April. It would just turn itself off after a contact was reported or if I went above 64X TC. I also watched it go off once with no TC and with no contacts around. After the first week of April 1942 the problem stopped. Weird huh?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.