![]() |
Quote:
|
Quote:
F. |
Quote:
|
Hi guy`s , just been playing SH3 with some mods , for a long time NOW?. Always crap`s me out , [ the only polite thing l could think of ] that they play-up crash ,etc , even on different OS , eg win xp -vista -7-8 -?.
ONLY time they don`t play-up is 1st install ,eg: vanilla-install , STD install , OEM install. ???? . , [ just like l say to my kids , did you see the original version of this its great ]. LIFE . :salute: |
How to adjust axis direction to your needs.
I'm here just for day, but this is enough for sharing the three quick tricks.
First one: How to adjust axis direction to your needs. One easy example is with UZO. The new modded boats and turms have this feature, but I don't have computer that will handle all these new models stuff, so I want to make this for stock turms. You will work with the turm .dat file, in this example: "Turm7c_1_hd.dat". First, if you give a dial controller (SolBearing) to the UZO node, it will rotate the X axis. So let's look, what will happen when the dial controller rotate the X axis. This will not be good: If you rotate the Z axis with -90°, this will put the X axis in the needed direction, but because the 3d model is in this node, it is again not good: So, you first create a new node, name it something recognizable, in this case "Turm7c_1_UzoRot". For Translation X, Y and Z you give the same coordinates that are in the original UZO node (Turm7c_1_uzo_High). Then rotate the Z axis with -90° (half a Pi): Now, for the original node, you make it child of the new node. Change Parent id with the Id of the new node (UzoRot). Give 0,0 for Translation X, Y and Z, and rotate the Z axis with +90°: A small adjustment on Y and Z, to catch up some asymmetry between the UZO and its base when is rotated: Now for test, you rotate manually the X axis of UzoRot, and you see that the rotation is correct. Bring it back to 0,0 and save the file: Next, you open the turm .sim file and create a new dial controller. Make it Type = SolBearing. Make DispVal and RealVal = 0 - 360. And for Parent id: give it the Id of the UzoRot node from the .dat file. Save the file: Now in the game, the model of the UZO will rotate according to the bearing that is pointed: |
Uboat Aces screen
Uboat Aces screen.
Let's say, that for me is not interesting to compare myself with the real Uboat Aces. It's not relevant, even with my over 100% realism game, I pretty quick overtake them. So, why not to use the Uboat Aces screen to compare all of mine captains. If you play with different the captain name for every new career and want this, it's very easy to do. All you need, is notepad. And for more easy, JSGME. I recommend to make it JSGME ready. So first, go in "SH3/MODS" directory and create there a folder "UboatAces", in this folder create folder "data", in data create folder "cfg". Now go in "SH3\data\Cfg", copy from there the file "UboatAces.cfg" and paste it in the new mod folder. From here on, after every patrol you disable this mod, edit the cfg file and enable it again. All is very understandable if you look at the original UboatAces.cfg, but however I will explain. After your first patrol, you open the file "UboatAces.cfg", delete everything and start from the beginning: Code:
[INIT] Pay attention: the first patrol is Date0(Tonnage0), the second is Date1, the third is Date2 and so on: Code:
[INIT] "[INIT] Nb=" Then, after last entry of the first captain you add new one "[ITEM1]". Pay attention: the first captain is [ITEM0], the second is [ITEM1], the third one is [ITEM2] and so on: Code:
[INIT] After you have 4-5 or more captains behind your back, they are compared and arranged according their tonnage in that time, and you see how your current captain do the job compared with your past captains. |
Some objects - texturing
Some objects - texturing.
How to look from where exactly some model takes its texturing. Because SH3 use one texture for many things. Again, let's use UZO for example: You open the Turm .dat file with S3D, select Uzo node and look which texture is used. Open this texture with graphic editor (I use PaintNet), and look the resolution. Now in S3D, you select the 3D model and make its UV map preview with the same resolution. Save as PNG. Next, in the graphic editor, you add this PNG like second layer over the texture, and now you see from where exactly UZO takes its texture. If you want, you may make a new texture. The resolution is not matter, now it is 512x512, or 256x256. And create a new material with this texture. Now if you give this new material to the Uzo model, you will have a new texture for the UZO, that is not cross with other objects. Well, this is a very silly method, but is done only with S3D and graphic editor. It is better to remap a little the texture coordinates, but this require more programs and time, and I will not explain it right now. |
I'm away of SH3 now, but this morning with coffee and cigarette, the idea has come to me, will be funny mod.
I go in the wild for the weekend, but after that I'll experiment with feasibility of this thing. :D |
Quote:
I know, that some people make a die roll to simulate different things in SH3 and SH4. For one example, look this thread: http://www.subsim.com/radioroom//sho...d.php?t=134809 I also use dice for some specific things and decisions. So, why not to make it directly in the game: |
Great job Tycho ! :cool:
|
I come back to the SH3 terrain. For now, I start with this:
Code:
[IdxConversion] But during the work on that, began to add transitional seasons, for example between autumn - winter, so gradually the seasons will increase. How the Chaparral looks for you? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
I work with 256x256 textures, and today's users want HD, 1024 even 2048. Plus, I make things only in terms of how its looks from ConningDeck camera. With external camera from above or close, some things do not look good, but I don't care, because in the campaign I play without external cameras. But soon, I will explain what I make. And it is not a problem when I finish, to ask and I will send you my files. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
How the terrain texturing work.
How the terrain texturing work?
First, my TerrainTypes.raw now looks like this: And I have this IdxConversion: Now, let's look over the textures for the terrains. In Terrain.cfg for every TerrainTypeDef, have a set of four textures: Quote:
You have some control over the first three textures, through some parameters in the Terrain.cfg. Like "TexTilesPerKM=" - obviously means, how many textures the game will use for 1 km of the terrain. TexTilesPerKM=3 is equal to 3x3 or 9 textures for 1 square km. Looks: If you work with HD textures, maybe is good idea, to expand the area of covering, so you lower the TexTilesPerKM. TexTilesPerKM=1, looks: Tex01= is for seabed plus some height above water, according to this parameter - MaxHeightForTex01= Tex02= is for ground, plain area texture Tex03= is slope texture Tex04= is special, you control it through "DetailTextureTileFactor=". With the default factor = 2, the texture cover 2.5 square km and lies above the first three textures. With two previous examples, TexTilesPerKM= 3 and 1, looks: I work with resolution 256x256 for textures and original parameters of: TexTilesPerKM=3 DetailTextureTileFactor=2 Are good for me, but if you work with high resolution, maybe is reasonable to experiment with these. TexTilesPerKM=1 / 1 square km for Tex01,02 and 03. DetailTextureTileFactor=1 / 5 square km for Tex04. Looks: This texture act like shadow map over Tex01,02 and 03. And because one Tex04= covers many of the lower textures (contiguous textures receive a different shade), this help a lot, to hide the tiling effect and give character to the terrain. Let's experiment. I choose for textures 01, 02 and 03, these ones: First, let's be without Tex04= (well, it is not without, but is completely white, which is the same): The tiling effect is visible over slope texture, repetition of the one and the same texture. Also is visible from certain angle over the grass. And all terrain is... just simple. Second, will be with the default "Tex04". The original game, used one Tex04 texture (Detaile.tga) for every terrain type. Now the terrain looks: I don't know the terminology for these things, but I don't like it. Didn't have character, and the tiling over slope is still visible. If you watch carefully, you will see it over grass too. Finally, let's see, what I made. I take the copy of the Tex03 texture and transform it to this, and use it for Tex04. Not for every terrain type I use the third texture, but in this concrete example, it is good for the purpose. Now the same terrain looks: Oh yes, I like it. This is terrain with character. After the textures, is the forest file. The forest cover 5 square km, and the game places it only around the coast. Deep inside the terrain will be waste of the resources. But for the forests, I'll tell you another time. |
I somehow missed this thread so far. I like the information given and the style :up:
|
Quote:
|
Hello . I am testing new vegetation textures for sh5.
I am also shocked that the vegetation of the Mediterranean climate is not represented in the game and the very weak diversification of the vegetation in general. By doing research on the "TerrainTypes", I saw your subject. I notice that you have a good technical understanding of the subject. Maybe we could move forward this area of the game that has not yet exploited. Some tests. spring taïga and autumn taïga: exemple texture full résolution : |
Quote:
I don't know nothing about SH5, I'm not familiar with SH5 files. In SH3, now I work on new forest files, including Mediterranean, but it is tedious work, will not finish soon. I'm with old computer, so I'm careful about computer resources and use low res textures. And I accomplish my trees in completely different approach than original game. But yours trees look very good, I'm tempted to test them in the game. My Vegetation_kit.dat looks: For Mediterranean, probably will use this set: |
Bravo, I see that you have advanced.
As you point out, it's a long task to modify the climatic regions of the "TerrainTypes.raw" file, add new missing regions in silent hunter and create unique textures for each region and seasons. It seems that we had the same idea and intention almost at the same time. I no longer play sh3. But according to your previous explanations, there are many common points between sh3 and sh5 files. For information, sh5 uses two essential files in common: C: \ Ubisoft \ Silent Hunter 5 \ data \ Terrain \ Terrain.cfg C: \ Ubisoft \ Silent Hunter 5 \ data \ Terrain \ TerrainTypes.raw The difference may be in the system of vegetation textures. In sh5, textures are stored in C: \ Ubisoft \ Silent Hunter 5 \ data \ Terrain \ Textures_and_Vegetation They are 2048x256. Each texture is composed of 8 trees, representing a season. So there are 4 textures for a climate region. The textures of the seasons are orgnanize with .ini files like this one . https://mega.nz/#!eEE3XSpY!VQyjJShr8...NKsDvf40Z6sQA4 I work on textures of 4096x512 and 2048x256 to create 2 versions. One normal and one full resolution. The graphics and the artistic part are the areas where I feel at ease. Conversely, the technical part bothers me and annoys me. So I decided to concentrate for now, on the climatic regions that already exist in the game. I will follow closely the evolution of your project. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51 PM. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.