SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH5 Mods Workshop (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=249)
-   -   [TEC] *.exe Reverse-Engineering (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=184558)

TheDarkWraith 06-18-11 10:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by reaper7 (Post 1685985)
I've done some digging and noticed that the Memory address that I was using for the fix is also being used by not only Range - But AOB, Target Speed and Bearing.

So that explains the Reset to Zero Bug - All these dials are sharing the same Address's to store the value before updating the final value for the relevant dial.

What this sounds like is the programmer assigned each 'variable' to a temp variable so as to preserve the original variable. When the C++ code was compiled (and compiler optimized it) the compiler usually places temp variables on the stack (instead of the heap). Being that it was optimized the compiler probably decided to use the same address (stack address) for each temp variable (to save memory). This is why you are 'seeing' each variable using the same address. This is very common to see and is one reason why RE is very complicated to 'follow and decipher'. If you want to validate my theory then you'll probably notice that the address used for each 'variable' uses offset addressing to 'find' it's contents (ESI+x where x is the offset amount - and ESI could be any of the general CPU registers [EBX,ECX,ESI,EDI,etc.]). In this example ESI would be an address located on the stack (you can find where the stack is located via Olly Debug - EVERY application has at least one stack but usually they have more than this)

reaper7 06-18-11 01:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheDarkWraith (Post 1686444)
What this sounds like is the programmer assigned each 'variable' to a temp variable so as to preserve the original variable. When the C++ code was compiled (and compiler optimized it) the compiler usually places temp variables on the stack (instead of the heap). Being that it was optimized the compiler probably decided to use the same address (stack address) for each temp variable (to save memory). This is why you are 'seeing' each variable using the same address. This is very common to see and is one reason why RE is very complicated to 'follow and decipher'. If you want to validate my theory then you'll probably notice that the address used for each 'variable' uses offset addressing to 'find' it's contents (ESI+x where x is the offset amount - and ESI could be any of the general CPU registers [EBX,ECX,ESI,EDI,etc.]). In this example ESI would be an address located on the stack (you can find where the stack is located via Olly Debug - EVERY application has at least one stack but usually they have more than this)

LOL, thats exactly whats happening - I had come to the same conclusion.
I went back to Cheat engine this morning and fired up SH3 (As its quicker to load and easier to trace - but basically the same).

I was able to trace the pointer's all back to the same Base Address - and each of the dials is then written to by means of an offset.

Thanks TDW for confirming this :up: It makes much more sense to me now - and not an issue of bad programming as I first thought. Sorry Devs :up:.
Just a Noob jumping to the wrong conclussions :88).

Pintea 06-21-11 03:01 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by urfisch (Post 1686060)
yes, this find prooves the devs where under an extreme pressure of time and the programming is not the state of art over there in romania. what a shame...to present a full price game at this unfinished and unprofessionally coded state to us...

Good thing we have professionals like you who can judge programming skills from incomplete, misinterpreted due to lack of knowledge and probably incorrect statements read on forums.

stoianm 06-21-11 03:57 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pintea (Post 1687957)
Good thing we have professionals like you who can judge programming skills from incomplete, misinterpreted due to lack of knowledge and probably incorrect statements read on forums.

yes... you are lucky guys:)

EDIT: you pm box is full

urfisch 06-21-11 04:05 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pintea (Post 1687957)
Good thing we have professionals like you who can judge programming skills from incomplete, misinterpreted due to lack of knowledge and probably incorrect statements read on forums.

uhhh. feels like i tread on someones toes here, did i? please address your personal anger to the ones, who are responsable!

even if the code may not be unprofessionally coded, the game is unfinished and so the code is and THIS is unprofessional. thats a fact no one has to study it deeply for. and as you dive deeper into modding, you will find (even like in sh3 and sh4!) unfinished code parts. functions, that have been planned to be added, but never where.

so brother, step off my foot and judge the greasy tie guys from ubi for this piece of crappy software! and i think you will find 1 of 10 here, who was satisfied with this release. blame the ones who caused this...

dude.

THE_MASK 06-21-11 04:31 AM

Go thru Pinteas posts and see all the things he has helped with .

Pintea 06-21-11 04:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by urfisch (Post 1687978)
so brother, step off my foot and judge the greasy tie guys from ubi for this piece of crappy software! and i think you will find 1 of 10 here, who was satisfied with this release. blame the ones who caused this...dude.

So please keep bashing the suits with your complaints.
I was speaking in defense of the programmers and your "unprofessional/bad programming" claims. You have insufficient information/knowledge to be judging "programming skills in Romania".

Obelix 06-21-11 06:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Pintea (Post 1687993)
You have insufficient information/knowledge to be judging "programming skills in Romania".

Knowledge/information on their ability and willingness to work well - it's SH 5 and the "curve" code.

mookiemookie 06-21-11 07:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by urfisch (Post 1687978)
uhhh. feels like i tread on someones toes here, did i? please address your personal anger to the ones, who are responsable!

even if the code may not be unprofessionally coded, the game is unfinished and so the code is and THIS is unprofessional. thats a fact no one has to study it deeply for. and as you dive deeper into modding, you will find (even like in sh3 and sh4!) unfinished code parts. functions, that have been planned to be added, but never where.

so brother, step off my foot and judge the greasy tie guys from ubi for this piece of crappy software! and i think you will find 1 of 10 here, who was satisfied with this release. blame the ones who caused this...

dude.

Pintea has every right to take your criticism personally, if you get my meaning.

Targor Avelany 06-21-11 11:21 AM

Stop side-tracking the topic.

butthurt about someone making claims on bad programming for the game? Well, considering that the stadimeter bug does exist and not just "insufficient information/knowledge"... I would suggest you helping reaper to fix it, instead of complaining that he has no idea wtf he is doing... Especially after he admitted that he was wrong in his judgement.

dixi

TheDarkWraith 06-21-11 12:21 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Targor Avelany (Post 1688242)
Stop side-tracking the topic.

butthurt about someone making claims on bad programming for the game? Well, considering that the stadimeter bug does exist and not just "insufficient information/knowledge"... I would suggest you helping reaper to fix it, instead of complaining that he has no idea wtf he is doing... Especially after he admitted that he was wrong in his judgement.

dixi

Reaper7 has a stadimeter fix in his UI mod (his is a two step process). I have a stadimeter fix in my UIs mod (totally automatic no user input necessary). So stadimeter fixes already exist. What Reaper7 was trying to do was fix the stadimeter problem at the source - in the .exe :yep:

gap 06-21-11 12:26 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Targor Avelany (Post 1688242)
... I would suggest you helping reaper to fix it, instead of complaining that he has no idea wtf he is doing... Especially after he admitted that he was wrong in his judgement.

dixi

I think Pintea was complaining about someone else's statements. Please, read carefully the whole discussion :03:

Shiplord 06-21-11 12:37 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by urfisch (Post 1687978)
...blame the ones who caused this...
dude.

lol, he is one of those responsible who caused this:know:

stoianm 06-21-11 12:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Targor Avelany (Post 1688242)
Stop side-tracking the topic.

butthurt about someone making claims on bad programming for the game? Well, considering that the stadimeter bug does exist and not just "insufficient information/knowledge"... I would suggest you helping reaper to fix it, instead of complaining that he has no idea wtf he is doing... Especially after he admitted that he was wrong in his judgement.

dixi

hey mate... like tdw said the problem was fixed... read careful... Pintea not liked the fact that urfisch said that the romanian programers are bad... very strange if i am thinking at his contact bos from ubi Romania:D(or maybe that was just a dream)... in my experience i know that are bad and good people all over the world... not depend by nationality... and like sober said read careful... Pintea helped a lot on this forum

dixi and respect

stoianm 06-21-11 12:53 PM

@urfisch... last time you puted me in a complet fog... with that topic that let's go to work with UBI and after that with this topic where you want to learn new things... and after that you increased the fog with impolite words about people... i saw that you are friend also with elanaiba... i supose you know that he is a romanian programer also ..so he is bad too?.... comme one dude... what is happend to you?... maybe in the future you will need to learn things from the bad people:D... you never know what the life can reserve for you:hmmm:
:o


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.