SUBSIM Radio Room Forums

SUBSIM Radio Room Forums (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/index.php)
-   SH4 ATO Mods (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/forumdisplay.php?f=234)
-   -   [TEC] HOW TO MAKE NEW FONT IN SH GAME? (https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=255781)

Jeff-Groves 07-25-23 12:38 PM

X, Y, Width, and Height only need to be scaled as long as they match the scale of the TGA or DDS file.
So if you scale say Chalk.dds up to 200%?
A script that scales the off file up should work. No need to translate off to text file.

Bartholomew Roberts 07-25-23 09:25 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves (Post 2877934)
X, Y, Width, and Height only need to be scaled as long as they match the scale of the TGA or DDS file.
So if you scale say Chalk.dds up to 200%?
A script that scales the off file up should work. No need to translate off to text file.

but most Font in the game don't have a txt file, only off . So it's still needed. Say FPHunt38 eg. I wonder is there a way to transfer normal Font file like TTF、EOT into off. That would bring much more possiblities .

propbeanie 07-26-23 07:08 AM

Just remember that the way the fonts were built for SH4 was an attempt to save on the RAM footprint (2005 programming). Some fonts do not have certain characters due to their use in the game that do not require all of the characters for varying applications. This is similar to indexed color use in tga or dds files. You choose the palette you work with.

Bartholomew Roberts 07-26-23 07:32 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by propbeanie (Post 2878021)
Just remember that the way the fonts were built for SH4 was an attempt to save on the RAM footprint (2005 programming). Some fonts do not have certain characters due to their use in the game that do not require all of the characters for varying applications. This is similar to indexed color use in tga or dds files. You choose the palette you work with.

Just in case someone play or make mod other than english, a unified code and little extra letters are need for all good. So I decided to enlarge some of the stock font for most compatibility.

Jeff-Groves 07-26-23 01:32 PM

The fonts in Game only use the dds or tga file to render.
The off file only tells the Game the positions to read for each letter/symbol to render.
The txt file is only for checking out what the off file says to the Game.

As long as the new dds or tga follows how the originals are done?
Should be no problems as long as the off file is done correctly.
It's all explained in the linked thread somewhere above.

As for off files that have no txt that goes with them? I'll just translate those and provide a link to DownLoad.
I highly doubt anyone will use a script for 010 anyways.
:roll:

Jeff-Groves 07-28-23 01:07 PM

Almost done with the script to translate the off files to text files.
Just need to format the output to look like the text files that already exist.
:)

https://www.subsim.com/radioroom/pic...ictureid=13249

The reason I'm copying the original format is the translate txt to off file script will read the needed areas properly.

Jeff-Groves 07-28-23 02:47 PM

I can tell you that some text files do NOT show all the settings in the off files.
So may need to re-export all the text files.

Format on export is done. Just need to convert the byte to a string character and then is all good.

A glimpe at the script..........

string f;
int k=3, i, c[3], y, x, h, w, sIndex;
ubyte l;
char W[40], sFile[];
//Start the code
OutputPaneClear();
sFile = InputOpenFileName("Select File", ("*.off | *.txt"));
sIndex = FileOpen(sFile);

f = FileNameGetBase(sFile, false) + ".off";
Printf("%s \n", f);//test for file name
Printf("Nb.char HSep VSep \n");
for( i = 0; i < k; i++)
{
c[i] = ReadInt();
FSkip(4);
}
Printf( " %i %i %i \n", c[0], c[1], c[2]);
Printf("Char x y width height \n");
for( i = 0; i < c[0]; i++)

{
l = ReadUByte();

Bartholomew Roberts 07-28-23 08:58 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves (Post 2878350)
I can tell you that some text files do NOT show all the settings in the off files.
So may need to re-export all the text files.

Format on export is done. Just need to convert the byte to a string character and then is all good.

A glimpe at the script..........

string f;
int k=3, i, c[3], y, x, h, w, sIndex;
ubyte l;
char W[40], sFile[];
//Start the code
OutputPaneClear();
sFile = InputOpenFileName("Select File", ("*.off | *.txt"));
sIndex = FileOpen(sFile);

f = FileNameGetBase(sFile, false) + ".off";
Printf("%s \n", f);//test for file name
Printf("Nb.char HSep VSep \n");
for( i = 0; i < k; i++)
{
c[i] = ReadInt();
FSkip(4);
}
Printf( " %i %i %i \n", c[0], c[1], c[2]);
Printf("Char x y width height \n");
for( i = 0; i < c[0]; i++)

{
l = ReadUByte();

Shouldn't there be tab between letters&numbers?And is there a way to insert a equipment or upgrade and batch rename the item number behind?

Jeff-Groves 07-29-23 10:06 AM

Everything IS Tab seperated.
Only difference to the output text is it uses DOS linefeed instead of the UNIX linefeed like the existing text files.

Imports to Spread Sheets just like the originals.
:03:


And is there a way to insert a equipment or upgrade and batch rename the item number behind?

I have no idea what you mean.
:hmmm:

Bartholomew Roberts 07-29-23 01:51 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves (Post 2878462)
Everything IS Tab seperated.
Only difference to the output text is it uses DOS linefeed instead of the UNIX linefeed like the existing text files.

Imports to Spread Sheets just like the originals.
:03:


And is there a way to insert a equipment or upgrade and batch rename the item number behind?

I have no idea what you mean.
:hmmm:

Say you insert [Equipment 3] after [Equipment 2], then there are two [Equipment 3], if you want to make all equipments in group order, you have to add 1 number to every equipment behind. If you add more than one equipment in multiple places, it will be a mess. Is there a tool like S3D to handle this?

Jeff-Groves 07-29-23 02:23 PM

We are talking about FONTS in this thread.
There is no Equipment to talk about.

Now if you mean adding characters? Yes. Once I do a reverse Script it will encode to the off format.
After that it's up to you to check and adjust as needed.

Jeff-Groves 08-01-23 11:51 AM

Working with the Devs of 010 We found a Bug.
Some characters don't print out. They are going to fix that Bug.
In the mean time I use NotePad++ to insert the missing characters.

Since there's only around 16 off files that need a txt file it's not a big deal.
Once I have all the text files done I'll post a link to down load them all.
:up:

Bartholomew Roberts 08-02-23 12:12 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves (Post 2878870)
Working with the Devs of 010 We found a Bug.
Some characters don't print out. They are going to fix that Bug.
In the mean time I use NotePad++ to insert the missing characters.

Since there's only around 16 off files that need a txt file it's not a big deal.
Once I have all the text files done I'll post a link to down load them all.
:up:

Good job, that could be used by all mod maker in the future. Only the large font need to be converted. For small font stock could be used, Agency_12 could be replaced by Agency_24. So you could do some 4 times off file just in case. Like Hunt152, FPArhi96, FPCond72 or Agency_112.

Jeff-Groves 08-02-23 12:55 PM

Those Fonts don't exist so can not create a txt file.

Bartholomew Roberts 08-02-23 10:00 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves (Post 2879028)
Those Fonts don't exist so can not create a txt file.

Just using the already enlarged txt and multiply their number by 2 again and rename accordingly. It is the OFF file that bother the most.

Jeff-Groves 08-03-23 12:07 PM

It took 4 lines of code to double the settings in the off file.
Not only does the Script change the original off file?
It outputs a text file also.
Would you like to see one?
:03:

Not only can the Script double sizes. It can change sizes by addition.
Say you want a font only 2 pixels larger. So from 3 pixels to 5.
It can do that also.
:up:

Here's your FPHunt152.0ff
https://www.mediafire.com/file/w0hyy...nt152.off/file

Bartholomew Roberts 08-04-23 01:40 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves (Post 2879141)
It took 4 lines of code to double the settings in the off file.
Not only does the Script change the original off file?
It outputs a text file also.
Would you like to see one?
:03:

Not only can the Script double sizes. It can change sizes by addition.
Say you want a font only 2 pixels larger. So from 3 pixels to 5.
It can do that also.
:up:

Here's your FPHunt152.0ff
https://www.mediafire.com/file/w0hyy...nt152.off/file

But that won't fit the image file,the whole point is to use existed image file to make exact font larger. All numbers must be mutiplied uniformly. If you want to make more variation, better to make small font 4x in dimension, like Agency_16 to Agency_64.

Jeff-Groves 08-04-23 03:07 PM

You need to increase the dds or tga file.
It's not my intent to do the work for you!
Figure it all out.

Bartholomew Roberts 08-04-23 10:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jeff-Groves (Post 2879293)
You need to increase the dds or tga file.
It's not my intent to do the work for you!
Figure it all out.

Sorry might be a misunderstanding there, I only mean there is no way to increase image size unevenly in math standard.

"Not only can the Script double sizes. It can change sizes by addition.
Say you want a font only 2 pixels larger. So from 3 pixels to 5.
It can do that also." That won't work.
As long as multiply the number of off with int, the image would fit, your FPHunt152.0ff would absolutely work in theory:Kaleun_Salute:

---------------------------------------
I'v checked your file, there seems a little trouble.
https://img1.imgtp.com/2023/08/05/Jrg8ywdz.jpg

FPHunt152 should be 4x the size of FPHunt38 right? But the actual size is smaller. I'v already enlarged the dds. That is our first test anyway.

This is how it should look

https://img1.imgtp.com/2023/08/05/6QC5kVDJ.jpg

Bartholomew Roberts 08-04-23 11:31 PM

And I found another astonishing fact, different version has different basic font

https://img1.imgtp.com/2023/08/05/AFbY0Xa8.jpg

The smaller on is from KSDII mod that's russian font I guess

So make sure to use the stock Font of english version's off file


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1995- 2025 Subsim®
"Subsim" is a registered trademark, all rights reserved.