Log in

View Full Version : I suck at math!!!!


SubSerpent
10-11-06, 10:33 PM
God I hate algebra!!!:damn:

Anyone know how to do this stuff? It's been like 10+ years since I've seen this stuff!

Evaluate and Simplify the problem

x2y – 3x – y when x = -1 and y = 1

SubSerpent
10-11-06, 10:34 PM
Also, does anyone know of any good math websites where you can enter problems like these and get the answers and where it shows you how it solved the problem?

Kapitan
10-12-06, 12:31 AM
www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize (http://www.bbc.co.uk/bitesize)

lesrae
10-12-06, 12:35 AM
Substitute in the values and then do the sum:

x2y – 3x – y when x = -1 and y = 1

= (-1 * 2 * 1) - (3*-1) -1

= -2 - (-3) -1

= -2 + 3 -1

= 0

(I think)

goldorak
10-12-06, 01:27 AM
Substitute in the values and then do the sum:

x2y – 3x – y when x = -1 and y = 1

= (-1 * 2 * 1) - (3*-1) -1

= -2 - (-3) -1

= -2 + 3 -1

= 0

(I think)

Strange, by convention numerical factors are always written before the variables so x2y should really be written 2xy.
Otherwise it could be interpreted as x^2*y.

The Noob
10-12-06, 03:26 AM
@SubSerpent

I suck at math too. Badly. :p

STEED
10-12-06, 05:38 AM
What do you think calculators are for? :ping:

jumpy
10-12-06, 06:07 AM
hehe, maths? I had to take my GCSE twice - grade E 1st time, grade D second time.
Was always better at languages. :roll:

Now I have an impressive CAD program to work out all of my sums etc for drawing work. Who needs a pen and paper anymore?

Now I do something a little in line with algebra (in as much as it has alkward syntax and rules etc) but completely different:

;;; DRAWING / PLOT SETUP ROUTINE FOR ******** DRAWINGS 1:100 @A0
;;; SETS LIMITS AND LOCKED VPORT IN PSPACE WITH CORRECT PLOTTING
;;; SETTINGS BEFORE PROMPTING USER TO SAVEAS.
;;; CREATED BY **** **** : 10/10/06.


(DEFUN C:A0-100 ()
;; SWITCH TO M/SPACE
(COMMAND "TILEMODE" "1")
(COMMAND "ZOOM" "E")

;; SWITCH TO P/SPACE
(COMMAND "TILEMODE" "0")

;; P/SPACE SETTINGS
(COMMAND "LIMITS" "0,0" "1189,841")
(COMMAND "GRID" "ON")
(COMMAND "ZOOM" "E")
(COMMAND "LAYER" "MAKE" "_VPORT" "")
(COMMAND "VPORTS" "0,0" "1189,841")
(COMMAND ".MSPACE" "ZOOM" "E")
(COMMAND "ZOOM" "1/100XP" ".PSPACE")
(COMMAND "REGENALL")

;;PLOT SETTINGS
(COMMAND "-PLOT" "Y" "LAYOUT1"
"\\\\ukleifile02\\HPCL30" "OVERSIZE: ISO A0"
"MILLIMETERS" "LANDSCAPE" "NO" "EXTENTS"
"1:1" "CENTER" "NO" "."
"NO" "NO" "YES" "NO"
"NO" "YES" "NO"
)

;; LOCK VPORT
(COMMAND "VPORTS" "LOCK" "ON" "ALL" "")
(COMMAND "ZOOM" "E")
(COMMAND "LAYER" "SET" "0" "FREEZE" "_VPORT" "LOCK" "_VPORT" "")
(COMMAND "REGENALL")

;; FINAL
(INITDIA)
(COMMAND "SAVEAS")

(PRINC)

)

;; END DEFUN
It's fairly basic for CAD programing, but I'm getting there oh so slowly :rock: if you don't hear from me it's because I'm 'Lost In Stupid Parentheses' :arrgh!:

ASWnut101
10-12-06, 02:20 PM
Yes, its defenatly 0, no doubt about it.