PDA

View Full Version : Help for beginners - suggestion ??

sfbrain
07-22-06, 11:27 AM
Hi everyone,

What a great game, and i enjoy reading about all your exploits and seeing all those mods and extensions created for SHIII.

What would be very helpful would be if a 'Sticky' message could be added to the forum that was designed to get complete beginners (like me), up and running.

I would love to know, what mods to add and how to add them without crashing my software.

Perhaps a guide to the bug fixes and the most commonly used mods to create an improved and (bug fixed) base platform.

Just a tried and tested collection of mods to help us 'new boys', looking at all the stuff you experts have done is very daunting for people like me, and to be honest, is putting me off, because its difficult to work out, what is needed without causing install problems.

I'm sure i'm not the only one who would like to extend the game and join you guys in this forum.

What does everyone think ?

All the best

Sfbrain

SnowStan
07-22-06, 11:33 AM
Good suggestion, I could that too, just started playing this game.

Harmsway!
07-22-06, 01:40 PM
Looking at all these mods is like Christmas presents under a tree. All those boxes which one do you open first. Once you choose one do you spend time with it? That can be tough with all those fine wrapings waiting to be torn open.

Don't be put off just play the defualt sim ( with Patch ) and enjoy. Later add one of the Super Mods and enjoy.

I've tried a whole bunch of Mods but when I got my new computer last month I installed only these so far;

SHIII(official patch)
GW(without 24h fatique)
GoBack(key command to back out of periscopes)
Hires small moon (I don't like the GW moon)

Eventualy I'll add some more eyecandy but what I listed above is the basic setup I insist on having. And also know where your careers are stored and back them up. Mine are stored here;

C:\Documents and Settings\user\My Documents\SH3\data\cfg\Careers