PDA

View Full Version : Newbie Questions

Dreadnought6
03-16-06, 01:43 PM
This is my first time using this forum. I've only been playing Silent Hunter 3 for about 2 and a half weeks weeks, and have a great time with the game. However, I have a few questions that I haven't been able to find the answers for in the small manual or in the rather short tutorial. I would really appreciate any answers or advice on these issues, and I apologize if these questions have already been addressed on the forum.

#1: Is destroying neutral ships a bad thing? It would make sense that a government wouldn't want to incite violence with a country when there's already so many other nations to worry about warring. I see quite a few neutral boats in the game, and usually I go out of my way to destroy them. I'm just curious if this has drawbacks in the game, since attacking a ship that isn't hostile seems like a terrible policy.

#2: Many times when I fire a torpedo at another ship, it appears to be a direct hit. Yet, insteading of exploding, the event camera shows the torpedo literally bounce off the boat and dive straight down! I have duds disabled under realism, so I don't understand what's wrong. What's up with that? How can I avoid this problem?

#3: Is there any way to disable fatigue? I know it's cheesy to cheat, but I haven't been playing long and find this a bit annoying.

#4: I know this is a big question, but how the heck to you get away from Destroyers once they've spotted you? I tried diving and going silent, but they simply ping me and either depth charge, or wait. I can't seem to outrun them, and it seems no matter what I do, once I've been spotted, I'm doomed. Is there a trick to getting away?

#5: Once a ship has spotted you, assuming it's rough seas and you must use torpedos, how do you kill them when they're zig-zagging? Should I just be more careful not to be notices?