PDA

View Full Version : Networking two computers, make me smart.

TLAM Strike
10-06-05, 10:29 PM
Ok I got a computer for my dad. It’s a simple set up but its good for going on the Internet and using some programs. Now I want to link it to the Internet via my computer rather than buy a modem for it and installing another phone jack in the wall.

My computer has the modem and a network card and his has a network card, can I just connect them with some network cable and he will be able to go on the net when my machine is running? Or do I need a router or something else?

I’m new to this network stuff. :roll:

lesrae
10-07-05, 12:33 AM
There are a few options here;

The simplest is to get a 'crossover' cable, this is the ethernet version of an old serial null-modem cable (that's showing my age!). If you connect the 2 computers network cards with this and then configure them both with suitable IP addresses then they'll talk to each other quite happily.

The next option is to use a hub/switch and some normal network cables and to hook the machine up in much the same way as above, but with the hub joining the cables together. There's no real advantage to this over the crossover cable for just 2 computers, it only comes into it's own when you have more than 2 items that need to be networked.

The 3rd option is to go wireless - you add a wireless hub to the main computer (yours) and a wireless network card to your dad's and they can be connected together as if they were physically cabled up. I've not played with wireless yet so I'm no expert, but it's main advantage is obiously that you can have computers spread around the house without the wires running everywhere.