View Full Version : Running Windows apps in Linux
I tried installing my first windows game (Far Cry 2) in Ubuntu 16.04 using Crossover.
It was a total pain to get it to go, in windows it is easy to edit the shortcut to add parameters so it would be "C:\Games\Far Cry 2\bin\FarCry2.exe" -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1.
There are others also that can be added.
How do I add the parameters in Linux, the icon points to a lnk file that contains this:
#!/bin/sh
exec "/opt/cxoffice/bin/wine" --bottle "Far_Cry_2" --check --wait-children --start "C:/users/Public/Desktop/Far Cry® 2.lnk" "$@"
Also when I run the game it is full screen and the screen size is different and when I exit the desktop changes to this screen size.:doh:
Anyone got any idea's? Maybe I can run it windowed but not sure how to do this.:hmmm:
Rockin Robbins
05-04-17, 09:45 AM
Usually games have internal settings for screen resolution and windowed rendering. This is always the best way to accomplish what you want.
As for command line launch parameters, I've never used them so couldn't really help you. I'd look to change the game shortcut to include them.
I'll play with it tonight and see what I can come up with.
BarracudaUAK
05-04-17, 04:20 PM
I've never used Crossover (which adds to wine), however, usually in WINE, you just add the command-line parameters as you would in a Windows shortcut (or dos).
For example, lets say I want to start SH3, which runs in WINE without any issue I would type:
wine sh3
to use an argument you just add it,
wine sh3 -arguments -go -here -like -this
Adding the arguments as per the instructions from the program.
Now for Silent 3ditor, I have to have dotnet 2.0 and dx9 installed into a 32bit wine prefix, called ".wine32". So to make S3D run I would type it like this:
env WINEPREFIX=~/.wine32 wine s3d -arguments -go -here
The "~/.wine32": "~" is the users home/username directory. the ".wine32" is the wine prefix directory. So "~/.wine32" just tells WHERE the "env" (environment) is located.
default "wine" should be ".wine".
I really need to work on the WINE thread I started......:hmmm:
Let me know if I need to clean this up!
EDIT: As far as resolutions go, just set your game to the desktop resolution and you'll be good to go.
I remember reading somewhere that WINE used to reset your screen resolution when the game exited, but there have been several changes to "X" (which draws your desktop) so an older command (that you could put in a shortcut) doesn't work reliably anymore.
Plus Gnome has switched to Wayland. And Ubuntu was working on Mir.
Both "Wayland" and "Mir" are replacements for "X".
I can get into that in detail in another thread if you would like me to elaborate, it is off topic.
Barracuda
The game doesn't cover the desktop resolution (1920x1080), the games max size is 1280x1024.
The desktop icon for the game has no place for parameters and only points to a file called farcry2.lnk that contains whatis shown in the first post. The actual game exe file is farcry2.exe but nothing concerned with the desktop icon points to that exe file.:hmmm:
Did you get a chance to try it out Steve? I cannot find anywhere to place the parameters.:hmmm:
BarracudaUAK
05-07-17, 03:27 AM
#!/bin/sh
exec "/opt/cxoffice/bin/wine" --bottle "Far_Cry_2" --check --wait-children --start "C:/users/Public/Desktop/Far Cry® 2.lnk" "$@" It is referencing a ".lnk" file, in "C:/users/Public/Desktop/..." which means that it is most likely referencing the "Windows" link in the WINE directory, which -as far as WINE is concerned- is drive "C:".
To give you an example, my primary WINE directory as viewed in WINEcfg:
drive C: is viewed as "../drive_c".
If I go into my "/home/[login-name]/.wine" directory, I see 2 sub-directories:
"dosdevices" and "drive_c"
if I go to the directories specified in your link I quoted above on my PC (C:\users/Public\Desktop...", I have:
Steam.lnk
(and a few others)
That is most likely where you would need to edit the parameters.
Now you COULD (#1) add a shortcut to your Ubuntu desktop and edit it to launch Far Cry that way (basically a "shortcut" of what you would type into the terminal, not a "Linux shortcut to the Windows .lnk file")
I did find this if you want to (#2) try editing the "Windows .lnk" file in your WINE
https://askubuntu.com/questions/433623/how-can-i-add-a-wine-launcher-to-the-wine-desktop
IF you want to add a Linux shortcut (#1 above) this is a "generic" shortcut based one of mine. I did try building a shortcut for SH3 "from scratch" using this one, and it worked.
You just need to make sure you have your directories in the shortcut correctly (capitalization!) and it should work. RR should be able to clarify any Ubuntu specific tweaks needed.
You should be able to right click the desktop and select "create shortcut" (or something similar). Then just edit the fields in the box that opens..
On the "Command" line put:
env WINEPREFIX="/home/[login-name]/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe [game].exeOn the "Work Path" line:
~/path/to/game/folder/I'm still getting my System back up to 100%, I'm trying to get my VM software installed so I can get the Ubuntu VM I've still got here working again so I won't have to "translate" across distros, I can just "do it" and let you know.
Barracuda
If only things were that easy in Ubuntu 16.04!!:doh:
There is no way to create a shortcut from the desktop of from the file, checking online I get this:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/854373/how-to-create-a-desktop-shortcut
I'm not sure what the best method is.
Since there is a shortcut on the desktop already I could just copy that and edit it. That seemed to work, the editable boxes are:
Name Far Cry 2
Description
Command (I have entered the path and exe here)
Comment
There is no place for 'work path'??
There is also a tab for Permissions that has the 'Program is executable" ticked.
Where would I place the parameters, I assume at the end of the command?
I haven't tried it yet, there is no place to say run windowed.:hmmm:
Rockin Robbins
05-08-17, 10:50 AM
Okay, all your answers should be at https://appdb.winehq.org/objectManager.php?sClass=application&iId=8522
The maintainer there has Far Cry 2 working perfectly at a platinum level.
BarracudaUAK
05-08-17, 04:21 PM
If only things were that easy in Ubuntu 16.04!!:doh:
There is no way to create a shortcut from the desktop of from the file, checking online I get this:
https://askubuntu.com/questions/854373/how-to-create-a-desktop-shortcut
I'm not sure what the best method is.
Since there is a shortcut on the desktop already I could just copy that and edit it. That seemed to work, the editable boxes are:
Name Far Cry 2
Description
Command (I have entered the path and exe here)
Comment
There is no place for 'work path'??
There is also a tab for Permissions that has the 'Program is executable" ticked.
Where would I place the parameters, I assume at the end of the command?
I haven't tried it yet, there is no place to say run windowed.:hmmm:
Yes, place any command line parameters/arguments after the .exe
Sorry I forgot to mention that!
"Work Path" is you changing to the directory before you enter the command to start the game.
Example:
cd windowsnotepad.exeEntering everything in the "Command" field is same as being at the "C:\" prompt and typing
C:\windows\notepad.exeYou may have to set Windowed mode in the game...
The main differences in the way the shortcut works is due to the differences in the Desktops, some have more "options" than others. I have ignored the "Work Path" in KDE and had the program run fine.
One last thing as I forgot which one you have, Which version of WINE is installed?
wine --version
or starting Winecfg from the menu, should tell you.
Barracuda
I have Wine version 2.7.
I tried to run the game using this shortcut: (some shortcut)
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
I am not surprised it doesn't work!!!
Is start.exe supposed to be there?
BarracudaUAK
05-09-17, 08:27 AM
I have Wine version 2.7.
I tried to run the game using this shortcut: (some shortcut)
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
I am not surprised it doesn't work!!!
Is start.exe supposed to be there?
Yes, start.exe is a wine internal process....
I'm really tired as I typed this, so if anything is unclear, let me know and I'll try to clarify.
(I'm still trying to get my Virtual Machine software re-installed, so I can do this in Ubuntu...)
ok, double checking several of my shortcuts, and I tested this with SH3....
I missed a step when I posted the "generic" shortcut previously, sorry!
Find your Far Cry 2 .exe with your file manager, and make a note of the folder path.
This part should be good:
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe
Just a few thoughts here, Which "drive" did you choose to install to in WINE?
IF "C:\", then the path should be something like my edited version here.
If you setup another "drive" in WINEcfg, (useful for keeping all your games in one directory), Then I'll post a "path" for that one too.
If installed to C:\
/unix /home/reece/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far\ Cry \ 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1If you installed it to another "drive", then this is a better example:
(assumes default install "path", minus the "program files".)
/unix /home/reece/[directory-that-you-told-wine-was-another-drive]/Ubisoft/Far\ Cry \ 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1an example of my sh3 shortcut, starting with the /Unix:
/unix /home/[login-name]/driveH/Ubisoft/SilentHunterIII/sh3.exeRemember that any "spaces" or special characters (like a "backslash") must be remarked with a "\".
Note the first part of the shortcut in first "quote" above:
"C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe"
Anytime you use a terminal (or make a shortcut) and the directory name has spaces, you must always add the "\".
Program\ Files
Far\ Cry\ 2
This\ is\ a\ really\ long\ example\ directory\ name
Can be annoying but it beats the windows way for more that 8 characters:
cd progra~1
Barracuda
Hi, I do appreciate your help, I hope I am not getting under your skin!!:oops:
I tried these shortcuts:
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
Does nothing.
/unix /home/reece/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far\ Cry \ 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
also assuming typo above:
/unix /home/reece/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
Both Caused this: "There was an error launching the application."
Also:
/unix /home/[login-name]/drive_c/Ubisoft/SilentHunterIII/sh3.exe
/unix /home/Reece/driveH/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
Both Caused this: "There was an error launching the application."It's being a total pain!!!:doh:
The path to the Farcry2.exe file is "/home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin"
BarracudaUAK
05-10-17, 05:21 AM
Hi, I do appreciate your help, I hope I am not getting under your skin!!:oops:
I tried these shortcuts:
It's being a total pain!!!:doh:
The path to the Farcry2.exe file is "/home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin"
No problem, I'm not looking at it, so I have to "ping" with ideas, and see what "echos" back in your post...
Not long after joined the forum, I was helping Sublynx sort out the SH3 Wide Screen Mod induced video driver issues with his AMD 4500 series card in his laptop. Shortcuts are easy compared to driver issues!:up:
With my SH3 example, I was just trying to give you a basic idea of what a non-"drive C" install MIGHT look like....
So now that I have your complete install path, I'll see if I can get a working command here...
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /unix /home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
IF that doesn't work, then we will need to try this one:
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /unix /home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program\ Files/Ubisoft/Far\ Cry\ 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
NOTE the "\" before the 'spaces' in "Program Files" and "Far Cry 2".
Linux command line does NOT like spaces. They are "special" characters, so you have to tell it so. With a "\".
If neither of these work, We may have to trouble shoot this in the terminal and see what is going on.:hmmm:
If the above works, ignore this part below...
Option 1: The fast way: Use your file browser, and go to the location of the farcry2.exe and right click on the back ground within the "folder" (not on any particular file), there SHOULD be (somewhere in there) a "open terminal here" (or similar). Click it.
Option 2: Open a Terminal Window (should be on your launcher menu somewhere, just type "terminal" in the search if you can't find it), and manually type your way to your farcry2.exe.
Assuming that you are in your /home folder, it should look something like this in the terminal:
[reece@localhost ~]$ The "~" means you are at "/home/reece" so navigating to your farcry2.exe should go as follows:
You can also break this up, and do one directory at a time. Don't forget the "\" before the spaces!
cd .cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program\ Files/Ubisoft/Far\ Cry\ 2/binwine farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
On my end: Something is interfering with my Virtual Machine software starting, so I'll need to figure out what that is, and then I can give you actual step-by-step instructions as to where to find something (such as the terminal).
As it is, I'm running off of 4 month old memory of about 2-3 hours of using Ubuntu...
Barracuda
The results are:
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /unix /home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /unix /home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program\ Files/Ubisoft/Far\ Cry\ 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
Both do nothing.
Terminal Prompt:
reece@LAPTOP-UBUNTU:~/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin$
In here placed the below in Terminal (Far Cry 2 folder) as above.
wine farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
Wine Message:
The Wine configuration in /home/reece/.wine is being updated, please wait.
Error:
Error Message:
The wine configuration could not find a mono package which is needed for .NET packages to work correctly.
BarracudaUAK
05-11-17, 04:28 AM
Sorry, busy day working around the house...
The results are:
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /unix /home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
env WINEPREFIX="/home/Reece/.wine" /usr/bin/wine C:\\windows\\command\\start.exe /unix /home/reece/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program\ Files/Ubisoft/Far\ Cry\ 2/bin/farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
Both do nothing.
Terminal Prompt:
reece@LAPTOP-UBUNTU:~/.cxoffice/Far_Cry_2/drive_c/Program Files/Ubisoft/Far Cry 2/bin$
In here placed the below in Terminal (Far Cry 2 folder) as above.
wine farcry2.exe -GameProfile_SkipIntroMovies 1
Wine Message:
The Wine configuration in /home/reece/.wine is being updated, please wait.
Error:
Error Message:
The wine configuration could not find a mono package which is needed for .NET packages to work correctly.
OK! This is why the shortcuts are not working...
One of them possibly is (the last one I posted most likely), but since you don't have "mono" or "dotnet" installed, Far Cry 2 is failing to start. And without a terminal, you don't get to see the error messages.
Before I go into this too far, a few questions so I know "where your system is" in the process. These questions are not necessarily related to each other, nor are they "in order".
1: Did WINE ask you to install "mono" when you ran winecfg for the first time?
2: Did you install Mono in Wine?
3: What are the system requirements for Far Cry 2?
There are 3 Possible fixes for this, but they require 2 different approaches.
1: Install Mono in your existing Wine 'prefix' (.wine the directory is the prefix).
I'm still looking for how to do this in Ubuntu, since it appears to be per prefix, and it appears to not be installed.
EDIT: https://askubuntu.com/questions/800557/wine-install-do-i-need-mono-gecko-etc
The answer to the question appears to be the recommended way to install Mono...
If this works, and you can run Far Cry 2, then you can safely ignore the rest of this below...
2: Make a new Wine Prefix and have it install Mono in that prefix when it asks you.
3: Make a new 32bit Wine Prefix and install the required "dotnet" into that prefix.
This can get a bit confusing the first time around. But knowing the path to your home directory makes it easier for me to walk you through it.
NOTE: Due to the way WINE is coded, trying to install any version of Dotnet in a 64bit prefix (default on a 64bit version of Linux, most of the time) will not work.
So we can't just install dotnet into your existing .wine prefix and have it work...
Which is why I asked about the system requirements above.
Options 2 and 3 would require you to -most likely- re-install Far Cry 2. But you could just tell it to install to the same directory that it is already in.
I say most likely for the following reasons: on my pc Silent Hunter 3 is installed using the default ".wine", but I CAN run it using the 32bit ".wine32" prefix, where I have .dotnet2 and DirectX9 installed.
Other games/programs will not work this way. Some require that it be "installed" in the prefix that I try to run it with.
But to install dotnet2.0, etc... you will need to get "winetricks".
Winetricks is a "simple" script that "flips all the right switches" to "fake" success so that dotnet will install "correctly".
If you want to check it out, here is the wiki page on WineHQ.org:
https://wiki.winehq.org/Winetricks
But I'm hoping it won't be necessary!
Barracuda
Hi, there is no mention of .NET in the system requirements for Far Cry 2.
I'm fairly sure that I don't have Mono or .NET installed by Wine, I don't remember it asking though I did step away when I installed it. Is there a way to check? Certainly there is nothing in the list of installed applications.
I have now installed mono using this command:
sudo apt-get install mono-complete
though at the end of the install I got the following:
Setting up mono-complete (4.2.1.102+dfsg2-7ubuntu4) ...
Processing triggers for libc-bin (2.23-0ubuntu7) ...
/sbin/ldconfig.real: /usr/lib/nvidia-375/libEGL.so.1 is not a symbolic link
/sbin/ldconfig.real: /usr/lib32/nvidia-375/libEGL.so.1 is not a symbolic link
N: Ignoring file '20auto-upgrades.ucf-dist' in directory '/etc/apt/apt.conf.d/' as it has an invalid filename extensionThen I was prompted for a 75mb update, so I done that, hopefully that went in ok.
I will have to do some further testing but I have been called away and won't be able to look at it till atleast Sunday.
Thanks.
Back again!!:D
I fixed the "N: Ignoring file '20auto-upgrades.ucf-dist' in directory '/etc/apt/apt.conf.d/' as it has an invalid filename extension" error, there shouldn't have been a file extension, seems others have had the same issue.:yep:
Although mono is now installed both links still do nothing.:wah:
From step 2 on I do not know what you mean by "prefix", in step 2"
Make a new Wine Prefix and have it install Mono in that prefix when it asks you.
I already have mono installed, does this install it again?:hmmm:
Some of the problem is probably due to the fact it was install by Crossover, I will investigate that side.:hmmm:
I found a pdf manual of the Crossover for Linux and discovered the Main Crossover Manual, from here I can nominate a target exe and add parameters, it worked.
Not the best solution due to the fact that I still don't know how the shortcut runs the exe file but at least it works.
I think I have taken enough of your time on this Barracuda, and very thankful, but I think it would be best to let it rest.:yep:
Maybe after some more reading on the subject I might get my head around all this.:oops:
I ordered a book on the Commands online but still haven't received it so I might have to chase after that!!:doh:
Still don't know if I should install .NET but it seems obvious that Far Cry 2 doesn't need it.
I have many more Windows apps to install, what a pain, hopefully it gets easier.:hmmm:
Again Thanks.:up:
Rockin Robbins
05-15-17, 05:47 AM
One of the more fun things I've done in the past year is leaving my dependence on Windows software behind and learning the Linux alternatives. One piece of software I used for years, Quintessential Media Player, was uniquely great at ripping CDs and letting me have absolute control over the .mp3 process with bitrate, variable bitrate, etc.
However, I've found that Asunder in Linux is even better at ripping CDs and Clementine (available also for Windows) is a hugely better media player. So win! Win!
That's happened over and over again in the year since Windows had a mental breakdown and I loaded up Ubuntu to see how Linux had progressed. The answer was that it's better than Windows. And https://appdb.winehq.org/ is your friend!
Yes I am slowly getting to know Linux, I like it, the only thing is some Windows apps I like such as:
Jet Audio
Wavelab (have legal purchased version)
ETS2
Far Cry 3
Radio programs:
HDSDR
Radiocom
Sorcerer
Ham Radio Deluxe
Omni-Rig
Hopefully some of these or equivalents are available for Linux.:yep:
propbeanie
05-15-17, 08:25 AM
For me, Reece, the hardest part is understanding the audio stack in Linux, which might be why you have issues with getting WaveLab to run correctly. Which version do you have, and what audio device is installed? Some of your other apps might have audio issues also... does Far Cry use 3D audio?
My Ubuntu 16.x didnt' have any issue at all with getting the onboard audio to work, I definitely have issues with recording and mixing multi-channel, and I cannot for the life of me, figure out how to get my EMU 1820M to work in it, though there are multiple examples of doing so on several sites... :lol: Like modding SH4, I'm "thick" on some aspects of things... :har: - it just won't sink in...
The ones listed are ones I want to install, there many be equivalents I have to search.:hmmm:
Wavelab is an old version (4.0) but works well, especially the waveform restorer.
Far Cry 2 is just stereo, some of the newer games might be 3D audio, atm I only have the laptop speakers, I intend to get some good external speakers later.:yep:
it just won't sink in... The keyword being sink!!!:haha:
I wish you luck on that, so far the sound works well, even on Far Cry.
Another reason I gave up on Win 10 is that I tried to run XP in a virtual desktop, it worked ok except the sound, I couldn't get that going!!
I got Far Cry 2 to work on Win 10 but had a lot of problems and lockups, so far it is working well in Linux.:)
propbeanie
05-15-17, 09:30 PM
...
The keyword being sink!!!:haha:
I wish you luck on that, so far the sound works well, even on Far Cry.
Another reason I gave up on Win 10 is that I tried to run XP in a virtual desktop, it worked ok except the sound, I couldn't get that going!!
I got Far Cry 2 to work on Win 10 but had a lot of problems and lockups, so far it is working well in Linux.:)
Isn't that something? A Windows XP emulation, in another Windows OS, and they couldn't get the sound to work correctly?... let's see.... WDM... WDI... The letter "W" stands for "Windows", the "D" is for "Driver", the "M" is "Model" and the "I" is "Interface"... besides trashing the "legacy" firewire again, what else did they trash with 10? Oh wait, my EMU audio card worked fine in the Pre-Release Candidate, but was bombed on the public release. Why?... DRM? who knows. It'll work in there now, but I no longer use Win10, and I'm about phased out of Win7 too here in a few weeks... I do still have XP so that I can use my 16 channel, multi-track audio card, until I can get it going in Ubuntu.
BarracudaUAK
05-16-17, 07:55 PM
Sorry, things got busy over the weekend, and I didn't get a chance to get back to you sooner...:doh:
....
From step 2 on I do not know what you mean by "prefix", in step 2"
Make a new Wine Prefix and have it install Mono in that prefix when it asks you.
I already have mono installed, does this install it again?:hmmm:
Some of the problem is probably due to the fact it was install by Crossover, I will investigate that side.:hmmm:
Just to answer your question...
I put this in the thread I started on WINE, since so many are making the jump to Linux:
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=229238
But I'll quote the relevant part here:
The Basics:
Once WINE is installed it makes a hidden directory in your "home" folder.
This "WINE" directory is known as a "Prefix", a Wine prefix is a directory that "mimics" (or "fakes") a Windows drive, with a registry, a "Windows", "Program Files" and other needed directories and files (all redirecting to linux files).
You can have multiple "Prefixes", each tailored to a specific game if you need them...
There is a "start" menu (aka "Application Launcher") shortcut for the configuration program "winecfg". There you can set which version(s) of windows you would like wine to mimic while running your programs. (I have mine set to Win7 as the default.)
As well as set specific windows versions for specific programs.
Some games, such as old 16bit games that originally ran on WIn95/98 will need a 32bit prefix. You can make a new "prefix" and name it whatever you like, the usual suggestion is "wine32"...
This "wine32" directory is completely separate from the default wine directory.
It has its own registry, windows, and program files directories.
Installing a program, such as "Silent 3ditor" into one prefix, will not make it available in another prefix. Just as installing a game on one Windows PC, doesn't make it available on another Windows PC.
This prefix also has its own configuration settings.
However, to do this, you must use the command line, and you must use the command line to access the winecfg for that prefix as well.
Just to give you an idea, I have 6 different "prefixes" (.wine, .wine32) at the moment! :doh:
I have various mod tools for different games, (I've got mods going in 9 different games at the moment, all in various stages. And some pending WINE/video driver updates to continue.) and those various mod tools and games require various versions of dotnet and directx. The different "prefixes" let you isolate the games environment so that you can reduce the possible chances for errors. Almost like having a separate PC for each game you want to run!
But the Linux program "WINE", is still just a single program. Installed at (I think) "/usr/bin/wine".
The various "prefixes" are just the "environment" that you are telling it to create, similar to a configuration script. Just "a bit more complex".
The ones listed are ones I want to install, there many be equivalents I have to search.:hmmm:
Wavelab is an old version (4.0) but works well, especially the waveform restorer.
Far Cry 2 is just stereo, some of the newer games might be 3D audio, atm I only have the laptop speakers, I intend to get some good external speakers later.:yep:
The keyword being sink!!!:haha:
I wish you luck on that, so far the sound works well, even on Far Cry.
Another reason I gave up on Win 10 is that I tried to run XP in a virtual desktop, it worked ok except the sound, I couldn't get that going!!
I got Far Cry 2 to work on Win 10 but had a lot of problems and lockups, so far it is working well in Linux.:)
Good to know that you got it working.
Sometimes it just takes a bit of tweaking.
But the upside is that you learn more about the system quite a bit faster than you would otherwise!:up:
Barracuda
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.