PDA

View Full Version : SH3 GWX vs SH4 Operation Monsun

suitednate
03-11-15, 12:14 PM
Asked this question over on the SH4 forum and got answers from people that tend to lean towards that platform so I'm posting this here to get answers from both sides....................Anyone here play both of these? Would like to know your opinion on which one you prefer if you have played both and why. I'm a veteran of SH3+GWX but am thinking about delving into Operation Monsun because I also have SH4. Just want to hear some opinions before I put in the work of installing it.

Sailor Steve
03-11-15, 12:57 PM
I play both, so I hope I can give you a fair comparison.

The Good: Nicer graphics, automatic crew rotation, 'Battle Stations', which puts the entire crew on alert and the best men of each team into their assigned compartments, the much nicer 'M' key which brings the message to you rather than take you to a 'Radio Room' screen, and probably a few more that I'm forgetting.

The Bad: SH4 doesn't have a multi-time-zone clock like SH3 does. SH3 shows GMT but if you pass the cursor over the time it also gives you local time, which changes with each time zone. SH4 gives you the time at your home base, and nothing else. Others have reported differently, but it has been my experience that I always have the exact same start time for every patrol, and I think it was 1100 hours.