PDA

View Full Version : why are ports so bare?

avers
10-22-14, 07:40 PM
hey guys, in TMO with RSRDC (I believe its the same with RFB as well) many ports are so bare. What I mean is with RSRDC, some ports, such as Manila and Surabaya, always have only like, 5 merchant ships sitting in port and there are no warships! Even in bigger ports, like Pearl or Fremantle, there are more ships, but there all anchored and it makes the game a little bit boring if u start in port. Why does RSRDC do this?

Dread Knot
10-22-14, 08:33 PM
I'm no expert on game coding, but a lot of it comes down to the average processing power that was available to the computers of gamers when SH4 was released. The more 3-D objects in the game that the game has to render, the more difficult it becomes to do and the slower the game runs. Adding the thousands of light vessels found scurrying about in your average bustling seaport likely would have caused a crash or lock-up.

I'm sure processors and graphic cards have improved greatly since then, but considering the trade-offs--eye candy versus a smooth running game--I don't think anyone has felt that ports populated with lots of ships is worth it.

Armistead
10-22-14, 09:30 PM
hey guys, in TMO with RSRDC (I believe its the same with RFB as well) many ports are so bare. What I mean is with RSRDC, some ports, such as Manila and Surabaya, always have only like, 5 merchant ships sitting in port and there are no warships! Even in bigger ports, like Pearl or Fremantle, there are more ships, but there all anchored and it makes the game a little bit boring if u start in port. Why does RSRDC do this?

Are you talking of when the US had the bases, not seeing US warships? I don't believe there were any warships in Manila when the Japs attacked, cept an old sub tender that was too damaged to leave.

You won't see many at Sura either, but they're a few TF outside to fight the Jap invasion.