PDA

View Full Version : Advice

Stevietee
10-18-14, 08:24 PM
Hi guys.

First of, I am new to this forum and if this topic is in the wrong place, apologies, feel free to move it.

Anyways, I have an old laptop with poor specs. I bought Silent Hunter 5 today, thinking I could maybe chance it and see if it works...nope, it didn't. I am keen on playing the game so my question is;

What PC or laptop do you guys recommend me getting that will run the game smoothly, but not excessive in price?

I know this isn't a computer website, but I thought the best place to ask would be this forum, seeing people here play the game and would like to know what people at their home use?I am not good with computer stuff, only good at putting a disk in and playing the game.

Thanks.

Aktungbby
10-18-14, 08:42 PM
Stevietee! :Kaleun_Salute: hang tough, tech assist will arrive ...shortly!:yep:

Sailor Steve
10-18-14, 09:51 PM
Welcome aboard! :sunny:

First of, I am new to this forum and if this topic is in the wrong place, apologies, feel free to move it.
Nope, this is the perfect place. We do have a computer forum attached to our General Topics section, but you're asking about running SH5, so this is the place.

Anyways, I have an old laptop with poor specs. I bought Silent Hunter 5 today, thinking I could maybe chance it and see if it works...nope, it didn't. I am keen on playing the game so my question is;
I too have a very old (9-1/2 years now) desktop, and it won't run SH5 either, so I feel your pain very literally. In fact I stopped playing my beloved SH3 because my PC won't run the latest greatest mods for that old gem.

What PC or laptop do you guys recommend me getting that will run the game smoothly, but not excessive in price?
Unfortunately any computer that will run SH5 at all is going to cost a bit, and any one that will run it well is going to cost a lot.