PDA

View Full Version : Total newbie just got SH4 - should I install mods right away?

JustGotSH4
07-21-14, 09:16 PM
I'm a complete newbie to submarine simulations, and I just got Silent Hunter 4 (and the expansion since they were both on sale) so I have version 1.5 .

I'm still progressing through Submarine School (about to start the convoy attack tutorial), but I was wondering should I install mods before I start the career campaign? As I mentioned before, I'm a total newbie so I'm not too focused on total realism or immersion at this point, but if there are mods that substantially improve the game play are there any I should install before starting the main campaign, or should I do a vanilla play through first?

Also, I know historically that there were issues with torpedoes running too deep. Does that also happen in game so I should compensate for it, or is it ignored?

avers
07-21-14, 09:55 PM
hi and welcome to subsim.

I do recommend mods, for newbies I recommend the mod called fall of the rising sun. I've used it a little and it changes the graphics and the UI without changing the gameplay to much. here's the info about it.
http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=147988

Btw the download link in the thread doesn't work so here's another place to download.
http://silenthunter.filefront.com/file/Fall_of_The_Rising_Sun;110483

fitzcarraldo
07-21-14, 11:10 PM
Try first GFO - Game Fixes Only mod -. It adjusts a lot of details for better realism. Then try GFO with RSRDC for a better campaign. After that you can try RFB and the most challenging TMO.

Regards.

Fitzcarraldo :salute:

TorpX
07-21-14, 11:40 PM
GFO would be a good choice, but it's up to you.

People often find TMO difficult.

in_vino_vomitus
07-22-14, 12:48 AM