PDA

View Full Version : How a $500 car beat $400k Rally Racers

Red October1984
06-26-14, 11:24 PM
I love this story. :smug: Makes me want to go buy a cheap-o car and enter Rally America or something.

LINK (http://jalopnik.com/5497042/how-a-500-craigslist-car-beat-400k-rally-racers)

Betonov
06-27-14, 12:56 AM
Well, he did buy the one BMW that was (almost) built as a rally car when it drove off the line :)

Red October1984
06-27-14, 01:37 AM
Well, he did buy the one BMW that was (almost) built as a rally car when it drove off the line :)

True....but still. A self-taught sort-of mechanic just buys a car and manages to enter WRC.

I found out that there's a Rally America race not more than 3 hours northwest of me at Salem, MO. I missed the 2014...but hopefully I'll see if I can't go to the 2015 100 Acre Wood Rally.

There's also some sort of Regional Championship Rally about 45 minutes north of me. It's still TBD so I haven't missed it this year. :arrgh!:

None of this is WRC...but it's local...and it's awesome.

Betonov
06-27-14, 01:58 AM
Buy an Audi Quattro, the old one, the kind that raced in B-group rally.
And a good comic, you'll be bored waiting on the finish line :03:

Jimbuna
06-27-14, 05:11 AM
You could always do it 'differently'.

Young driver Jack Cottle drove friends onto race circuit for prank
He got onto Brands Hatch track in Kent while laughing and joking
Cars can clearly be seen in the video racing past the driver's vehicle
Prank meant VW Beetle race, which crowds had flocked to, was stopped

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2658725/Is-Britains-idiotic-driver-Video-posted-YouTube-appears-boy-racer-driving-girlfriends-VW-Polo-Brands-Hatch-circuit-middle-race.html

Wolferz
06-27-14, 07:39 AM
None of that multimillion dollar commercial team crap. Just a man and his car.:up:

Schroeder
06-27-14, 08:18 AM
And a good comic, you'll be bored lying in the coffin. :03:
Fixed that for you.:88)

Betonov
06-27-14, 10:31 AM
Fixed that for you.:88)