PDA

View Full Version : I miss the "Good-ole days"

Dr.FullOfIt
07-13-12, 06:35 PM
Hexes and counters and imposing rules booklets. TacticsII, Squad Leader, Battle for the Atlantic, and VG's Fleet series. Most gamers today think a chit is the result of a bathroom visit. I feel like the last DoDo Bird sometimes. Oh well, old wargamers never die, they just turn on the computer!:know:

TorpX
07-17-12, 12:42 AM
I feel the same way.

I think computer games have great potential, but the obsession with glitzy graphics and instant gratification wastes it. Most of the ones I've tried are either chock full of bugs, or like a silly pin-ball game. :nope:

Platapus
07-17-12, 04:44 PM
There are still groups that play the "hex games".

If anything I think "hex games" have expanded since I started playing them in the 70's. We have a gaming store close to where I work. OMG, the selection and variations! :huh::huh::huh:

The good ole days of board-based games is NOW! :yep:

The problem is not finding the games, but finding the time and the people to play them with. This gets a bit harder the older you get (wheeze!). :D

BTW, welcome aboard!

kiwi_2005
07-17-12, 04:59 PM
I remember the time when I would buy a game and I actually finish it without any distractions cause the next new game to come out was months away. Now I buy a game get half way through it then some other game catches my eye so i get that and then get another and another and before i know it i have 20 games on my hdd with only maybe 2 ive managed to finished.

Games are coming out to fast these days i can't keep up! :/\\!! its like a games war between the companies, get that game out before XX gets thers out i don't care if its full of bugs get it out anyways!

Games ive manage to finish this year

Skyrim finish the story in a few days but still play it cause its one of those games that could go on forever