PDA

View Full Version : Sorry another targeting question

Johnfb
01-25-12, 08:45 AM
Hi all,
Sorry for another targeting question.
As I continue to improve my gameplay I was wondering if there is a simple approach to this. If I have my sub at zero degrees and a ship is on a course that will pass me side view on ,when it reaches my zero degree view, at what degree, viewing through scope should I fire?
I have auto shooting on as I am not advanced enough for manual yet.
So if a ship is chugging along should I fire at such and such a degree so the torpedo hits it when the ship crosses my zero degrees?
So if I am at zero would firing when the ship is at 30 degrees, approaching from right side through the scope, for example
Is there a calculation to do this simple approach to shooting?

Thanks in advance.

flag4
01-25-12, 09:19 AM
...hope the link works

scroll down to FAST 90. this i think is what you are after

http://www.google.com/url?q=http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showpost.php%3Fp%3D652326%26postcount%3D67&sa=U&ei=CQ8gT_3UJMqu8AOBg9mqDg&ved=0CAQQFjAA&client=internal-uds-cse&usg=AFQjCNGcs-3n62Y64zXUAKLm7GHR2TZzxw

hope its right for you!!

vanjast
01-25-12, 09:27 AM
Your best 'window' for hitting the target is when it's at the -10<>+10 degree window (side-on) to you. In other words the ship AOB (Angle on Bow) is within the same window. (AOB = 80 to 100 degrees)

In the periscope view you'll notice a gyroangle indicator to the right of the scope. (The angle changes as you move your scope around) This is the bearing angle (relative to your sub direction) that your torpedoes will travel at.

As you've set up for straight ahead (0 degrees) and all the TDC data is automated, you just have to turn the scope until this gyro angle = 0.
All you now do is wait for the ship to cross your scope sights.. and fire.
(NB: don't forget to open the torpedo doors before you fire, otherwise there is about a 5 second delay before your torps go off, which can cause you to miss).