PDA

View Full Version : The truth about Newt Gingrich

Bubblehead1980
01-22-12, 05:14 PM
I am in Florida until this evening visiting family, just saw a Romney superpac add against Gingrich telling lies.So lets correct the record on Gingrich:

84 ALLEGED ethics violations were filed against Gingrich(all by Democrats, including Nancy Pelosi) 83 were dropped and one was upheld, Newt Paid 300k fine for alleged misleading statements.Well as a law student, I can attest that people unintentionally perjure themselves at times by being uninformed or not remembering things exactly as they once did, thus why prosecutions for perjury are rare.Basically, Democrats had enough to convict him of violating house rules(which is not much), so they slammed him, who was a successful speaker of the house at the time.The IRS investigated the alleged tax violations, guess what? the IRS cleared him.The Republicans who vored against him, well he made enemies, esp after some seats were lost due to voter backlash over the attempted impeachment of Bill Clinton.

Newt's private life, well that is his business.So what if he had an affair? Humans have a right to be happy, obviously he was not happy with his first two wives, so he found another who he is apparently happy with.People get self righteous and say I would never blah blah, most of those are guys who could not do any better anyway. Newt was a hypocrite then to rail against Clinton for infidelity, but that was years ago and he was humbled by his loss of his position as speaker, reputation etc. Gingrich has made the point himself saying his perspective is different now, he's a grandfather, he's older etc, it makes sense.Honestly, who here has not made a mistake? Learned from it and moved on?