PDA

View Full Version : hello and a newbie question

juhmohng
01-18-12, 09:32 AM
like to say hello to everyone here on the forum and your community in general, id like to ask a newbie question re modding....im new to the modding scene, but would like to add a few mods to sh3,...when you start your mod collection do you generally keep to the same author or group of mods, to minimise conflicts or just pick and mix and sort the tangles out later.....the bigger size mods are out of reach for me due to file size, so im only looking at the smaller size mods.....with such an awesome collection of mods to choose from it would be nice to start in the right direction...any tips would be welcome......great site, love the posts,......juhmohng....

Red Heat
01-18-12, 09:37 AM
Hello

And welcome aboard...modding its not my beech but im sure someone it will answer to your question son and show you the right direction, mate...just hang on! :D

Tom
01-18-12, 09:56 AM
Welcome aboard. :)

The way I look at mods is this: the game, out of box, is flawed in many areas. Different authors have written mods/additions/changes to address those issues. For any single flaw, there are several, often quite different fixes available.

There are several supermods, such as GWX and NYGM that radically change the way the game works. They change graphics, add new items to the game, but most importantly fix many of the problems with the campaign and AI.

My suggestion, and what I believe most players have done, is to choose and install one of these supermods first. The reason for this is, that your choice of supermod might limit the other available mods, although currently most mods work with the major supermods. Also, some of the changes in the supermods already cover aspects you would otherwise like to change with a mod.