PDA

View Full Version : Hi from a brand newbie

rich12545
09-16-11, 08:02 PM
I'm brand new to the game and this forum. Have no idea where to introduce myself to get promoted so I'll try here.

Never played a submarine sim before. I play flight simulator all the time (fs9) and have played war and strategy games for years. My first was Bismarck by SSI for the Apple II a long time ago.

I'm an old fart, age 65, and retired. Looking forward to playing the game and came to this site originally to get some downloads.

I bought the Gold game from GG. It's downloaded so the only manual is a pdf with pages on both sides of a sheet with a dark background. Printing that out to read, and it looks like reading it is a must, will be a total pain so I'm wondering if anyone knows where I can get a printer friendly manual or if one is even available.

Looking forward to many more visits to the forum.

Torplexed
09-16-11, 08:24 PM
Greetings and welcome to the forum, captain. :sunny:

White Owl
09-16-11, 09:10 PM
Hi there, Rich. :)

Honestly, the game's official manual isn't all that great. Reading up in this forum - especially the Sub Skipper's Bag of Tricks (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=146795) thread up top - will teach you a whole lot more than that manual. There are good tutorial videos around here for complex things like manual targeting with the TDC and whatnot.

TBear
09-16-11, 11:49 PM
:salute:

:yeah:

:DL

Tbear

magic452
09-17-11, 12:30 AM
Welcome to the boat mate. :salute:

You already found the best manual there is, Subsim.
Read through the PDF manual a few times but I wouldn't print it out unless you have a table with one short leg or need something to get the BBQ started.

Do the school missions and just play around with all the various buttons, etc.
You can't hurt anything. Being a flight simmer you should get the hang of things pretty quickly.

I'd start with one of the single missions instead of a career less pressure.