View Full Version : Multiple Installs??
swordfish1
01-11-11, 02:28 PM
Anyone know if it's possible to have 2 installs of SH5 on separate hard drives without conflicts? Would like one set up with my existing mods and one with the Magnum Opus Beta to experiment with, without having to keep modding/unmodding on my present setup.
Matador.es
01-12-11, 02:57 AM
That is precisely what i want to do, dont want to ruin my game experience with repairing things i broke up
swordfish1
01-12-11, 03:59 AM
Well said Matador, I can't believe we're the only ones wanting to do this. Let's hope someone out there has the answer!
Alaaarm!!
That's what I was searching for,
I'm guessing not if other folks are wanting to do this but havent found any answers yet?
:hmmm:
oui on peut avoir plusieurs sh5 sur son disque dur ( j'en est 3 avec different mods) il suffit de copier le jeux dans un nouveau fichier programs files ou autre( ne pas mettre 2 fois ubisoft , simplement ubi soft cela marche:salute:
Harmsway!
01-17-11, 06:33 AM
SH5 has unlimited installs. Once installed you never need the disc again. Just make sure you set up for local saves and you won't have any conflicts. I have it on my game machine and my laptop. No problem. Although I never tried logging on both at the same time.
ReallyDedPoet
01-17-11, 08:28 AM
SH5 has unlimited installs. Once installed you never need the disc again. Just make sure you set up for local saves and you won't have any conflicts. I have it on my game machine and my laptop. No problem. Although I never tried logging on both at the same time.
I think they mean Multiple Installs on the same rig. This can be done for SH3 and 4.
ReallyDedPoet
01-17-11, 08:31 AM
oui on peut avoir plusieurs sh5 sur son disque dur ( j'en est 3 avec different mods) il suffit de copier le jeux dans un nouveau fichier programs files ou autre( ne pas mettre 2 fois ubisoft , simplement ubi soft cela marche:salute:
yes you can have multiple SH5 on its hard drive (I was 3 with different mods) just copy the games into a new file Program Files or other (not to 2 times ubisoft, ubi soft simply it worksTranslated to English ^^^^ :DL
What about saved games for this, any ill effects? With SH3 and 4 there is a nice little App. that separates them.
This is an old thread but taking the comments above, I have written a batch file that swaps out the active SH5 copy and the settings and saves in your Documents directory for another copy and saves just by renaming folders. No registry changes. Just drag and drop the folder of the inactive SH5 copy you want to activate on the batch file.
Works for me to run mod tests on one copy, keep another for the stock version and a third for The Wolves of Steel.
You need to know how to edit the batch file below to work in your set up. If you know about Windows batch file programming, it should be easy.
Copy the code below and save it in a text file but change the extension to .bat instead of .txt.
To be safe, the actual renaming lines have been commented out so you can test it to see if it works after editing the path names pointing to your Documents directory and the Silent Hunter 5 install directory. Once you are happy the simulation works, edit out the REM part in front of RENAME in the 4 relevant lines.
You can create as many copy of the default install folder as you like. Give each a unique name and make that as part of the name of an empty folder WITHIN each copy. The batch file looks for a folder with "unique_name_" as the first part of its name to correctly swap out the active copy. E.g. unique_name_SH5_1.2.Wolves_of_Steel. Note that you have to do this for EVERY copy.
See details within the batch file.
Hope it is not too complicated and of use to someone.
@ECHO off
REM =============== Intro ===================
REM This batch file swaps the current game with another copy in a dropped folder
REM It will also rename the settings file usually located in the Documents folder
REM of the current user
REM Requires an unique name for each copy stored in a folder name within
REM the directory of that copy
REM Create an empty folder
REM name it in this format: unique_name_[choose_a_name_for_the_copy_without_these_brackets_ or_spaces]
REM MUST start with "unique_name_"
REM Spaces in file names or path may cause problems
REM If possible, initial game installation should avoid using
REM the C:\Program Files or C:\Program Files(x86) folders as they need
REM special write privileges to change content which may be a problem
REM ==================================
REM ============ Modifications to make this work ===============
REM 1. Duplicate clean copies of your game
REM 2. Create a subfolder in each giving each copy a unique name as mentioned above
REM 3. Change the default path variables in the User Defined Variables section below
REM 4. Place this batch file in the same folder containing your game copies (optional)
REM 5. Try dropping an inactive copy to swap out the active copy
REM 6. Look at the DOS Console window output and make sure the file name changes are right
REM 7. If everything looks right, uncomment the 4 lines in this batch file that
REM renames files (remove the REM before RENAME) and save.
REM The batch file is now ready to do its thing.
REM ==================================
REM User Defined Variables - change according to your set up =========================
REM Change this to the path to your documents folder if necessary
SET settings_file_path=%HOMEDRIVE%%HOMEPATH%\Documents
REM No need to change the next item
REM This is the default folder where Silent Hunter 5 settings are saved
SET settings_file_name=SH5
REM change this to where Silent Hunter 5 had been installed
SET full_installed_path=C:\Ubisoft\Silent Hunter5
REM Parse variables ================================
For %%A in ("%full_installed_path%") do (
Set installed_path=%%~dpA
Set installed_folder=%%~nxA
)
IF "%installed_path:~-1%"=="\" SET installed_path=%installed_path:~0,-1%
IF [%1]==[] GOTO NoTargetProvided
ECHO.Copy to activate is: %~1
IF NOT EXIST "%~1" GOTO NoTargetFolder
for %%F in ("%~1") do SET TargetFolder=%%~nxF
REM Check current default folder
ECHO.Default Installed Path is: %installed_path%\%installed_folder%
IF NOT EXIST "%installed_path%" GOTO NoInstallPath
IF NOT EXIST %installed_path%\%installed_folder% GOTO NoInstallFolder
REM Make sure the installation folder is not the same as the target folder
IF [%~1]==[%installed_path%\%installed_folder%] GOTO InstallFolderDropped
REM Look for name of the current active copy
IF NOT EXIST "%installed_path%\%installed_folder%\unique_name_*" GOTO NameNotFound
for /f "delims=" %%a in ('dir "%installed_path%\%installed_folder%\unique_name_*" /ad /b') do @set current_copy_name=%%a
SET current_copy_name=%current_copy_name:~12%
echo.Current active copy is: %current_copy_name%
REM Main swapping routine ===============================
REM Now change the installed folder to its real name
ECHO RENAME "%installed_path%\%installed_folder%" "%current_copy_name%"
REM RENAME "%installed_path%\%installed_folder%" "%current_copy_name%"
REM Now change the target folder to the default install folder name
ECHO RENAME "%~1" "%installed_folder%"
REM RENAME "%~1" "%installed_folder%"
REM rename the settings files in User/Documents
IF EXIST "%settings_file_path%\%settings_file_name%" (
ECHO RENAME "%settings_file_path%\%settings_file_name%" "%current_copy_name%"
REM RENAME "%settings_file_path%\%settings_file_name%" "%current_copy_name%"
)
IF EXIST "%settings_file_path%\%TargetFolder%" (
ECHO RENAME "%settings_file_path%\%TargetFolder%" "%settings_file_name%"
REM RENAME "%settings_file_path%\%TargetFolder%" "%settings_file_name%"
)
Set ErrorMsg=Switched to %TargetFolder%!
GOTO printMsg
REM Error processing =================================
:NoInstallPath
Set ErrorMsg=Installation Path not found!
GOTO printMsg
:NoInstallFolder
Set ErrorMsg=Installation Folder not found!
GOTO printMsg
:NoTargetProvided
Set ErrorMsg=No Target Folder specified!
GOTO printMsg
:NoTargetFolder
Set ErrorMsg=Target Folder not found!
GOTO printMsg
:InstallFolderDropped
Set ErrorMsg=Aborted as Target Folder is the installation folder!
GOTO printMsg
:NameNotFound
Set ErrorMsg=Real Name not found in installed folder
GOTO printMsg
REM Print messages and exit ==============================
:printMsg
ECHO %ErrorMsg%
pause
exit /b
THEBERBSTER
05-23-16, 04:28 AM
A Warm Welcome Back To The Subsim Community > baka
Subsim <> How To Donate <> See The Benefits <> Support The Community (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?p=2033119%23post2033119)
Where have you been hiding with information like that?:rock:
Haven`t tested with SH4 but should work by changing the directory path names. There are already utilities out there for SH3 and SH4. May be useful for other games as well.
Hi Baka,
I've come here from a link in 'THEBERBSTER' tutorials page,but I don't understand it.
Is there any chance of a step by step guide to get 2 different installs of SH5 on 2 different drives so they don't conflict with each other in any shape or form ?
Regards lowbow.:salute:
vBulletin® v3.8.11, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.