PDA

View Full Version : German Campaign.... SH3 GWX or SH4 OM720?

BULL
08-11-10, 10:37 AM
I have been playing SH4 for several months while reading and viewing a host of books and videos about the US submarine war in the Pacific.... well I have run out of books/videos on that topic now and I have started reading about the Battle of the Atlantic.

I played SHII long ago but never played SHIII for various reasons.... I have both SH3 and GWX and SH4 and could mod with OM720. Which will provide the better experience from those who might have done both?

Thanks!
Scott

Sailor Steve
08-11-10, 11:21 AM
Yes.

If you already have both, you should try both. SH3 has had two more years of modding, and modders have devoted more attention to it, so it looks an plays great.

SH4 has a better look to it, plus some better features. Either one is great.

BULL
08-11-10, 01:27 PM
Thanks Sailor Steve

I did notice in doing the training academy on SHIII that I missed the graphics of SH4... I think I might start with SH4 OM and see how it goes.

If I could upgrade the graphics of SH3 maybe I would start there but seems there are some basic limitations to that.

Sailor Steve
08-11-10, 02:49 PM
It is a quandary. SH3 has many more mods, all of them good, many of them great. I keep wishing SH4 had all the cool goodies that have been made for SH3.

But SH4 not only has the great graphics, but it has exactly the crew management that was asked for when we complained about SH3's. It's more stable, has better graphic goodies (I'm thinking of the way the radio messages are handed to the captain on a clipboard, just like real life), and a bunch of other neat things. Overall it's the better platform, without question.

SH5 is even better. Unfortunately it's even less complete. Maybe in time...

Forensicman101
08-16-10, 08:09 AM