PDA

View Full Version : Simple Problem

Theremster
07-10-10, 04:36 PM
Hey guys,

Total newb here, just wondering how to turn on the radar. Left clicking on it is not working, and i am running about 10 feet deep. Am i missing something really dumb? The icon to "turn radar on/off" is also not lit up, so i cannot do it that way either,

thanks,

Theremster

rein1705
07-10-10, 05:01 PM
is your boat equipped with ether surface or air radar sets? are you using any mods? In vanilla i dint think you can use radar underwater at all.

Raven79
07-10-10, 05:27 PM
Also, early war there simply is no radar. In time you can purchase it in the harbor and after that, begin to use it. Vanilla has 40ft radar depth.

Theremster
07-10-10, 05:40 PM
Ohhh ok, i am just beginning, first mission in 1942 and am really having a hard time with stuff. Is it normal to begin with a sub that does not go very deep?

Armistead
07-10-10, 06:04 PM
Your sub will go deeper. I think the shallow depth gauge stops at 165, but if you look under the dial, you'll see a tab that you an click and it will switch it to the deeper dive dial. You can change each dial by clicking the tab beneath it.

You can also keep diving by hitting the D key. I assume stock has this or an icon you can click, mods differ. You just have to remember to stop the dive, mine is the A key to level. Hit F1 and look at your shortcut commands for complete info.

I think you can obtain air radar at the start of the war in stock or at least after one patrol, just give yourself some renown at the start to purchase it with. Surface radar will become available after a patrol or two depending on mods, ect.

You can raise your air radar by pressing the T key while submerged at scope depth to check for planes before you surface.

rein1705
07-10-10, 06:13 PM
Which sub do you have? S-boats will crush at 250-300 feet I 've had them down to 300 but they DIDNT like it and i wouldn't advise diving that deep unless you need to.

Theremster