PDA

View Full Version : Hi, newbie here :)

neca12
04-15-10, 03:09 PM
Hi everyone.
Few days ago I got SH4 and tried it but I'd like to do it with realism 100%. So any newbie guide here? Also if there's any must have add on?

Keelbuster
04-15-10, 03:26 PM
Ahoy!

Check the sticky at the top containing guides for sonar, TDC, etc. This will help with the manual targetting in 100% realism.

As for mods, there are a few popular supermods out there that really improve the game from stock. I think they all require the U-boat addon which patches the game to 1.5.

The supermods I know about are:

Trigger Maru Overhauled (TMO)
Real Fleet Boat (RFB)
Operation Monsun (OM)
Run Silent Run Deep (RSRDM) - this is a mod for historical shipping traffic and major battles.

You can find info about these in the sh4 mods section.

Welcome aboard:arrgh!:

Bothersome
04-15-10, 03:28 PM
Welcome aboard!!

If it's your still new at the game, I'd suggest just playing the Vanilla version for a few patrols on each available boat first. You don't need to complete the campaigns, just get used to all the boats and get exposed to the destroyers trying to kill you a bit. Don't worry about getting sunk. Just learn all you can about their behavior. Call it sub school.

Once you get serious and really want 100% realism then you probably should get TMO or RFB mods. They fix a lot of wrongs in the sim. Like dive times and dud ratios. You want realism right? Then get as real as possible.

I like TMO best because it seems to reflect more of actual traffic that you would have likely run into if you went back in time (without your current memory) to fight as the captain of a WW2 sub. I personally don't like re-doing history. I'd rather play as what they knew.

Oh, by the way. you need to get the U-Boat add on to SH4 to get best results from these mods.

BillBam
04-15-10, 03:31 PM
Check this link for some great tutorial videos!

http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/showthread.php?t=146795