PDA

View Full Version : Hi & what did I do wrong??

CharlieReddog
02-08-10, 06:57 AM
Hi all,

I've just bowed to temptation and bought SHIV on steam. I used to play Silent Service II on the Amiga, but since then I've not been on a sub!

I just jumped straight into a career, with most of the difficulty options left as they were so I think I'm only about 40% realism at the moment.

On the first cruise, I managed to intercept and sink a couple of lone merchantmen, but then I stumbled onto a big contact. I figure they were assembling a convoy, or a taskforce in a big bay. I saw about 8 DD's, 2 Light cruisers and several big merchantmen. Most were stationary, although a couple were creeping around at 1kt.

I crept up to about 6,000 yrds, at pretty much 90Deg to one of the stationary light cruisers. Came to a halt, and rose to PD. Locked on, and fired 4 torps. (Figured I'd like to make sure of this one, and get the hell out of dodge since I'm new to it.)

After a long wait, all 4 missed>?? What did I do wrong? Seems that every time I lock on to a target, the torps miss, but when I just have the periscope over the target and launch, they'll hit? (Provided of course the ship doesn't evade).

I had to spin round, fire my 2 stern tubes (not locked as above), and they hit and she turned turtle in about 5 seconds and went down. I didn't even get pinged by sonar as I came out. Unfortunately, my mucking around earlier in the cruise meant I only had 1 stern torp left so back to base to refit and rearm.

Armistead
02-08-10, 07:22 AM