PDA

View Full Version : Have I made a huge mistake?!

latearrival
01-12-10, 06:20 AM
Hello.

I'm very new to this genre (about 10 hours with SH4!) and I wonder if anyone has an opinion or can help...

I just purchased SH4 (v1.3) from Steam, played for a few hours, and then went back to Steam and bought the U-Boat Missions, which seemed the easiest way to get to v1.5 (I wanted a read-out of my hull integrity, which didn't seem to exist on 1.3).

In my very limited experience, v1.3 seemed very stable, however v1.5 has been shocking. In the few hours hours that I've played v1.5, I've experienced:
- Crash to desktop;
- Being repeatedly told I'm passing the thermal layer when I'm cruising on the surface;
- Crew manning the conning tower when I'm submerged;
- Clouds on accelerated time, when the rest of the sim at 1x;

I'm running Windows 7 64bit. Have I made a huge mistake by getting the U-Boat Missions or is there a way I can get v1.5 working as it should?

Cheers!

(Until now I've been a flight-simmer, but sub-simming seems like it might be pretty cool!)

KlassenT
01-12-10, 07:01 AM
The only bug I'm familiar with from what you mentioned is the crew manning the deck when submerged; I think the general consensus is that this is caused by real-time corruption of the game in active memory (as opposed to a problem with the game files stored on your hard drive.) This one is usually fixed by saving and fully exiting the game, then firing SH4 back up and loading the appropriate save. The thermal layers and accelerated clouds are new to me, BUT-- I had a fair share of problems getting the Steam distribution up and running.

Hopefully you're on broadband so it's not as much of an issue, but Steam implemented the U-Boat Missions addon very poorly, and that's coming from someone who's usually in Valve's corner, but I'll include a quick checklist of how to ensure a correct install in a bit. ;)