PDA

View Full Version : newbie...which mods?

m14msgt
09-06-09, 10:23 AM
I am a newbie to this game. i see there are a lot of mods i can d/l. which ones should i go with first? do i need to patch my installed version with the 1.4 patch prior to d/l any mods? the GWX...is that something i can take advantage of? i am not a pc guru, and it seems like you have to know a lot about computer language for these mods to run. is there an "idiots" guide to mods? thanks...

Brag
09-06-09, 10:28 AM
Welcome aboard, M14!
GWX is very complete, one install and youre on your way. If your disk doesn't have the 1.4 patch already you need to insyall that first

Rafael
09-06-09, 10:41 AM
Right click on sh3.exe and click the version tab. It must be:

Version 1.4.0.1

There are many supermods.

Mod = short for modification.

GWX 3.0
NYGM
LSH3 4.0
WAC 4.0

The above are supermods.

Install SH3 (clean install), if need patched you download the patch an ubi.com.

Download http://www.users.on.net/~jscones/software/products-jsgme.html (http://www.users.on.net/%7Ejscones/software/products-jsgme.html) this great program and put the jsgme_setup.exe in:

C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\SilentHunterIII

Double click the jsgme_setup.exe in the above folder.

Make a folder called MODS.

Download 7-zip at: http://7zip-new.com/

Download a supermod (stated above, see the four I gave you) and extract a 7z file to C:\Program Files\Ubisoft\SilentHunterIII\MODS

If you want to install GWX, they have made a simple exe file now, just run the exe.

If you want to use SH3 Commander, download this great program too and install GWX3_CFG_for_SH3Commanders.exe.

Every supermod (only WAC don't have it) have special files for SH3 Commander.

With SH3 Commander you can adjust almost everything concerning game play and other things.

I hope this helps!

m14msgt
09-06-09, 10:42 AM