Log in

View Full Version : 1 key max time compression?


kdv
01-26-09, 10:36 AM
I really hate to post to ask this, but I cannot find the information to do the 1 key maximum time compression anywhere.

After re-installing SH3, everything has to be done from scratch again. That might teach me to back files up first :D!

Fr8monkey
01-26-09, 11:38 AM
Set max TC with one single hit?

Goto (C:\programs)\Ubisoft\SilentHunterIII\data\Cfg\Com mands_en.cfg and open with Notepad/Editor.

Scroll to [Cmd5] and add

Key1=0x6A,R,"Npad *"


It shall look like this:

[Cmd5]
Name=Time_compr_increase
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010001
Key0=0x6B,,"Npad +"
Key1=0x6A,R,"Npad *"

Save your changes!

This enables Npad * key to max TC with a single hit!
Nice to race the Kiel Channel.


A copy and paste from the keyboard hints and tips stickied above.

kdv
01-26-09, 11:52 AM
Many thanks to you sir!

I loath having to hit the "+" key constantly to get the TC back up.

Weiss Pinguin
01-26-09, 12:59 PM
Is there any way to bind it to a certain TC (x256, say), Or is it only min/max TC? :hmm:

Fr8monkey
01-26-09, 01:24 PM
Many thanks to you sir!

I loath having to hit the "+" key constantly to get the TC back up.

Especially in port!


Is there any way to bind it to a certain TC (x256, say), Or is it only min/max TC?


That sir I do not know.

badwolf
01-26-09, 01:52 PM
I have + key for single TC increase
........ * key for TC x16
........ / key for TC max

[Cmd5]
Name=Time_compr_increase
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010001
Key0=0x6B,,"Npad +"
Key1=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key2=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key3=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key4=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key5=0x6F,R,"NumPad /"

Very handy x16 when your hunting and you want to speed things up, I only run at TC x256 max anyway to get maximum airstrikes.

Weiss Pinguin
01-26-09, 02:12 PM
Hmm... You'll have to explain that code to me. If I wanted the * key to set TC to, say, 128x, what would the code for that look like?

badwolf
01-26-09, 05:54 PM
THIS IS A DEMO NOT A SUGGESTED SETUP

Key1=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key2=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key3=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key4=0x6A,,"NumPad *"

At TC x1 if you press the + key 4 times you would increase to TC x16.
The * key does the same as the + key, but because its repeated 4x (diagram above), one press and each command doubles the TC and so gives you X16 with a single key stroke. The readme says that he has only gone up to six keys - Key0 to Key5 - I haven't tried if more work either. It was a long time ago that I experimented and found this solution.
If you had the following:-

[Cmd5]
Name=Time_compr_increase
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010001
Key0=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key1=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key2=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key3=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key4=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key5=0x6A,,"NumPad *"

One press of * key would increase to TC x64

I think there may be a way to get any TC at one press, but it is a bit more involved.

Hope this explains it for you.

Weiss Pinguin
01-26-09, 06:06 PM
Ah, I see. The more repeats, the higher the TC goes per keystroke.

badwolf
01-26-09, 06:31 PM
IIRC what I did ages ago was the following:-

This is the setup after installing SH3.

[Cmd4]
Name=Time_compr_reduce
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010004
Key0=0x6D,,"Npad -"

[Cmd5]
Name=Time_compr_increase
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010001
Key0=0x6B,,"Npad +"

Now I believe that when a command is sent it looks at the 1st,2nd,3rd....Cmd.
Now we want it to see the Cmd 5 then 4 for it to work properly, So we swap them over to this.

[Cmd4]
Name=Time_compr_increase
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010001
Key0=0x6B,,"Npad +"

[Cmd5]
Name=Time_compr_reduce
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010004
Key0=0x6D,,"Npad -"

Then we add our commands. Lets say we have full TC is x2048

[Cmd4]
Name=Time_compr_increase
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010001
Key0=0x6B,,"Npad +"
Key1=0x6F,R,"NumPad *"

[Cmd5]
Name=Time_compr_reduce
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010004
Key0=0x6D,,"Npad -"
Key1=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key2=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key3=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key4=0x6A,,"NumPad *"

When you press * key once.
[Cmd4]
Key1=0x6F,R,"NumPad *" increases to TC x2048
[Cmd5]
Key1=0x6A,,"NumPad *" decreases to TC x1024
Key2=0x6A,,"NumPad *" decreases to TC x512
Key3=0x6A,,"NumPad *" decreases to TC x256
Key4=0x6A,,"NumPad *" decreases to TC x128

This happens very fast so you only see it jump from TC x1 to TC x128.

NOTE: It was ages ago when I did this so can't say how it performed, but just experiment.

badwolf
01-26-09, 06:34 PM
You've got it, Weiß Pinguin :up:

Weiss Pinguin
01-26-09, 06:54 PM
Cool, I'll have to try this out next time I'm in port.

gordonmull
01-26-09, 07:03 PM
Sweet!:sunny:

I had no idea this was possible.

badwolf
01-26-09, 07:22 PM
Also if you have my first setup the one I use.

I have + key for single TC increase
........ * key for TC x16 if you hit this key twice you get TC x256
........ / key for TC max

[Cmd5]
Name=Time_compr_increase
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010001
Key0=0x6B,,"Npad +"
Key1=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key2=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key3=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key4=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key5=0x6F,R,"NumPad /"

kdv
01-27-09, 10:19 AM
What a can of worms the newbie opened up eh?

Using Sub Commander I've pre-set my maximum 'comfortable' time compression limits to each possible situation. Adjusted now and then to accomodate for some nasty surprises.

RoaldLarsen
01-27-09, 03:04 PM
The readme says that he has only gone up to six keys - Key0 to Key5 - I haven't tried if more work either. It was a long time ago that I experimented and found this solution.I have successfully used up to Key9. I have not tried Key10 or higher. They may work.


[Cmd5]
Name=Time_compr_increase
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010001
Key0=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key1=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key2=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key3=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key4=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key5=0x6A,,"NumPad *"

One press of * key would set TC x64
Doing this would make you lose the ability to increase TC by one step using NPad '+'. You need to keep the line
Key0=0x6B,,"Npad +",
as you did in your earlier example.

Also you would only end at TC 64 if you started at TC x1. It would be more correct to say that you increased TC by 64, although that wouldn't be true if you were at TC x0. Perhaps best to say increased TC by 6 steps. If you start at TCx1 then you get to 64, but if you start at TCx16 you get to TCx1024

You should be able to implement:
[Cmd5]
Name=Time_compr_increase
Ctxt=1,2,6,9
MnID=0x3F010001
Key0=0x6B,,"Npad +"
Key1=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key2=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key3=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key4=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key5=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key6=0x6A,,"NumPad *"
Key7=0x6A,,"NumPad *"

One press of + key would increase TC by 1 step.
One press of * key would increase TC by 7 steps.
It would probably be more practical to use a 4 or 5 step increase.

Another approach is to set to a specific TC level, no matter what your starting TC level is. I do that by setting the key assignment once under [Cmnd3] the Pause Game command, and then multiple times under [Cmnd5]. The only problem with this is that if you are already paused, the pause game command puts you at TC x1, so you end up one TC level higher if you start from a paused state

I haven't played around with re-ordering the commands in the file (Like putting [Cmnd5] before [Cmnd4]). If that works, the easiest way to set to a specific TC number would be to put the command to go to TC x1 first [Cmnd6], then follow it with multiple instances of your key under [Cmnd5].

One other thing I have noticed is no matter what I remap, the numeric keypad <.|Del> key aways toggles the console visible|invisible, and despite the documentation, <Scroll Lock> does not toggle the console. (Yes, I have checked the state of the Commands_en file while the game is running.)

badwolf
01-27-09, 03:35 PM
Doing this would make you lose the ability to increase TC by one step using NPad '+'. You need to keep the line
Key0=0x6B,,"Npad +",
as you did in your earlier example. I used the example to explain how it works. I'm sorry if I misled you.
You can still use the one on the GUI for single steps.
It's nice to see you've got it working though. :up:
I have successfully used up to Key9. I have not tried Key10 or higher. They may work. For the keys you may have to use hexadecimal, just guessing. If you went to 9 then up to F would be very probable.
The next step is to use that idea and put it in the GUI.
I haven't played around with re-ordering the commands in the file (Like putting [Cmnd5] before [Cmnd4]). If that works, the easiest way to set to a specific TC number would be to put the command to go to TC x1 first [Cmnd6], then follow it with multiple instances of your key under [Cmnd5].
Yes! You would have to make sure that [Cmnd6] is the first command by putting it top of the list. I had that idea working and IIRC that was the way to do it. But I know 100% that it can be done.
One other thing I have noticed is no matter what I remap, the numeric keypad <.|Del> key aways toggles the console visible|invisible, and despite the documentation, <Scroll Lock> does not toggle the console. (Yes, I have checked the state of the Commands_en file while the game is running.)
Your correct. Haven't the faintest idea how to get that to work and "I'm not going there". I'm afraid the console key is hardcoded. I moved my Del key with MapKeyboard.
Also you would only end at TC 64 if you started at TC x1. It would be more correct to say that you increased TC by 64, although that wouldn't be true if you were at TC x0. Perhaps best to say increased TC by 6 steps. If you start at TCx1 then you get to 64, but if you start at TCx16 you get to TCx1024 I was trying to explain how it works and so you have to keep it simple. I looked into this ages ago and experimented with all the possible combinations, I have already tested the normal TC/increase thats how I know it works. The reason I did this was to make sure I was doing the correct TC from any setting.
Doesn't this explain what it does (from previous post)
........ * key for TC x16 if you hit this key twice you get TC x256 Doesn't this point out that if you hit the key at TC x16 then you would get TC x256 with that setup.
I guarantee that after a week, you will always use it. (Whatever setup you use, until something better comes along.) Note:This does not involve those who paddle about at TC x1max

badwolf
01-27-09, 05:19 PM
What a can of worms the newbie opened up eh? kdv
You sure have started something !?*$ :D

Scape
01-31-09, 01:40 AM
Thx Weiß! (http://www.subsim.com/radioroom/member.php?u=242965)