PDA

View Full Version : Service Pack 3 and SH4

banjo
11-20-08, 11:11 AM
I have not upgraded to Windows XP Service Pack 3 because I think I read somewhere it causes problems with games.

Have any of you upgraded to that Pack, and if so, has it been okay? All things being equal I would like to use it for the added security, but don't want to mess up SH 4.

Thanks.

AVGWarhawk
11-20-08, 11:13 AM
I have service pack 3. No issues with games. I have loaded it on my work and home computers. No issues with SP3 to be honest.

DeepIron
11-20-08, 11:17 AM
I have service pack 3. No issues with games. I have loaded it on my work and home computers. No issues with SP3 to be honest.Ditto...

Loud_Silence
11-20-08, 11:29 AM
I have service pack 3. No issues with games. I have loaded it on my work and home computers. No issues with SP3 to be honest.
Same here

Deep-Six
11-20-08, 01:19 PM
I am a pc tech, SP3 is safe and I have updated to it also. also no issues w/ any games that I have.

Rockin Robbins
11-20-08, 01:33 PM
The issues SP3 has are with hardware. For instance if I were to load it up my computer (Asus A8N-32 SLI Deluxe motherboard) would refuse to boot unless I had a flash drive in the USB slot before I boot. There are issues with many network cards as well. If you check out the forbidden hardware list and come out clean you can install SP3. Actually you can install it anyway if you don't mind switching to Ubuntu afterwards.:rotfl:

Some of the forbidden hardware is way too common for Microsloth to have any excuse at all to release a patch that will not work with it. It's tempting to suppose that they are doing it to force the reluctant to buy Vista. Well, I already have Vista. It runs really well on the end of a bookshelf, safely in its plastic case, where it will always remain.